3/2 Gobbles PMPS 159 +3 258 +6 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89978&p=964265#p964265

Good Morning,

Well, Gobby decided to come down again; perhaps because I fattened his dose last night? He's in a great mood; woke mom with kisses, he's purring and trotted to his food cupboard with a hungry tummy! Well, about 20 minutes after he ate, he went to LB and had diarrhea; he's now giving himself a good preening.

Here we are at AMPS of 85. I plan on going back to 2.0 (without the "fat" dose) dose this a.m. A little scary to shoot, but I know you have to "shoot low to stay low", so I'll be doing that just here shortly.

I've got to leave my house at about +5 or +6, so I put his food up for nowand will feed him right before I leave; try to feed his nadir? I shouldn't be gone too long, maybe till +7 or +8.

EDIT: Gobble tested 86 at +1 and therefore I gave him 1 T. of FFLC
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? "feed nadir"

Morning Kat ~O)

I'm not sure I follow your thinking here... do you intend to shoot the 84 and not feed after +1 ?
I'm assuming you'll be testing after you shoot, so I think Gobbles #s could very well dictate that
you feed him before +5 ;-) There's an old military saying that goes something like
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy" :lol:

Just saw your edit... the +2 will be interesting to say the least
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? "feed nadir"

Bruce & Simon said:
Morning Kat ~O)

I'm not sure I follow your thinking here... do you intend to shoot the 84 and not feed after +1 ?
I'm assuming you'll be testing after you shoot, so I think Gobbles #s could very well dictate that
you feed him before +5 ;-) There's an old military saying that goes something like
"No battle plan survives contact with the enemy" :lol:

Just saw your edit... the +2 will be interesting to say the least
Sorry if I confused you; I confuse myself of a daily basis :lol: I was going to wait to feed him until right before I leave, but when I saw his +1 and in light of his diarrhea, I knew to feed him as his BG isn't moving (and according to a "typical lantus curve", that number should be higher than his AMPS). His numbers & feedings thus far goes like this:

PM+11.75 85 (ate 1/3 can SKLC)
AMPS 88 (had diarrhea)
+1 86 (ate 1 T. FFLC)

Make sense? Comments Bruce???
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? "feed nadir"

I would feed him as he regularly is fed. Are you trying something new today in regards to feeding?

I usually feed J.D. about 3 mini meals (1/4 can FF each) in the morning, and also leave food out if I have to leave.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? "feed nadir"

Dyana said:
I would feed him as he regularly is fed. Are you trying something new today in regards to feeding?

I usually feed J.D. about 3 mini meals (1/4 can FF each) in the morning, and also leave food out if I have to leave.
Well, I had planned on holding off on food until before i left. Scratch that.

Should I give him HC if he is still 85 or lower at +2?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? feed HC ?

Like Dyana said, I'd feed normally, or adjusted accordingly to the direction of the cycle.
Conventional wisdom says he should have most of his food before nadir, in fact many
don't feed after nadir at all - unless of course steering is necessary.

As to the hc, I like to keep it in reserve - only break it out when absolutely necessary. That's me though,
heaven knows I'm not an expert :lol:
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? feed HC ?

No HC. LC should be just fine. He's surfing at the moment. If he goes down a lot, and I know it's not a lot lot, but if he tests at something like 50 or 60 the next test, then you can give him a teaspoon of HC to get him back up on the surfboard.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 ? feed HC ?

Dyana said:
No HC. LC should be just fine. He's surfing at the moment. If he goes down a lot, and I know it's not a lot lot, but if he tests at something like 50 or 60 the next test, then you can give him a teaspoon of HC to get him back up on the surfboard.
Awesome, Dyana. Shew...so I did right by not giving HC at +1. +2 is here in 10 minutes and I'll only give the HC should he be 60 or below...will update subject line once tested...thanks so much :)
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72

Now at +2 and he doesn't want to eat; and he's at 72. I forced a little food on him (see below):


PM+11.75 85 (ate 1/3 can SKLC)
AMPS 88 (had diarrhea)
+1 86 (ate 1 T. FFLC)
+2 72 (ate 1/2 t. FFLC & 2 (quarter-sized) pieces of smoked turkey breast lunchmeat--I assume there's probably carbs in it)
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72

How about testing again now, and see if he's still dropping.
With the lunch meat, you need to make sure there are no onions in the spices.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72

Dyana said:
How about testing again now, and see if he's still dropping.

Yes, he is dropping. He's 51 @+3. I fed him 1 T. FF 17% and 5 pieces of Friskies Indoor DRY cat food; how's that sound?

