3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+8~114/PMPS~186

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caryl & Sebastian & Alex (GA)

Very Active Member
Alex did bounce last night not but maybe more like a little dog than a real big one. confused_cat
He's also doing the Jeckyll/Hyde thing so far today. With me he's a little doll. With Jackson he's "Mr. Growly Pants" :evil:
Getting some food, which I really souped up ;-) , seems to have calmed him down a little bit.
Dose has been increased.. :)

I wonder why I have such a hard time giving his shots in the flank area. I know it's best but he won't let me do it (which I guess is why I have such a hard time)-maybe he doesn't like it cause he doesn't have a lot of meat there? Is this a problem?

Morning everyone ~O)

yesterday
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385

Alright.. glad to see neg ketones.. see if you can test +3 +5 +8 today.. we'll see if he comes down somewhere we'd prefer to see him. I don't really wanna see green today because it will be too much of a drop, but if he does, it's all good, we'll ride out the bounce. Good WCR except the Jackson thing lol

Flank shots: I don't do them. I do scruff. If you're concerned about scruff absorption, maybe try the shoulder area, down along the sides? Skin should be looser there.
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385

Carolyn and Spot said:
Alright.. glad to see neg ketones.. see if you can test +3 +5 +8 today.. we'll see if he comes down somewhere we'd prefer to see him. I don't really wanna see green today because it will be too much of a drop, but if he does, it's all good, we'll ride out the bounce. Good WCR except the Jackson thing lol

Flank shots: I don't do them. I do scruff. If you're concerned about scruff absorption, maybe try the shoulder area, down along the sides? Skin should be looser there.

Good Morning Carolyn :)
How are you feeling? Better i hope!

I got lucky with the ketone test because I don't know why but when he peed in the pan, some urine was 'floating' on top of the litter just waiting for me :)

I have an appointment today so I figure I can do a +3, a +5.5 or +6 and then a +8 if you want or we can change to a +8.5 or+9. Would that work okay?

I usually move around in between the shoulder area, sometime the scruff and the right side of his upper body (where he has some saggy skin from weight loss) to give his shots(I can't do the left side i spaz out). I keep reading that it's BEST to give shots in flank and the "limited blood supply in scruff and yada yada yada..... :-D
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385

No, still sick :/ you?

I like the 3, 5.5. 8 plan.. the idea is to get 3 tests, 2 before nadir, 1 slightly after, so anywhere in that region is fine.

re: test locations, I know bout the flank thing and I still disregard it. I shoot where it makes me and the cat comfortable. I try to vary my locations daily in the scruff area, off to the sides of it, to avoid granulomas, but that's my only concession. In other words, I'm the wrong person to ask about shot location :mrgreen:

I'm gonna be out today headed to DMV and stuff but I'll check back a bit later and see how he's coming along
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385

Carolyn and Spot said:
No, still sick :/ you?

I like the 3, 5.5. 8 plan.. the idea is to get 3 tests, 2 before nadir, 1 slightly after, so anywhere in that region is fine.

re: test locations, I know bout the flank thing and I still disregard it. I shoot where it makes me and the cat comfortable. I try to vary my locations daily in the scruff area, off to the sides of it, to avoid granulomas, but that's my only concession. In other words, I'm the wrong person to ask about shot location :mrgreen:

I'm gonna be out today headed to DMV and stuff but I'll check back a bit later and see how he's coming along

Okay sounds good!

I still feel a little funky too but I'm surviving :)

Ugh DMV. Try not to have too much fun lol. I'm actually going to Walmart for test strips after appt...almost as fun as the DMV !

see you later :)
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190

Glad to hear scruff shots are fine, because flank would be impossible in my world.

I hope Alex levels off now. We'll be watching!

Feel better, you two, and I am speaking to the beans here. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190

I was a flank shooter, but that was when Maui weighed less and had some extra skin to pull - not sure how easy it would be to do today, now that she's filled out in the flank area.

the secret to flank shooting is tenting the skin - i've got a link I can send later
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109

ACK..got stuck in traffic so came home before Walmart to test. Got it in before nadir at 5.75 Phew ohmygod_smile
Alex tested at 109 as you can see...

Good Alex cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109

Very nice Alex :) This is a surprise! Is it snack time? If so, give him a little LC.. wanna make sure this drop is cushioned a little. This is low enough for this cycle, in other words. No HC though.. just a lite snack.
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109

Carolyn and Spot said:
Very nice Alex :) This is a surprise! Is it snack time? If so, give him a little LC.. wanna make sure this drop is cushioned a little. This is low enough for this cycle, in other words. No HC though.. just a lite snack.

