3/2/19 - Harley - SLGS question with increasing

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
Hi all, I hope your week went well!

I had a question, we've been at the 3u dose for a week now (again, he went up but had a reduction). I had a question... nadir at 150 is constant correct? We had mornings and nights with a mixture of decent nadirs but we've also been still flying high in the 400s and 300s at the same time.

Would I try increasing again to 3.25 or should I hold on to the 3 a little longer?

Robin & Harley
 
He seems to be dropping steadily today, it will be interesting to see what the curve shows.
If he is still dropping into pmps, I would be prepared to monitor into tonight (it is looking like a bouce clearing cycle)
 
That 80 on 2/26 pm cycle calls for a reduction from 3.00 to 2.75.

On SLGS you take a reduction if you catch a number below 90.

I knew it needed a reduction but I chose not to take it since it was 80, but I do suppose those are there for a reason. I just feel weird if it is 70+ to take a reduction if he isn't continuing to drop.

and yes I am doing a curve today to see what it is like for the numbers I haven't been catching, usually though he'll be back in the 300s or 400s by pmps. He seems to jump when I feed him his lunch and then midnight snack. Even though it is low carb friskies pate (below 5%). The days he hasn't jumped back up for PMPS and is in the 200s are days he doesn't eat lunch because I forget until it's late in the day or we are gone unannounced so I didn't have time to set his timed feeder.
 
What time do you feed lunch in +hrs from shot time?

Feeding in the latter half of the cycle can affect the duration and can cause numbers to rise by next PS.
I try not to feed George past +6. If he get's real hungry I give him a couple of freeze dried treats so he doesn't chew my arm off. If he Harley get's acid tummy then you could try a few pieces of boiled chicken in the latter half of the cycle, enough to prevent the acid tummy but not so much that it will affect BG.
 
I had a question... nadir at 150 is constant correct?
Nadir is always variable, in number and timing.
We had mornings and nights with a mixturedecent nadirs but we've also been still flying high in the 400s and 300s at the same time.

Would I try increasing again to 3.25 or should I hold on to the 3 a little longer?

Robin & Harley
The 80 you caught is a signal to reduce by 0.25u. New dose 2.75u

Remember that Lantus dose is determined by the lows not the highs. When you see a high number, it’s important to evaluate it in the context of the numbers your tests caught since cycle 1 of the current dose. Study your ss and consider the possibility that the highs may be boiunves from a visit to the lowlands that you didn’t catch.
 

He has Lunch and his night time snack at +6 in his cycles both AM and PM. So he is eating at AMPS +6, PMPS, and +6 again.

Remember that Lantus dose is determined by the lows not the highs. When you see a high number, it’s important to evaluate it in the context of the numbers your tests caught since cycle 1 of the current dose. Study your ss and consider the possibility that the highs may be boiunves from a visit to the lowlands that you didn’t catch.

Thank you, I that makes sense especially for safety. I will certainly start doing that now. Before I got back on the forum to check messages I was discussing it with my mom and brought up safety and it all started clicking so coming back and reading this makes sense.

The 80 you caught is a signal to reduce by 0.25u. New dose 2.75u

So starting tonight, PMPS shot, should I keep his 3 or go down to 2.75 since I missed the reduction a few days ago?


Thank you Gill & George and Sandy and Black Kitty for your information today. It has been very helpful in furthering my understanding of all of this. I feel like I am getting the hang of all of this now.
 
Back
Top