3/2 Gizzy's Curve = Confused Gizzy Mama!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pistull

Member Since 2011
Hello Friends! Can you take a look at Gizzy's curve?

There is a definite pattern that when his # is low and I shoot him, he bounces fast and stays high for a bit. What does this mean?? Does it mean he's getting too much insulin, too little insulin, am I feeding at the wrong time or something else?? Today his #'s were really whacked, so not sure what to think! I may continue to test him into the night to see if his #'s come down any. He hasn't been at 475 in a long time.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.


Last Thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37760
 
So, here's what I think. I suspect that Gizzy had some lower numbers last night. It's really important to get at least a before bed test every night. You're seeing a pattern of blue #s followed by a bounce. That's what happened tonight. I'm a little less concerned about your testing all night tonight. It might have been better if you'd gotten a test or two last night given the PMPS in the 200s.

I don't think you're interpreting the curve correctly. If you had waited, the way the comment on your SS suggests you're thinking, I strongly suspect that Gizzy's numbers would have been even higher by PMPS. By sticking to a 12/12 schedule, you take advantage of the overlap between doses.
 
So if his #'s would have gone lower last night, what would have been the action plan? Give him a lower dose at +12/+12?
I'm starting to think that 2u is pushing his curve longer than +12. I'm going to watch for that to test that theory also! :)
 
I agree with Sienne. Gizzy is bouncing from the blue (and possibly green) numbers.

For most cats, the onset of Lantus is between +2 and +3. As you can see from today's numbers, by +2 Gizzy was already at 215 and was heading up fast. Let's say you had waited until he was at the 215 to shoot - the Lantus wouldn't have started working until at least 2 hours after that. By then, Gizzy was already well into the 300's. So the Lantus would have had a higher number to start with AND he would have lost some overlap because of the delay. Shooting when you did was the right thing to do.
 
I agree with both of you....but is there something I should be doing different to keep him from bouncing so steeply?

Don't get me wrong, I'm still going to test him at +12, but what I was thinking is that if he is at let's say 140 at +12, I was thinking of stalling his dose to MAKE SURE his numbers are rising before I dose him. If he's in the flat part of his curve (like on 2/26 - 2/28 and possibly this morning) when I dose him, that will make him bounce too - right?

This stuff is so complicated to figure out...
 
bouncing is usually just something they have to get over on their own. The solution to bouncing is to just keep showing them the lower numbers, over and over again. One day his body will "get it" and realize hey, these numbers AREN'T going to kill me, maybe I don't have to overreact quite so much and dump so much sugar back into my bloodstream. Gradually the bounces will get lower and end sooner. Some cats stop bouncing fairly quickly, while others can take a lot longer.
 
pistull said:
I agree with both of you....but is there something I should be doing different to keep him from bouncing so steeply?

Don't get me wrong, I'm still going to test him at +12, but what I was thinking is that if he is at let's say 140 at +12, I was thinking of stalling his dose to MAKE SURE his numbers are rising before I dose him. If he's in the flat part of his curve (like on 2/26 - 2/28 and possibly this morning) when I dose him, that will make him bounce too - right?
This stuff is so complicated to figure out...
The bouncing is not related to when you are shooting at all. The bounce is a response to the lower numbers, it doesn't have anything to do with if you are shooting when he is low. If he is low when it is PS time, you might want to stall in order to make sure he's rising, but that's because you don't want to shoot a low, dropping number, not because it will make him bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top