Recap:

PM+11.75 85 (ate 1/3 can SKLC)
AMPS 88 (had diarrhea)
+1 86 (ate 1 T. FFLC)
+2 72 (ate 1/2 t. FFLC & 2 (quarter-sized) pieces of smoked turkey breast lunchmeat--I assume there's probably carbs in it)
+3 51 (ate 1 T. FF 17% + 5 pcs. dry food)
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51

I don't know if I'd feed a cat smoked meat.There are probably chemical additives or it may have been brined. (Brining solution contains sugar.) There are a number of people here who will use a cooked chicken breast as a treat.

Please don't use dry food. It takes forever for it to raise BG and it takes forever for it to work it's way out of a cat's system. Using HC gravy is a much better alternative. If you really, really need to boost numbers quickly, corn syrup is a far better alternative.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't know if I'd feed a cat smoked meat.There are probably chemical additives or it may have been brined. (Brining solution contains sugar.) There are a number of people here who will use a cooked chicken breast as a treat.

Please don't use dry food. It takes forever for it to raise BG and it takes forever for it to work it's way out of a cat's system. Using HC gravy is a much better alternative. If you really, really need to boost numbers quickly, corn syrup is a far better alternative.
Ok...no more of that lunchmeat--I grabbed a piece of it earlier and didn't even look at the label (thinking it was the usual non-smoked turkey but DH went to the deli counter at the supermarket yesterday, not me..I had no idea it was "smoked" until I looked at the package after I gave it to Gobby). Sorry about the dry. He did eat a T. of the FF HC with gravy (turkey feast in gravy, grilled 17%); so maybe the little bit of dry will kick in later? It was just 5 small pieces.

Ok, then. I just tested him again at +4: 90

PM+11.75 85 (ate 1/3 can SKLC)
AMPS 88 (had diarrhea)
+1 86 (ate 1 T. FFLC)
+2 72 (ate 1/2 t. FFLC & 2 (quarter-sized) pieces of smoked turkey breast lunchmeat--I assume there's probably carbs in it)
+3 51 (ate 1 T. FF 17% + 5 pcs. dry food)
+4 90

About how long does the dry stay in their system?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51 +4 90

Good, I'm glad he's come up. Don't become complacent though, the HC will wear off. I would test again at +5.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51 +4 90

Dyana said:
Good, I'm glad he's come up. Don't become complacent though, the HC will wear off. I would test again at +5.
I figured that, though he's at 90, he's only 4 hours into his cycle and more than likely, the lantus will cause him to drop more in the next few hours. I will definitely get a +5, then post :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51 +4 90 +5 126

126 @+5

Recap:

PM+11.75 85
AMPS 88
+1 86
+2 72
+3 51
+4 90
+5 126
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88 +1 86 +2 72 +3 51 +4 90 +5 126 +6 11

112 @ +6

I have to leave in 10 minutes, therefore, I will feed him on my way out.

Recap:

126 @+5

Recap:

PM+11.75 85
AMPS 88
+1 86
+2 72
+3 51
+4 90
+5 126
+6 112
+8 110
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88...+3 51...+5 126 +6 112 +8 110 ? dos

I have to leave my house 15 minutes before Gobbles' shot time (5:15 pm EST) and will not be home till at least 8:00 pm EST. So his shot will be 15 minutes early. My question: His numbers are low from day (see below)--

What would you advise me to do if his PMBG is low? In light of today's low numbers (and the fact I had to feed him almost each test up until +6) I am a little leery of shooting him if he is under, what say maybe 150? Maybe a reduced dose? Late shot? I am asking now because I have to be gone here literally at 5 PM.

Recap:

PM+11.75 85
AMPS 88
+1 86
+2 72
+3 51
+4 90
+5 126
+6 112
+8 110
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88...+3 51...+5 126 +6 112 +8 110 ? dos

I wouldn't skip the shot. Maybe do a reduced dose or a late shot. Let's see where he is then. How about posting a +10.75 (one hour before you have to leave) with the same question?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88...+3 51...+5 126 +6 112 +8 110 ? dos

Dyana said:
I wouldn't skip the shot. Maybe do a reduced dose or a late shot. Let's see where he is then. How about posting a +10.75 (one hour before you have to leave) with the same question?
Ok, I can do that. I just wanted to be prepared in case there was nobody on board later who could advise me. I really appreciate you Dyana :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88...+3 51...+5 126 +6 112 +8 110 ? dos

Thanks :smile:
I will set an alarm for 4:00pm and check on you then.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

+10.75 - 101

PM+11.75 85
AMPS 88
+1 86
+2 72
+3 51
+4 90
+5 126
+6 112
+8 110
+10.75 101
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

