3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248;+4 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
That's old Chuckie, always throwing me a curve ball! <sigh!>

Down to 138 at pre-shot so no shot. Will test every couple of hours to see what's going on with him. At what point should I shoot? I don't think I want to shoot unless he's above 200, maybe higher if this last shot is any indication, since he started at 540 pre-shot and ended up at 138 12 hours later... But if that doesn't happen until, say, +6, do I go ahead and shoot a full dose or just keep watching and wait until evening?
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot

If you shoot at +6, your whole shot schedule will be have to be 6 hours later. Is your shot schedule flexable enough for that kind of a change?

I'm going to go look at your spreadsheet and read some of your last condos and I'll be back in a bit.
Have you fed Chuck yet?
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot

I'm still reading. I just wanted to say that Chuck is soooo handsome. I just love his picture. Okay back to reading.

Are you going to be around today? I would test again at +1. If he is surfing or rising, then we may want to give him some insulin if you are going to be around to monitor him. You want him in these healing numbers as much as possible.
Please let me know if you fed him already.

Back in a bit.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot

148 +1

I'll check again in an hour or so. We have to run out for a bit, but then I should be home the rest of the day to spot check him.

Yes, he's already had breakfast -- at AMPS about 0-dark-thirty (5:30 AM)
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot;148+1

He's surfing along. You could give him his insulin, or give him a drop. It's up to you.
I would not shoot at +6 though, if your shot schedule can not handle that big of a change.

Please change the AMPS in your first Subject Line to AMBG if you are not giving any insulin.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot;148+1

Here's the link to Chuck's condo from 3/1. (Remember, we link our condos together.)

While it's possible for a cat's numbers to dive, typically you don't see the same kind of drop when you start from high numbers as when you start from low. If you look at Gabby's SS, on 2/24 her PMPS was 298 and by +5 she dropped to 73 whereas last night, her PMPS was 163 and she was at 73 at +5. The curve last night was flatter. You can't expect the same kind of drop with different pre-shot numbers. With Lantus, shooting low often keeps the numbers low.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck 138 AMPS NO shot;148+1

most likely, Chuck will be starting his bounce any minute now. He probably went lower overnight and the 138 was on the way up, or maybe it was about his nadir. I would get the insulin into him as soon as you see a rise. You don't need to wait for 200 or any magic number, just when you see a rise. So if your next test is any higher than 148, SHOOOOOOOOT! But plan to get a few tests during the day.

Then tonight, if he has started his bounce you might still be able to shoot close to your normal time. You don't want to shoot any earlier than +10, so let's see what happens today and then decide.
 
3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210

Please update your spreadsheet when you have a chance. And please Edit the Subject Line in your first post to be
3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210 or something like that, so we can see what's going on with Chuck when we look at the page of everyone's condos.

If Chuck's numbers stay the same, your next shot will be due 12 hours after this shot you just gave.

If Chuck continues to rise, then you may be able to shoot his next dose an hour or so earlier.
Besides the other tests you get today, please do a test at +10 or +11 (after you gave the insulin) and post that number with a question about whether you can shoot early or not. Maybe add the ? icon to your First Subject Line at that time, to get our attention.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210

Boy, you can sure tell I'm rusty on all this! Trying to keep 3 spreadsheets updated, and figure out when to shoot and when to test and what to put on the subject line -- <whew!>

So, if he continues to rise from 210 +15/AMPS, I might be able to give him the shot at the regular 5:30 p.m. time? Or will I have to wait until 8:30 PM (12 hours after the morning shot)? Or will it all depend on what his numbers are during the day? Or the phase of the moon? Or how I'm holding my mouth or crossing/not crossing my eyes <giggle!>? Sorry, I'm a little crazier today than usual...

Seriously, though... if he's at what point at +9 (which would be his normal PM shot time), do I give insulin or not? If he's still rising? Or if he's leveled off somewhat in the 200-300 range? Or do I just test at +9 and wait until 2 or 3 hours past his normal shot time? And my head is spinning...

Thank you for ALL the advice and help! Also, if this helps, I do free feed during the day. Not sure how much Chuck actually gets, since the "bullies" think the food in the bedroom is MUCH better than the food in the kitchen, even though it's exactly the same, on exactly the same plate...
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210

If he's in the mid 300s or higher at +10, I think it would be okay to shoot then, but let's see if others agree.

If you shoot 2 hours early, you will need to be able to get some tests in tonight, as the early shot (10 hours after his last dose) will act like a dose increase. Just like the late shot today at +15 acts like a dose decrease.

I don't think you have to get a +9 unless he's in the lower numbers. Just get a +10 and we'll see where he's at and if it's safe to shoot that early. You may not be able to shoot until +11 or +12, so be prepared for that.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210

you don't want to shoot at +9. That is too early, and shooting that early can create too much overlap.

+10 maybe, if he is rising fairly convincingly by that time. Chuck has a tendency to bounce to 400/500 after a low number, so if he is heading that direction then it shouldn't be a problem at all to shoot at +10. Let's see what the number is.

If he has flattened out by then, I wouldn't shoot that early.