Well ..here I am again. It's 4:24PM in NJ :-D (ok that WAS supposed to be funny) and I just got back from Walmart and I did give Alex a low carb snack after his 109 because he demanded it (not hc,lc).
It's almost +8 now(15 minutes so I'm not giving him one now....

be back in 15 minutes
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109,+8~114

Testing at +8 a nice 114 for Mr. AlexMcCat :razz:

(He doesn't listen that way to me) :sad:

He got about 1 1/2 tspns of lc with water cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109+8~114

omg alex is that a surf?! lol bless his lil heart - very pleased with these numbers. Still gonna warn of a bounce but it should hopefully not be as shocking. that's a big drop from 385 but I'm very encouraged he's not already mainlining his way back to the pink.

ok gotta run back out.. be back to see pmps :)
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109+8~114

might we be seeing a breakthrough???? shhhhhhhhh, don't say it, don't let alex know....it's a big fat hairy secret......
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109+8~114

Yep you were, nice PMPS! Don't forget to edit your first post so it shows PMPS :) Let's get a +2 and +4 tonight if you can?
 
Re: 3/2 Alex AMPS 385,+3~190,+5.75~109+8~114

Carolyn and Spot said:
Yep you were, nice PMPS! Don't forget to edit your first post so it shows PMPS :) Let's get a +2 and +4 tonight if you can?

Yep I can sure get both. I'm just watching tv :) This was a surprise PMPS but I'm expecting that he'll go up again? I hope he doesn't go too low ..
 
Hard to say if he'll go up again or if he's getting comfy here.. we'll just have to wait and see what he has in store for us :) Don't fear the too lows, there's nothing to be scared of there. You can always intervene, and we want him in greens to give his pancreas the chance to heal. We just don't want him there at +2. :-D
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
Hard to say if he'll go up again or if he's getting comfy here.. we'll just have to wait and see what he has in store for us :) Don't fear the too lows, there's nothing to be scared of there. You can always intervene, and we want him in greens to give his pancreas the chance to heal. We just don't want him there at +2. :-D

Hopefully not he's awfully hungry tho'.... nailbite_smile
He's been camping out in the kitchen scrounging for food and he had 2 bowls of food for dinner an hour ago . ohmygod_smile He just tried to open a jar of salsa :roll:
We'll know at 10:45
 
It's ok to feed him Caryl, that could be something to do with the outta control thyroid. Don't overload him in case you need to HC him later but an ounce of LC should calm him a little. Also no salsa, the gas is intolerable :-D
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
It's ok to feed him Caryl, that could be something to do with the outta control thyroid. Don't overload him in case you need to HC him later but an ounce of LC should calm him a little. Also no salsa, the gas is intolerable :-D

He's okay right now..he's calm...the Jack Daniels I gave him seems to have done the trick ;-)

He seems to always be hungriest right after he eats. I get that though, I'm like that when I get hypoglycemic.


oh..have you ever heard that getting a rabies shot can interfere with trying to regulate blood sugar o anything like that?
 
JD is high in sugar.. I know this from experience

And in regard to vaccinations, the jury is pretty much out on that. Personally, I choose not to vaccinate mine just because I don't see it necessary for my inside diabetics and my vet supports that choice, she seems hesitant to suggest it in fact. I hear a lot of IM vets, and regular vets too, be pretty uninterested in vaccinating an insulin dependent cat. I personally think that's fine, because of the VS cancers and questions about their origins. If you want to get that vaccine, there's a blood test, a titer test as it's called, that can tell you if his vaccination is still "working". If your vet wants to do it, and you don't, get the titer test. Or just say no. :)
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
JD is high in sugar.. I know this from experience

And in regard to vaccinations, the jury is pretty much out on that. Personally, I choose not to vaccinate mine just because I don't see it necessary for my inside diabetics and my vet supports that choice, she seems hesitant to suggest it in fact. I hear a lot of IM vets, and regular vets too, be pretty uninterested in vaccinating an insulin dependent cat. I personally think that's fine, because of the VS cancers and questions about their origins. If you want to get that vaccine, there's a blood test, a titer test as it's called, that can tell you if his vaccination is still "working". If your vet wants to do it, and you don't, get the titer test. Or just say no. :)

No, he doesn't want to do it..Jackson had his and Alex was diagnosed right before he was due for his and Jaime(vet) said it's not necessary(he had ll of his other shots before dx), he's indoors and only sees Jackson..deal with all of his other stuff. i just wondered what the general consensus is for indoor diabetics.