Well, it's up to you. I would think about it over the next hour. Your shot schedule is flexible. If you shoot late, you will be 3 hours off? And then next week with Daylight Savings Time it will be another hour to make up. What do you think? Do you want to do a regular or slightly reduced dose close to on time, or a regular dose hours late?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

Dyana said:
Well, it's up to you. I would think about it over the next hour. Your shot schedule is flexible. If you shoot late, you will be 3 hours off? And then next week with Daylight Savings Time it will be another hour to make up. What do you think? Do you want to do a regular or slightly reduced dose close to on time, or a regular dose hours late?
Gosh Dyana, I don't know...decisions, decisions, decisions! On the one hand, if I shoot late he may go sky high. maybe. If I shoot on time, I would feel more comfortable with a reduced dose; how reduced? And on the third hand, he may be lower still at PMBG...then what?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

If I shoot on time and he's low, couldn't I feed him some MC or LC before I leave?
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

TheBowHuntress said:
If I shoot on time and he's low, couldn't I feed him some MC or LC before I leave?
Of course you could, silly girl.
I think he's surfing along real nice. I think the 15 minutes early isn't going to act like a dosecrease from being early.

I have had to leave J.D. all day for work in similiar circumstances and have either given the tiniest of dose reductions (BCS) just to make me feel more comfortable and/or left out extra food and extra carbs. But, again, I was going to be gone all day. You will be home by +3. I think leaving out extra food or even a little bit of MC on top of his regular LC will be fine.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

Dyana said:
TheBowHuntress said:
If I shoot on time and he's low, couldn't I feed him some MC or LC before I leave?
Of course you could, silly girl.
I think he's surfing along real nice. I think the 15 minutes early isn't going to act like a dosecrease from being early.

I have had to leave J.D. all day for work in similiar circumstances and have either given the tiniest of dose reductions (BCS) just to make me feel more comfortable and/or left out extra food and extra carbs. But, again, I was going to be gone all day. You will be home by +3. I think leaving out extra food or even a little bit of MC on top of his regular LC will be fine.
BCS means ___? As for dose reduction, do you mean about a drop or two? He only ate 1/3 can FF LC at +10.75...

So maybe I'll do this (unless he's real low at PMBG):

  • Shoot on time
    Tiny __(don't know how much you mean)__decrease
    1 t. MC w/ 1t. LC
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles PMPS 159

Here's what I did:

Full dose
1 t. MC & 1 T. LC
Left food out

Will test when I get home!

THANK YOU (I know I'm shouting, but can't help it!!!) Dyana - U R Awesome!!!
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles AMPS 88..+3 51..+5 126..+8 110 +10.75 101? d

I'm sorry, I thought you knew not to feed from +10 on, to see if he's surfing, rising, or dropping by PS time.

I would shoot the full dose. If you are worried, then shoot what you feel comfortable shooting. If I was shooting a BCS, I would typically shoot about a F1.75, if I was shooting 2.00. Just enough to ease my mind. Just a teeny bit.

Have a good time at your event.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles PMPS 159

TheBowHuntress said:
Here's what I did:

Full dose
1 t. MC & 1 T. LC
Left food out

Will test when I get home!

THANK YOU (I know I'm shouting, but can't help it!!!) Dyana - U R Awesome!!!

Good Job!
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles PMPS 159

wow you all sound so calm (and i know why, you control the disease) but i was sick to my stomach if i had to shoot ruben that low, but i also know you have more data on gobble......basically saying good job ladies. I don't think i could have left the house.. nailbite_smile but we all know the disaster i am... :-D
glad her pmps shot is a safe number.
 
Re: 3/2 Gobbles PMPS 159 +3 215

We use the term when we are shooting a one time reduced dose, usually because the BGs are lower than normal and we won't be around to monitor. It stands for Big Chicken S**t :oops:
 
That's funny Dyana. BTW, SS numbers PM+3 on 3/2 forward are taken using my TrueResult because I ran out of ReliOn strips and when I went to use the Arkray strips that I thought were compatible, they were not (and I bought 5 boxes of them)! I ordered the matching Arkray glucometer (Vital). I am adding 20% to whatever numbers I get with the TrueResult over 150 readings because, to me, it seems to run 20% lower on values over 150. As soon as I get the new glucometer, I will note same on SS.

The strips are the "Vital" and I found out they are compatible with the ReliOn Confirm (I was using the Prime).

I added the following in the notes section of Gobby's SS: **PLEASE NOTE: ran out of ReliOn strips, wrong ones purchased--PMPS readings forward are with TrueResult meter.and I am adding 20% onto the reading I get because in the past, alongside my ReliOn & vet's AlphaTrak, the TR reads about 20% higher in numbers over about 150 and my adjusted numbers make me feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top