? 3/2 Binx AMPS 194, +1 193 (fasting before internal medicine appointment??)

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a restful weekend 🤗

Binx’s numbers continue to spook me and last night’s PM cycle really stressed me out, so I jumped right to MC food and some HC treats. I knew if I didn’t, we’d be in for a long night. I’ve been having to carb him up a lot to keep him from diving, so I decided to try a reduction today.

I’ve also started introducing a new low pho food, Weruva Chicken Frick A Zee. We’re not seeing the spike we saw with Tiki Cat (anti-jinx), so I’m hoping this works out!

Safe surfing 😊
 
Great job managing that cycle last night Briana.
I'm glad food seems to steer Binx when he's low 🙌

Ivy is not very carb sensitive, so it's a bit of a ride. (It probably has something to do with it being homemade and no preservatives of gravies in it. (But what do I know!)

Hope you both have a calm week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Great job managing that cycle last night Briana.
I'm glad food seems to steer Binx when he's low 🙌

Ivy is not very carb sensitive, so it's a bit of a ride. (It probably has something to do with it being homemade and no preservatives of gravies in it. (But what do I know!)

Hope you both have a calm week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci 😻 😮‍💨 I'm lucky Binx seems to be carb sensitive and your theory about Ivy's food makes sense to me. The world of homemade food is beyond me and also so impressive!
 
Update: the internal medicine specialist had a last minute cancelation and I'm able to see them tomorrow at noon, but they're requesting fasting before the appointment "in case they need to do diagnostics that require this and so you don't need to come back" - they're diabetic fasting protocol is 1/2 dose of insulin and about a tablespoon worth of food at the same time... but this worries me. Also, not sure I'm going to be getting any diagnostics tomorrow. I know he has diabetes, CKD stage 2, hyperthyroid and acro... the first three don't really need anything else to my knowledge, it's just the acro that might require something. Even that though, it's not like I'm going to get a CT scan or anything.

They've said I can opt to not fast, but I'd explicitly acknowledging I may need to come back. Anyone have any advice or thoughts on what I should do? I'm leaning towards not fasting him and accepting that risk, but I've never seen an IM before. Tagging @Wendy&Neko for any acro knowledge here.
 
The only thing I can imagine he's need to fast for is certain types of blood work, but you just had b/w done so can't be that. Some vets like fasting before ultrasounds, but it's not necessary. Neko had a few last minute decision ultrasounds where I'd already fed her that morning. And that was with an IM vet. The only time she had to fast was before anesthesia. I think your decision to "take a chance" is a good one. It could be you are just getting boilerplate from the front desk.
 
The only thing I can imagine he's need to fast for is certain types of blood work, but you just had b/w done so can't be that. Some vets like fasting before ultrasounds, but it's not necessary. Neko had a few last minute decision ultrasounds where I'd already fed her that morning. And that was with an IM vet. The only time she had to fast was before anesthesia. I think your decision to "take a chance" is a good one. It could be you are just getting boilerplate from the front desk.
Thank you, Wendy!! I wasn't sure if I was missing some other diagnostic they might need, but I think more likely is what you said, that they don't know the case and others may often seek out IM to help diagnose and therefore need the option to perform whatever tests needed.
 
Back
Top