3/2 Billy +11 423

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Yesterday :

+ 11 ~329 (8 pm)
Gave 1 unit
+ 2 ~351 (11 pm)
+7 ~342 (4 am)
+11 ~423 (8 am)
(Edit) AMPS 470

1 hour to go to get his AMPS numbers. I'm worried; I just started testing and I had no idea Billy's number could be so high. I'll be doing a curve today.

Billy seems about fine despite the high numbers, so I am guessing he's been having these for a while without me even knowing about them. Good thing I finally found this forum and started taking care of him properly. :/

He's on his back, purring, like he usually is. He's meowing at me every time I look in his direction. Someone wants breakfast.
 
What are you feeding again?

Its better to start low with Lantus, using the protocol and working the dosing upwards.

Welcome to Lantus Land :mrgreen:
 
He is currently eating Purina DM kibbles. I began switching him towards Purina DM wet food yesterday pm. I gave him about 3/4 of his normal portion in kibbles and 1/4 in wet. He really prefers wet so I am wondering if I should just change all of his food right now or continue to move progressively.

Back in August I was at 1 unit twice a day but my vet quickly changed that to 2 units. Problem is that I was uninformed and I used the same Lantus vial for 6 months... People on the forum told me to start giving him 1 unit twice a day with the new vial as Billy probably hasn't received any proper insulin for a while. I can't believe how helpful people already have been for Billy and I!

Also, good morning to everyone. :-D
 
You will probably see a big drop in his numbers just switching him to a low carb food. Most of us use Binky's list to choose a low carb food that our cats will eat. A vet diet isn't required. Check out this page and it has links to Binky's food charts: http://felinediabetes.com/diet.htm

You want to do a diet change before increasing the lantus dose. Or unless an expert advises otherwise.

And the new lantus will start working once the shed is built (if the old lantus was no longer effective).

You are lucky your cat will eat wet food. Transitioning Maverick involved a whole lot of work over four months and assist feeding too ohmygod_smile
 
If Billy likes the canned food, then make the switch. Personally, I'd encourage you to feed something other than DM. It's a very poor quality food -- primarily animal by-products vs. muscle meat. Randi/Max can give you info on what foods are available in Quebec. While it's under 10% carb (it's 7%), most of us feed around 4%.

If you can get another day or so of test data, we can take a serious look at dose. Billy has been on Lantus long enough that he already has a shed.

BTW, what would you like us to call you?
 
Oh you are in Canada. You will be able to find a lot of food up here with the exception of most of the low carb fancy feast options. There is a binky's list for Canada.

There are only a few low carb fancy feast options available up here.

The walmart special kitty low carb foods - are the ones in the small cans (not the 5.5oz cans they are different). Maverick won't eat any of the high end foods like wellness. He does eat the special kitty turkey and giblet, and oceanwhitefish and tuna. Maverick is an extremely picky eater.

Sienne is one of the experts. When did you start the new lantus vial/cartridge?
 
Good morning, and welcome to Lantus Land! We are glad you're here. :razz:

I just started home testing and feeding all-wet food this January after a year of my vet's prescription kibbles, so I've been where you are right now. I switched both my civie and Chaos (my FD kitty) to an all-wet diet rather quickly and there were no complaints. This should be easy for you if Billy prefers wet food to begin with. I increased the amount of wet and lowered the amount of kibbles, as you are, then after about 5 days, I took all the kibbles away and everything was fine... but every cat is different so you can experiment with Billy and see how he does. I really think you'll see the numbers go down once you've got him on an all wet low carb diet. The high numbers are scary, but everyone is here to help you bring them down.
 
I switched my username to my actual name so here, so you can call me Manouk. :-D

I went to the pet store yesterday and found some no grain Evo food (Turkey & Chicken formula). If you tell me Purina isn't so great, I'll start using the EVO right now. I plan to go to WalMart's today and see what they have available.

I started using the new vial last Friday for his evening meal. He has had 9 shots of this vial as of now, he'll be getting his 10th one in a few minutes.

I used to think it wasn't such a good thing that Billy would eat just about anything because his weight was harder to manage, especially before I started feeding him twice a day. Now I see I'm actually quite fortunate that he likes food. :lol:
 
One thing I forgot to mention is that we link our condos together each day. In you first post every day, include the link to the previous day's condo. That way, if we have to go back and find a piece of information, it's easy to do.

Here's the link to your condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37901

And yet another housekeeping detail (sorry!!), when you have a chance, would you complete a Profile? It contains all of the basic info on you and Billy. Otherwise, we'll keep asking you the same questions over and over and over again!
 
I just filled in my profile (or at least, a copy of your profiles, since Google documents won't allow html changes anymore). This will be helpful. Thanks!

I began Billy's first curve. Anybody has tips about multiple test without hurting his ears too much? I'm not quite used to testing yet so I sometimes need a couple of tries, though I seem to do it right now. He isn't being really difficult about it because he's a very calm cat, but still, his ears are full of cuts. I am trying to switch ears and sides as much as I can. He also has a cyst that takes the entire left side of his left ear so I can't use that part. :(
 
Some tips for ears:
* squeeze where you poke after testing between gauze or tissue for 10 or 15 seconds to prevent bruising.
* a warm ear bleeds easier. When we first started testing someone recommended a sock with some rice in it warmed up in the microwave.
* Using a firm backing helps a poke go easier. Some people use the back of a contact lens case, or a makeup sponge. I use one of the LED push button lights - see pictures below.
* slather polysporin on irritated ears. Some people use the pain relief kind. We use the triple antibiotic ointment. It is quite greasy though but the blood still pools well.

DSCN0312.jpg
 
I bought Polysporin for him, hopefully it will help. :)

His numbers are so high. :( I'll test his PMPS in a few seconds now.
 
Thanks for the profile!! It helps.

Great job with the curve today. You might have wanted to include at least some of the test data in your subject line. If you look at Gabby's condo, you'll see that I keep a running list of her #s in the subject line. The space on the line is limited so you probably couldn't include all of your test data. You definitely want to note the PMPS.
 
PMPS is at 418... High, but at least it's lower than his AMPS which was at 470. I can't wait to see these # go down a little.

So... Now I have his curve, what should I do? Make another one over the week-end so we can try to find his nadir? I understand we need it to be able to determine how much insulin Billy should receive.
 
Hi, guys! just stopping in to welcome you, and to tell you I'm terribly sorry for your loss of Mia.

the wise ones have got your back...so best of luck!

Celi & Binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top