3/19 Tommy +3 451, +5 430, +9 452, pmps 432

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Just throwing out there, upped the dose by .5u tonight and wondering of there is any logical explanation why after +3 the number wouldn't have gone down at least slightly. Scratching my head over this big time.. Could there be some reason Tommy is rejecting the insulin all together or is that even possible.?
Goodnight all.
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy pmps 416, +3 425! Scratching my head!!

Looks like he is just in a high, flat set of numbers. Quite often when the dose is increased, they get new dose wonkiness and just stay high and flat for a bit. I think tomorrow I would ask one of the experienced folks to look at his SS. Each time we raise the dose, we hold it for 3-5 days but you should ask them about just holding it 3 days as it looks like you are holding the doses a really long time (maybe there is a reason I'm not aware of that they have already suggested). I wonder if you aren't at his fitting dose and he needs to continue to go up every few days by .5 until his nadirs come down. Good luck!!!

eta: I just saw your other condo. We only do one condo a day so we can keep track of what others have said so it looks like they already gave you dosing recommendations. I understand your frustration; you'll find good dose for him...it takes patience.
 
Re: 3/19 Tommy amps 393. Better Start!

Yeah, i'm sorry about the double posting. I know about the one condo a day. I wasn't sure what to do about posting his pmps # and then his +3 number that went into the next day. I won't do that again.
Thank you for the good wishes :smile:
 
Re: 3/19 Tommy amps 393. Better Start!

Good morning, Happy SatCaturday!! ;-)
Very excited to see the better start to the morning & am cheering Tommy on that we find his right dose!! :RAHCAT
Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/19 Tommy amps 393, +3 451, +5 430, +9 452 Ouch!

Actually, Marjorie is partially right. The initial dose is held 5 - 7 days. Subsequent doses are held for 3 days (6 cycles) but, according to the Tilly Protocol, which is what our dosing guidelines are based on, doses can be increased as early as 2 days (4 cycles).
Tilly Protocol said:
if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

I don't think this is NDW. Usually with NDW the numbers go up, rather than down. Tommy's numbers are pretty much the same. It may take a little while for the shed to fill and for Tommy to respond to the dose increase. Many of the kitties here take a few days to show a response to an increase.

I would encourage you to not stick with your dose for more than 3 days with Tommy in these high numbers. The longer a cat stays in higher ranges, the more their body gets used to being in higher numbers and this is not the best range for Tommy to spend time in. If Tommy's numbers look pretty much the same tomorrow during the PM cycle, please post and ask for help with dosing in your subject line. We'll take a look and see if it makes sense to increase Tommy's dose the following day.
 
Re: 3/19 Tommy amps 393, +3 451, +5 430, +9 452 Ouch!

I know it's hard to see your baby in high numbers. Listen to those in-the-know and keep us updated. I hope Tommy is in some better numbers really soon. Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top