I would definitely get a few spot checks today, since you're home. Chuck might surprise us by not bouncing right away, and it would be nice to see some good numbers!
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210

At +3, he's 212, pretty level from pre-shot.

But I'm a little confused on how to update the subject line. Do I change the whole subject line to reflect ONLY the numbers from the shot forward? Or do I keep adding numbers to the end of the subject line until I run out of character space?
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck +12 138, +13 148, AMPS (at +15) 210;+3 212

You can add the most current numbers until you run out of room, and then delete some of the older numbers.
Or you can add the most current numbers and just leave the most revelant numbers up.
Right now, I would make it say 3/2 Chuck AMPS (at +15) 210; +3 212
And those are really flat numbers. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle can mean an active cycle next. Let's see how the day goes.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck AMPS (at +15) 210; +3 212;+5 164

Got a +5 of 164; next test at +7 or +8, then one at +10 or +11 and see if we can shoot at that time.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck AMPS (at +15) 210; +3 212;+5 164;+7 186;+9 188

At +9, he's only up 2 from +7. This would be his normal evening shot time. How long should I wait before giving him the shot? Or, should I skip it completely? I can get a +10 or +11 if that is a better determining factor.

If I'm understanding the bounce thing now, he's basically been bouncing since last Saturday. Up high, way low, then up high at +12, then low. If I'd done then what I'm doing now, he wouldn't have bounced so much, correct?

Edited to add: He had his evening meal at 5:30 (+9), but will always eat later if I need to give him a shot.
 
Re: ?? 3/2 Chuck +3 212;+5 164;+7 186;+9 188 (PMBG)

Can you shoot at 12 hours after the last shot? And 12 hours after that tomorrow morning?
I don't know what your schedule is like.
I don't think I'd skip the shot, if possible. Can you put the 188 in the +9 column of your ss, and the 186 in the +7 column and the 164 in the +5 column, etc? Please :smile:
 
Re: ?? 3/2 Chuck +3 212;+5 164;+7 186;+9 188 (PMBG)

Tonight and tomorrow I can shoot late, but it gets tougher when the work week starts. Do you think he'll be back on schedule by Monday if we shoot late tonight?

<sigh!> I knew I messed up the spreadsheet again! I'm a little confused... Do I just erase those earlier readings and put his shot # (210) in at his AMPS? And the 212 as his +2, etc.?
 
Re: ?? 3/2 Chuck +3 212;+5 164;+7 186;+9 188 (PMBG)

this is a really nice flat day for Chuck. That's great, but at this point it doesn't look like he is going to be going up enough for you to shoot at +10. I would test at +11 - if he's heading up fast by then you can shoot at +11. If he's still surfing around this range, then I probably would wait until about +11.5 and then test/shoot.

You can look at Lucy's spreadsheet for some examples of how to put late shots on the spreadsheet. The first example on her SS is on 6/17/08.
 
Re: ?? 3/2 Chuck +3 212;+5 164;+7 186;+9 188 (PMBG)

Just tested at +11 and he's at 350 -- what a jump!! Will shoot his normal 0.10U

Edited to add: Just wondering, am I going to be up all night testing??
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248

Tested at +2, he's at 248.

I know my spreadsheet is all messed up, hopefully you can see the trend. Do I need to wipe out everything from today prior to his first shot and then move everything after the first shot?

Did I catch him in time to prevent or lessen a bounce?
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248

Susan

Nice flat day for Chuck!

On the SS, go to the PM +11 column and put "138 @ +12; 148 @ +13". Then in this mornings "AMPS" column, put "210 @ +15" and be sure to put .1u in the dose column. Don't forget your dose for tonight.

It's hard to say what he will do tonight but I'd get a +4 or before bed test, whichever is first. His +2 is quite a bit lower than his PMPS so he may very well come right back down. If his next test is down again, you'll need to test again....you want to at least see a rising number or see him fairly flat before you sleep for the night although you could sleep/test.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248

Marje and Gracie:

Thank you for the help with the SS. Next time you pop over there, brain check me -- I think I have it right now. Just can't get my brain wrapped around it quite yet. I'm tracking on 3 SS's because the vet wants one with a graph, I have one on my desktop that I print for recording his numbers, and then I have the one attached to his condo... If I don't write it down on the SS when I test in the kitchen, I won't remember it by the time I get back to the computer, especially during the wee hours...

I'm hoping I can make it another hour to get a +4, then crash for a couple of hours. That sounds weird, I know, but 11:30 is waaayyy past my bedtime. I'll have to skip the night sinus meds; I'll sleep through just about anything when I take them (good for me, not good for testing).
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248

You got it right :-D If you want to just make the font smaller, the numbers are more visible and any time you vary from the formatting, it won't color in the square so you have to do it manually.

Hope you can get some rest tonight. If you need any help, just post. I'll be up a while.
 
Re: 3/2 Chuck+11 350; 0.10U; +2 248

His +4 is 144. I'm going to set my alarm for 1:30 and test again -- I really don't think I can stay up another 2 hours...
 
I'd probably not wait two hours. He is coming down pretty fast. I'd recheck him in an hour...IMHO. Did you feed him at the 144?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top