3/19 Sweetie PMPS=163, +3.5=69, +5.5=79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

What a night! Thanks for leading me through it ((((Marje ))))
To recap yesterday's 2nd cycle:
PMPS: 62, 15 min later fed and reduced shot from 1.75s to 1.50 (my mistake!)
+1.5: 66
+3.0: 52; fed 2tsp LC FF @+3.5
+4.0: 58; fed 3tsp LC FF @+4.5
+5.0: 65; fed rest of LC FF (usual bedtime meal)
+7.0: 88
+8.0: 101
Today's AMPS: 135 and went back to 1.75u per Marje's advice. Now that I can see how Sweetie's BG rose on just feeding a little LC food and retesting in 30 min, I won't panic so much next time (I hope).

It ended up being a pretty early nadir: +3 instead of +9 from the last big curve I did on the first cycle of the day before where he only got the testing treat for food between shots. Did feeding him in little bits like that effectively change his nadir and keep him from dipping below 50? And at what point do I just let him go below 50 so he can earn a reduction? It seems likely to me that he would have if I didn't feed him in bits last night.
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135

Morning ~O) ~O)
Nice work last night!
It is possible that Sweetie could have earned it last night had you not fed but you learned some valuable lessons...
That low carb can help steer the bg very nicely. That's a good thing to know.
49 is the magic number so you don't have to go lower than that and if you see that number ( or lower) that earns the reduction and it's time to
steer Sweetie back up.

Remember that the nadir isn't in a fixed position.... it can wander on you. Sweetie's leading the dance.
If Sweetie doesn't eat much in the night on his own... that could have contributed to the later nadir.
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135

Yes Yes Yes! I still have much to learn. Thanks for your support Rhiannon; it helps to look at Shadow's SS and see how the dance went for you, and that he is OTJ now.
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178

Hi guys .. Wow, nice job handling those numbers last night! And this mornings numbers aren't looking bad either .. It's hard not to panic when we see those first low numbers .. we all understand .. and some of us panicked right up until our last day on insulin :-D have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178

It's often helpful to manage the curve with food. I wasn't trying to keep Sweetie from earning a reduction....that's why we fed LC. He was at safe enough numbers to give his regular food to see how he responded. We don't try to prevent newly dx kitties from earning reductions :-D

You both did super and what a lovely AMPS this morning!!! And it does help to build confidence to learn how to handle those numbers with someone hanging out with you. Sweetie just gave you a little taste. We still have low numbers to learn how to handle but you are learning quickly!

Have a great day, Cathie!
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178, +11=159

Thanks for all of the encouragement everyone - I know you all want all of our sugarcats to go OTJ! I'm happy that he didn't seem to have a large bounce and stayed in to blue (at least as far as I can tell from the testing times I could manage).

I imagine that it is best for Mr P. to return to work by being surrounded with nice blues and greens rather than spiking up and down, so I'm not really looking for wacky one-of-a-kind dips that get a reduction but can't maintain healthy numbers.

I'm looking forward to a solid night of safe greens - I hope! :smile:
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178, +11=159, PMPS=163

Hi Cathy! Wonderful job last night keeping Sweetie in safe numbers... it's scary the first few times, and as newbies, I think we instinctively want to grab the Karo or HC food to get them back up quickly! Once you get more comfortable with this whole FD dance and you know more about how Sweetie responds to insulin and carbs, it will be easier to deal with lower numbers. Don't feel bad that you may have missed a reduction, he will get there when you're both ready.

In the beginning, I used to only feed Kismet twice a day, but now he gets six meals spread out over the day. It's easier on their pancreas to have smaller portions, though it means that the food might influence their curve... but this is a good thing! Especially when you see low numbers early on in a cycle, you don't want your kitty to be too full from a big meal that he won't eat when you need him to. I'm telling you this story because when I was new and saw Kismet on a downward trend, I wouldn't want to feed to see how low he would go. I've since learned that smaller meals spread out are better for him, even if it means that earning reductions takes longer. We are all eager to get our kitties OTJ, but it's not up to us, unfortunately. Sweetie is looking good, though, and I am sure he will earn a reducie soon enough. ;-)
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178, +11=159, PMPS=163, +3.5=6

He did make it into green tonight! I'm going to give him 1/2 his pm meal now - try to even him out as you advise - and the rest at around +5.

Not sure how to spread his morning meal out though given that there's another kitty in the house and both tend to be hoovers not grazers. If I put Flynn out after breakfast then I could see using an automatic feeder for Sweetie, but sometimes the kids are home and Flynn could come in early. And if it is raining I don't want to keep Flynn out.

Just something for me to figure out. At least he tends to save the low numbers for evening when I'm home!
 
Re: 3/19 Sweetie AMPS=135, +2=178, +11=159, PMPS=163, +3.5=6

:mrgreen:

I usually feed at +2 and +3, or +4. FYI, You don't want to feed after the nadir because that's when the insulin typically starts to wear off.

Why don't you get a +4 and see where Sweetie is headed.
 
The PM +5.5=79 is probably food influenced from a 1/2 can FF at +3.5, and I posted it a bit late because I was visiting some very active condos :lol:

Good point about not feeding past the nadir - I hadn't thought about that!

I'll set the alarm for a +8 because I want to see what he does that time of night. Off to catch a few ZZZs now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top