Soooo JD IS high in sugar,'eh? lol
this could explain a lot(ask Kathy)
going to test brb
 
hmmm I'm trying to find a similar cycle on his SS and I see a similar one on 2/16.. so be fair warned he could be an ugly color tomorrow AM.. also be warned he may be going green tonight lol so.. let's see where he goes. My goal is to calm these reds down, calm the liver response (ugly reds and yellows after a nice cycle) as best we can. I am thinking you'd probably like to never see one again either. ;-)
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
hmmm I'm trying to find a similar cycle on his SS and I see a similar one on 2/16.. so be fair warned he could be an ugly color tomorrow AM.. also be warned he may be going green tonight lol so.. let's see where he goes. My goal is to calm these reds down, calm the liver response (ugly reds and yellows after a nice cycle) as best we can. I am thinking you'd probably like to never see one again either. ;-)

Yes, your thinking is correct. It's very frustrating to keep thinking that he's making progress only to see HI staring at you when you wake up or 2 hours after you saw 165 at +10 AMPS. I felt like crying(okay I cried) as often as I didn't when that happened this past month :(
 
Jill & Alex said:
might mr. happy pants see green tonight? :mrgreen:

I think it depends on what Carolyn wants. I think he has a crush on her. He seems to be feeling very nice tonight (unjinx unjinx) no growling at Jackson, only me when he got his shot.
 
Well we are going to work on calming that liver response. That's why I rec'd a dose increase, which we might be undoing in a couple more cycles. It's gonna take some time and I expect you are going to see this happen again and again for a little bit, but hopefully he's going to start a pattern of less and less. Also I am very hopeful that the bloodwork tomorrow helps the vettybean with a dose adjustment on that tapazole. His lil systems are upset right now and the messed up hormones are interfering with both his appetite and his regulation (due mostly to his appetite, but also to general hormonal disturbance IMO).
 
vettybean gets nervous about hurting his kidneys with too large a dose of tap, because generally his kidneys are in pretty good shape right now. I tried to tell him what Cassandra told me about the BIG PICTURE and how if his diabetes isn't controlled his kidneys will get fried eventually and blah blah blah. He's trying to be very conservative so I think the approach I will take tomorrow is one of change.(he loves alex. so he's extra cautious) ie Alex's thyroid problem went away for a while so it could happen again. Adjust it accordingly so his diabetes can be regulated, the thyroid may change again and the dose can be lowered again(which he DOES think can happen). Vettybean hasn't had a lot of diabetics with hyper-t. :( Darn I wish he had an all cat practice the way he started out
 
Maybe he could consult with someone about that.. she is right, as long as the hyper t is out of control, the diabetes will not be controlled. Plus it probably makes him cranky lol
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
Maybe he could consult with someone about that.. she is right, as long as the hyper t is out of control, the diabetes will not be controlled. Plus it probably makes him cranky lol

yeah I'm going to ask him to. he knows the diabetes can't be controlled if the thyroid isn't(thank God he knows or he has no right being a vet I'd say). lo. I've said things like that to him and he really looks at me like I'm very strange

Me : "ya; know Jaime, The diabetes can't be regulated if Alex's thyroid is out of control"...Jaime :" REALLY"? NO Kidding!!! have you been on the internet again? :-D

Yeah I know Alex's growly pants are thyroid related...
 
hmmm no I don't think I would take any precaution. A lite (1oz) LC snack might be nice if he's hungry. :) That's a pretty drop, I like that.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
hmmm no I don't think I would take any precaution. A lite (1oz) LC snack might be nice if he's hungry. :) That's a pretty drop, I like that.

I gave him that and he's already looking for more..man he is exhausting :)
Before I go to bed in a little bit I'll give him a little bit more?
same tomorrow right? 5U I should be back from vet in time for +3
vet doesn't even test him anymore because of stress factor
plus he's taking blood :)
 
Yep give him more before bed.. and do 1 more check before bed just to be safe. Don't panic unless you catch him +/- 50. Don't panic then either, but put off your bed plans LOL

Morning plans.. shoot 5u unless he's under 100 and dropping. If he is, stall until you can't stall anymore, then shoot on the rise -or- skip the shot (if he's under 100 and dropping) if necessary and deal with it after the vet. The whole morning cycle is probably gonna be a wash after that blood draw, so we can skip the majority of the spot checks and just get 2 or maybe 3 throughout the cycle.
 
Carolyn and Spot said:
Yep give him more before bed.. and do 1 more check before bed just to be safe. Don't panic unless you catch him +/- 50. Don't panic then either, but put off your bed plans LOL

Morning plans.. shoot 5u unless he's under 100 and dropping. If he is, stall until you can't stall anymore, then shoot on the rise -or- skip the shot (if he's under 100 and dropping) if necessary and deal with it after the vet. The whole morning cycle is probably gonna be a wash after that blood draw, so we can skip the majority of the spot checks and just get 2 or maybe 3 throughout the cycle.

Everything looks good with Alex. At +5.5 he's 138. I'd be surprised if he's under 100 at AMPS
(taking blood does something to glucose level)?
 
Yeah he should be good and stressed out.. it's a vein draw right? I don't know of any cats that appreciate that LOL Sometimes that kinda stress can reverse the bg level though, so do a test within an hour of getting home.

Overall though, 2 very nice cycles today. Tell him I said Good boy :) Ok off to bed, see you tomorrow :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top