3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72 PMPS 100 +4 133

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113

And a nice high green at lunch time, again, would be fine to see :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113

Beautiful amps! Crossing fingers and paws for another great number at lunchtime. YES SOLDIER!! :mrgreen:
have a great day. mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72

72 is the lowest we have seen. At what point is his BG considered "normal" and not too low?
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72

Hi guys .. not sure if I've been in soldier's condo before or not, so welcome from us! Numbers are looking puuurfect! 72 is a perfectly "normal" number .. I am pretty sure the "normal" range for cats is 60-120, with majority of the time being spent in double digits .. but someone else might have more concrete information then that! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72

Soldiers Mom said:
72 is the lowest we have seen. At what point is his BG considered "normal" and not too low?
For a cat that has been diagnosed with diabetes for less than one year, we would tell you to reduce his dose if he goes below 50.
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72

I'm pretty sure I'd be in full blown panic mode at 50. Would one typically wait for it to get to that point before decreasing? where is that mysterious invisible line?
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72 PMPS 100

First of all, if Soldier does start dropping that low, try not to panic, but do take action quickly. Post here and someone will walk you through it. Make sure you have your hypo kit prepared with high carb food and/or karo, etc. - I think there's a sticky on that at the top of the page. Also, always be sure you have an adequate supply of test strips and lancets - don't want to be caught off guard. Usually, you'll just be feeding small amounts of food and testing frequently until he gets back up to safer numbers. It's not as horrific as you might think and you have a great team here to help!

TR protocol dictates Soldier "earns a reduction" only if the numbers drop below 50. I think the only other way is if your kitty stays below 120 for 7 consecutive cycles? Now I gotta brush up on the protocol :lol:

I'm sure someone much brighter than me will give you the longer, more technical version. I'm supposed to be working...don't tell my boss!
 
Re: 3/19 Soldier AMPS 113 +5.5 72 PMPS 100

hello.
the magic number for a newly diagnosed cat is 49. You don't have to go lower than that.
So anytime you catch him that low, you'll feed low carb or medium carb or hi carb depending on where he is in the cycle.
Be sure and post for help. IT's good to have others helping you the first few times until you are comfortable and have experienced it a few times.


Here's the protocol... the other way to earn a decrease is after 7 days of normal numbers.


Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
If you look at Mego's post tonight, that's what happens when the numbers go low. You'll see Marje and Sienne, our patron saints, are watching closely and making sure Katie & Mego have someone with them. I had followed several posts loike that before Buster dropped low and it really helped me handle the situation with confidence. You can learn a lot from lurking and checking out other people's ss :thumbup
 
The post you need for Handling Low Numbers is linked in my signature as is the other good one...Dealing with Low Preshots. It's a good idea to print them and have them handy.

Yay Soldier and Maria! Doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top