3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53, +21 85, PMPS 89, +3 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65097

Good morning LL and happy Friday!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

Well after our last adventure of shooting in the 50s I am a little gun-shy, especially since I have to work today. I am skipping her shot today - if she has a 'shed' on this dose it needs to drain a bit I guess. She has gotten gravy the last 2 cycles.

Am I doing this right? I feel like I'm kind of making this up as I go along. I don't think we're ready for another trial, but I can't seem to keep her out of the 40s. Am I worrying about 40s too much?

confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

Thanks in advance for any advice. Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57 we need advice

I am betting that Bailey would vote for 2 drops a day and lots of gravies!

Exactly how big of an effect does the gravy have?
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57 we need advice

LOL Linda! Maybe I should give her a placebo shot today and see what effect that has. :roll:

Gayle, I think you're right, Bailey is happy to make gravy part of our daily routine. She is not excessively carb-sensitive, the gravy usually just bumps her up to the 50s or 60s.
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57 we need advice

Jeepers Melissa, I wish I had some advice. . .

our journey in measuring doses never included "drops" :razz:

It may just be something you have to feel your way through. . . a drop and a cycle at a time. . .

I'm sure others will be along to brainstorm with you'

Nice numbers :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53 we need advice

Melissa:

I agree with Sandy.....may need to come up with some creative thinking on this. Here are some of my thoughts but others may have some good options, as well.

1. try to dose half of what you are doing now. I know that can be tough but I remember Laurie saying she could get some real microdoses. I've seen "fat zero" on SSs. I don't know how much
that is but I wonder if you just try to eek out half the drop you are giving her now and see....could be really tough.

2. feed her higher carbs in order to keep her on insulin longer. IMHO, this might be the way to go. I don't mean feed her HC, but if she is getting 4% now, try 7% instead. Try to raise her numbers with the food while
you give her the one drop dose. If you can raise the overall curve with the food, then you could keep her on that one drop longer, theoretically.

Again...others may have other ideas but that's the extent of my brainstorming ability on this one, I think ;-) :-D
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53 we need advice

Melissa:

We're going to try to do some brainstorming about dose. The weather in Jill's part of the country is dangerous (tornadoes) at the moment so she's not easily available so bear with us. We want to get experienced eyes on Bailey's SS. We're not trying to leave you hanging.
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53 we need advice

i've also heard people speak of the drop that hangs onto the needle when you've expressed it all.

have you tried giving bailey a sermon about what you expect her to do with the insulin when you give it? :lol: i'm not trying to make light of the situation, because it is challenging! but ya gotta smile when you can.

laurie has given advice in the past on microdosing. somehow we just need to figure out how to give her less than she's been getting. the dose that you were giving, can you count out how many drops that is? while we're brainstorming, can you check on that and see if it is countable and repost?
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53

Thanks for the tips guys, I am just feeling a little lost with the dosing at the moment. I will try and reduce the dose I am giving now. Laurie - thanks for the links, I am at work right now so I can't see them, but I will practice with it tonight. The higher carb food is worth a shot too, I can go food shopping this weekend.

Julie, I can't post it right now because I'm at work - sorry! That will be a project for this weekend as well.

Thanks for all your responses! I am sure we can come up with something, I just feel like I don't know what I'm doing. ohmygod_smile

And stay safe Jill! So early for tornadoes!!
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53

Melissa, yesterday in Tink's condo you asked:
Melissa and Bailey said:
Hi Desi, I wanted to ask about the 0% food. What brand is it and where do you buy it?
I switched them from Friskies mostly 6% to Great Choice (the old Sophisticat) which is much cheaper and has lot of lower carb flavors. This is according to Janet & Binky's food charts, and of course is listed as Sophisticat and not Great Choice, which is the new brand label change name. It is my understanding that the ingredients are the same, and it appears so, b/c Tink & Tawny have both started having better #s.

I buy the biggest cans in the flavors they are available in & Janet & Binky's chart only shows up to the 5.5oz can but I figure 0% is 0% whether it's 5.5oz or 13-s/thg oz.

For me it's not available locally & is about 35 miles to the nearest PetSmart but I've been going to the "big city" (hahaha it's about 8000 people) more often lately & been stocking up on the Great Choice cat food when I do which is why b4 they always got the Friskies, that & FF were my only choices locally.

The Great Choice brands I've been getting are: Turkey & Giblets, 0%; Mixed Grill, 0%; Mariner's Catch, 0%; Liver & Chicken, 1%;, Beef & Liver, 1%; and Salmon, 3%. I try not to give them fish more than once a week, the liver not too often either, mostly they eat the T&G. They really like it.
--------------------------
I actually like the idea of the slightly higher carb foods for Bailey while she's getting insulin, especially on days you have to leave. On the days Tink & Tawny start lower than usual, like in the blues, & I have to leave for the day, I have been giving them 6% or 7% and it does seem to make a higher difference in their numbers; we've only been at this maybe 2 weeks. They are somewhat unaccustomed to blues and w/out knowing where they'll go on the 0% I just give them the higher carb foods, which I have better data for.

Then when you get Bailey back off insulin altogether again, you might want to try the 0%-3% foods.

I have no idea what to tell you about how to microdose less than a drop. Be really interesting to read what our experts come up with.
However my very favorite idea that you've gotten is just dipping the lancet in the insulin! :lol: Seriously.
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53

BAILEY, BAILEY, BAILEY! She saw the book, but decided...

images
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53, +17.5 70

Thanks for the info Desi! I will be shooting for higher carbs for now, but hopefully soon... :lol:

Celi, that is perfect! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/2 Bailey AMBG 57, +14 53, +17.5 70, +9 85, PMPS 89

For tonight's dose I pressed the plunger hard and then released it, and I gave the amount of insulin that was sucked up into the syringe when I let go of the plunger. MJ told me that this is the technique she used to measure one drop for Donovan, and I think that is probably the most reliable way to measure the smallest amount of insulin possible. So... here goes! :mrgreen: Wish us luck! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top