3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340 PMPS 337+3=266

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
Max was 306 at +4 last night. This morning he started meowing at 5 a.m. and I ignored him. At 6 he came up on my bed and I petted him and he purred a lot. By 6:30 He tried unsuccessfully to throw up something. I tested him after that and then gave him his BP med with some baby food. Now I will give him his insulin. Yes I will increase. I put some plastic over the litter and hope he will use it so that I can check for ketones. He ate and is active and alert. I got my insulin on November 15th. It is clear. Do you think it might be losing strength and I should get a new bottle? Then again he did have some blue numbers three days ago.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 YIKES

If it's been cared for properly, the insulin should still be fine.

We all use it longer than the 28 days, so knowing when it might be going bad is a tricky question but you've gotten some green and blue numbers quite recently, so I think it's perfectly good.

If his numbers started to go up and stay up without ever going into blue or green numbers despite increases, then we'd probably suggest getting new insulin.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 YIKES+3.5=390

ok. It's been 3.5 hours and he is 390. He ate at insulin and again between then and now. I left for a couple of hours. Of course he peed while I was gone. I'm going to put plastic over the litter and give him a little food and hopefully he will pee again. This is the highest he has ever been since diagnosis. I'm getting scared. I have to leave later for my mom's and it's my nephew's and is fiance's birthday party. I can keep going back and forth if necessary as it's just a couple of miles away. What should I be looking out for? He is acting normal Thanks. nailbite_smile
Elise
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390?????

Here's your 2/28 Max condo from yesterday.

You've increased his dose. You'll just have to wait the 6 cycles and see what it does. Don't really have many options here. I'd think with him so high that it's a pass for you to go enjoy your family. i wonder if he's having a pancreatitis flare. Is he acting like it? any evidence at all to support that thought?
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390?????

When Max has pancreatitis, he becomes inappetent. That hasn't happened now. He is acting like his normal self. He's been lazy and sleeping too much for a long time now. He was up in my bed with me this morning, purring and head butting and took a nip out of my shoulder when I didn't respond at first. If I hadn't tested him I would think all was well. I guess this disease is like his high BP, silent!! I thought of panc as well but it doesn't fit. He did attempt to vomit before fed yesterday and today but just bile came up. He ate and all was well. I stayed home all day yesterday and there was no sign of any distress. I guess if he doesn't improve I can take him to the vet on Monday for labs.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340

At least he's not going up at +6. Perhaps coming down a little even though high will help not to cause a bounce later. I'm going to go and try to enjoy the family today. I likely will be the full 1/2 hour late for his insulin. I wasn't successful in that he didn't pee yet so checking for ketones will have to wait. Thanks SOOO much for the support. My friends and family don't get how stressful this is for me. He's eating the rest of his food that I put out at +4 so that will be it until his PMPS.

Elise
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340

i don't think anyone except another diabetic cat person can truly understand how important this is to us. i felt like i had leprosy or something after a while. "hello, nice to meet you. what do i do? uh, i have a diabetic cat that consumes all my money and mental energy." :lol:

you can't talk about it anywhere else because people think you're nuts.

my brother-in-law the groper (he earned that) said to me "i don't know why you do all that. there's 100 more just like him at the pound." :evil:

of course he was wrong. there won't ever be another punkin - but i feel sorry for my b-i-l. besides being a groper he's apparently never been any cat's bean. what a sad thing for him.

i hope you enjoyed your family time, elise! :-D
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340

I'm waiting fir them to arrive. It will go over real well when I leave at 7 to take care of Max. Fortunately I have this group and my yahoo groups to keep me from falling apart. I tested his urine before I left and I don't think there are ketones. The strip didn't change color. Thanks. I'll post after I test Max.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340

Paws crossed Max slides down a little bit before PMPS. If not, it could just be a bit of New Dose Wonkiness. I know those reds are disheartening. I used to get blacks and even Hi on Neko's SS, but even reds still stress me out. But just look at how Max is feeling. Purring, jumping, head butting, nipping you :roll: , peeing when you aren't ready for it :lol: , all sounds like he's feeling good. A cat is more than just his numbers and I hope this dose will get him into better numbers soon.

I hope you had fun with the family. I've done the quick drives back and forth when out for dinner. Fortunately the friend we have dinner with a lot has a boss with a diabetic cat so I get some sympathy.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340 PMPS 337

Thanks, Wendy. Would new dose wonkiness hit after just one dose? I made it through dinner and they opened presents. I didn't need any cheesecake any how, LOL. Here's hoping he slides into yellow tonight. He came out to greet me and is eating so I do think he is feeling okay.However I know how well cats can hide how they feel from us.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340 PMPS 337

NDW can affect a couple of cycles right after the increase. Here's hoping you'll see that yellow soon and maybe even blue tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340 PMPS 337

Thank you Wendy. That would be nice. Unfortunately NDW can't explain the 415 this morning as he got his first increase then.
 
Re: 3/1Max AMPS416 +3.5=390? +6=340 PMPS 337

Sorry, I didn't explain properly. It can affect the first and second cycles after an increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top