3/2 Callie AMPS 416; +3 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Callie

Member Since 2013
Hi, it's been a little while since I've posted because Callie has been doing fine and mostly going down gradually, nothing strange. She got dental a couple weeks ago. We were thinking about reducing her dose but I thought it might be a little too soon, and we tried it a couple days ago and she had one bad day after, so we went back up to 1.25, and just started doing 1U in the evening last night because her numbers were good. But this morning, she shot back up again...?? As far as I know, she didn't have any food except the snack I left her last night.

What should I do?
 
Hello there... Why is she going downhill? Is there another issue.. Hopefully my post will bump this up for more eyes..
 
No idea... we've tried to keep everything consistent. We thought maybe our insulin was getting expired but it's definitely working because we can see her blood sugar go down during the day. Everything else with her seems normal, she's been doing much better this past month, especially after we did the dental.
 
I'm not sure I understand why you reduced from the 1.25u dose because she was doing well.

It looks to me that it's very possible she went lower last night and so the high numbers you are seeing today are a bounce from the probable low number last night. We recommend when numbers are dropping that you get a rising, non food influenced number before you quit testing as nadirs can move.

Today, she's bouncing plus you could be seeing some New Dose Wonkiness as well. I'd stick with the 1.25u dose for at least six cycles unless she gives you a number under 50....then reduce.

Glad you checked in :-D
 
I agree with everything Marje said. In addition, shooting a different dose at AM and PM can cause wonky numbers. Lantus likes consistency and shifting the dose can result in less than lovely numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top