3/2/20 Hendrix. AMPS@103(N.S); +2@110; +6.5@106; +10@122; PMPS@131; +2@97; +7@94

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Good morning,:coffee:
I hope everyone is having a good day. So Hendrix’s PMPS yesterday was 144, +2@94, +3@79. I ended up falling asleep from being so exhausted lately and wanted to get a +5 and I slept through my alarms....unfortunately.

I did get a +10 which was 106, +11@97. His AMPS this morning was 103 and I skipped his dose because I wasn’t comfortable enough shooting at this number as he drops for his +2.

So I fed him his breakfast and let him be for the day. I got a +2@110. He’s doing good and still has lots of energy. I will be sure to update after I get a +5 or +6.:cat::cat:
 
Wow...+2 isn't bad for a N/S!:cool::cool: Hendrix, stay at the beach please! We want no lemons from you furry one:cat:
I hope you have a great day Crystal. Thx for starting the new thread!:bighug:
 
I would have done a reduced dose maybe? My personal experience with skipping when Mimi first got diagnosed wasn’t good. It contributed to her going DKA..
I would always ask an experienced member or moderator first before you skip?
I do hope he stays low, but there’s that whole “you have to shoot low to stay low” thing too!


** Forgive me I didn’t look at the spreadsheet- looks like your baby could be in their way to remission!!!??


I hope an OTJ party comes your way soon!!!


Also forgive me but I don’t understand your readings format? Like 6.5 or 6.8 instead of 150 or 175 for BG readings..
 
I would have done a reduced dose maybe? My personal experience with skipping when Mimi first got diagnosed wasn’t good. It contributed to her going DKA..
I would always ask an experienced member or moderator first before you skip?
I do hope he stays low, but there’s that whole “you have to shoot low to stay low” thing too!


** Forgive me I didn’t look at the spreadsheet- looks like your baby could be in their way to remission!!!??


I hope an OTJ party comes your way soon!!!


Also forgive me but I don’t understand your readings format? Like 6.5 or 6.8 instead of 150 or 175 for BG readings..
Hi there! I’m so sorry to hear about your kitties DKA, that’s really scary actually! How is she doing now? Beautiful name by the way!

Also, I can’t reduce his dose he’s on the smallest dose you can get i’m pretty sure. But I’m not sure about doses. The dose he has is so hard to get into the syringe, if I reduced it, it would be nothing. He stayed low all day and had a great day I’m very proud of him. :) I forgot to mention.. on the ss if you click US at the bottom it converts the readings for you! :cat: I hope he’s on the way to remission soon too! He’s been doing fabulous since january!
 
Thats so awesome he's seeing such a quick recovery!!! I do know there are some people that go down to "a drop" but I literally have no idea how to pull that out of a syringe!
 
Hi there! I’m so sorry to hear about your kitties DKA, that’s really scary actually! How is she doing now? Beautiful name by the way!

Also, I can’t reduce his dose he’s on the smallest dose you can get i’m pretty sure. But I’m not sure about doses. The dose he has is so hard to get into the syringe, if I reduced it, it would be nothing. He stayed low all day and had a great day I’m very proud of him. :) I forgot to mention.. on the ss if you click US at the bottom it converts the readings for you! :cat: I hope he’s on the way to remission soon too! He’s been doing fabulous since january!


You could reduce from here....there is a post here on the OTJ trial that noted giving 0.10 units- which on some syringes in the first "0" line on the syringe and then going down to one drop of insulin ( which is essentially just a bit of insulin in the hub of the needle).

here http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ is the 0.10 units on the syringe. It isn't hard to find on my syringe since it has it's own line...

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
here are some of the other pictures down towards the bottom which show some insulin and the 0.10 also.
 
Also, I can’t reduce his dose he’s on the smallest dose you can get i’m pretty sure. But I’m not sure about doses
He didn't actually earn a reduction. I would stick with 0.25 units. He doesn't look like a cat that is ready to take the insulin training wheels off yet.

Shoot low to stay low. As you are following TR, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers. Lantus does a great job of keeping low numbers flat.
 
He didn't actually earn a reduction. I would stick with 0.25 units. He doesn't look like a cat that is ready to take the insulin training wheels off yet.

Shoot low to stay low. As you are following TR, you will have to get used to shooting lower numbers. Lantus does a great job of keeping low numbers flat.
He’s earned one reduction because he dropped under 50 not too long ago. Which is good that he earned it but it scared the life out of me that’s for sure. And I can’t shoot to low as he might drop under 50 again and I don’t want that too happen. I usually don’t shoot under 115 because he drops so low at his +2’s sometimes +3. He was at 103 this morning so I didn’t really want to risk it.
 
You could reduce from here....there is a post here on the OTJ trial that noted giving 0.10 units- which on some syringes in the first "0" line on the syringe and then going down to one drop of insulin ( which is essentially just a bit of insulin in the hub of the needle).

here http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ is the 0.10 units on the syringe. It isn't hard to find on my syringe since it has it's own line...

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
here are some of the other pictures down towards the bottom which show some insulin and the 0.10 also.
I thought there was a lower dose but I wasn’t too sure as what he’s taking is the last mark on the syringes that I use so I wasn’t sure if there was really anything lower than that! It looks like it would be so hard to measure it out LOL. Thank you for sharing this with me! I am sticking with .25 right now just because he’s doing so good on it. If he drops below 50 again he will need another reduction... he hasn’t dropped below 50 again thankfully because it’s scary to deal with even though I know what to do! He’s been doing so great since his diagnosis I can’t believe how much better he’s got. I will read up on this for future reference though.
 
Thats so awesome he's seeing such a quick recovery!!! I do know there are some people that go down to "a drop" but I literally have no idea how to pull that out of a syringe!
Thank you. I’m very very proud of him for how good he’s been and how good he’s been doing since his diagnosis that’s for sure! I’m one proud and happy mama.

And That’s what I said !! LOL. I’m like how the heck am I even going to get this into a syringe? Haha. The dose he’s on now is even hard to measure out but thankfully I do it somehow.
 
Update: +10@122. He ate about an hour and a half ago so I have to wait another half an hour to test him again, feed him and give him his medicine tonight. Thankfully we can get his times back as he didn’t have his shot this morning!!! He’s doing so good, he’s so playful right now. He’s running around like a little bunny he must feel so good since his sugar is staying low especially on its own!!

2nd update: pmps@131, fed and gave medicine :)
 
Last edited:
One day when you are home and able to monitor, it would be interesting to shoot below 100. Lantus really does keep low numbers flat. For Neko the magic happened in the 80's. Shoot the 80's and she didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. Not saying it'll be exactly the same with Hendrix, but it's worth an experiment.
 
One day when you are home and able to monitor, it would be interesting to shoot below 100. Lantus really does keep low numbers flat. For Neko the magic happened in the 80's. Shoot the 80's and she didn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. Not saying it'll be exactly the same with Hendrix, but it's worth an experiment.
I’m home all the time since his diagnosis :) I’m able to monitor I’m just too worried about him dropping below 50. He’s already dropped once and it was very scary for me. Maybe one day though!
 
With the amount you monitor, and high carb food, you can get him up above 50 fairly quickly. Food and testing are the tools to keep him safe. The problem with not wanting him to drop below 50, is that's how he tells you the dose is too high. Well, that and going a week under 100. A cat's pancreas can heal, so it's possible what is a good dose today might be too much tomorrow. If you skip or reduce dose and don't let him tell you if the dose is too high, you can end up with an overfull depot. Which can mean fighting low numbers for many hours.
 
Back
Top