3/2 Frank PMPS 89 +1 95,+2 87,+3 86,+4 81, +5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Last Post

I'm really just checking in to give an update so everyone knows Frank is still with us and getting better. We went from vomiting to explosive diarrhea so he went to the vet again where they gave him something to coat his stomach and some forti-flora (sp?). He is eating normally now... I was thinking that we'd see some normal numbers, but his BGs are still unpredictable. We were in the 60's at shot time so I tested until I felt like he was going up again. I shot at 89 and he climbed to 95 then started dropping directly after that. We were at 81 at onset so I have been giving him gravy and Kayro just to slow him down and keep him safe. I swear if I would have held off, he'd have been in the 300 range at +13. :lol: Oddly, he is dirty again. I have no clue how that has come to pass. He looks like he has been outside. But yeah, that's where we are at now. He's low and I am tired. :lol:
 
I wanted to add, too...I apologize for leaving updates so far apart. I know some of you must worry when you don't hear from people after there have been issues. I promise, if something happens, I will let everyone know. If you are not hearing from me, no news is good news. And I read when I can. I don't feel comfortable giving advice and don't want to add anything that is going to get in the way of useful instruction. Sometimes, I just don't know what to say. I think about you guys quite a bit though and hope your kitties are all doing well. :)
 
Hi Tina - thanks for the update. Some people just do once a week or post whenever they have time. It's good to hear that he's gotten better and over his URI. I noticed you didn't reduce his dose for that 48 today. For a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year on insulin), we usually reduce for numbers below 50. Having to give a lot of HC and karo to keep numbers up is another indicator you may need to reduce the dose. I hope you get some sleep tonight.

The Fortiflora is a probiotic - I hope it helps with the diarrhea. You can get it on-line at likely a cheaper price than the vet's office.
 
The 46 was a bad strip, me thinks. We retested immediately and got 68. I think you're right about fighting those numbers, though. He should have gotten a reduction this morning. I'll save that for his new condo, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top