3/19 Simba+4.5 88 +5.25 83 +6 72 +11.5 110 Atrack Dose Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, shot 0.25

Happy Saturday, Sarah & Simba.. completely cool for a blue reading after a skipped shot.. very happy for you.
I hope you two have a great day too!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, shot 0.25

Only 130 (AlphaTrak) after a skipped shot? If this were my kitty, I'd be monitoring a lot today. Simba has been showing signs that he doesn't need much insulin anymore. The 0.25u shot may make a big impact on his BG numbers today. It is amazing how a tiny bit of insulin can make a huge difference.

Good luck! Simba's pancreas seems to be about ready to work on its own. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 ATrak, PM shot or sk

haha. thanks celi.. his rocking has me rolling out of bed. :twisted:

his numbers shot up with karo.. will test a +5

what about tonight? should I let his pancreas do the work and not give him a shot? should I learn about giving a single-drop-shot?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 ATrak, giving karo

Not surprised to see this. Simba is DONE with this dose.
It is time for the last dose of 0.10unit.

zeropt1unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 ATrak, PM shot or sk

Thanks for the pic Carolyn...

I'd heard that you could give one drop by drawing some insulin then pushing it out until there's one drop on the end of the needle, then drawing it into the needle by simply releasing pressure on the syringe.

In fact, I did it the other day while I was f'ing up a dose and I was like 'WHOA. that's how you do that'.

Is that what they call a 'nano' dose? like a .01?

or am I talking crazy?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 ATrak, PM shot or sk

Sarah and Simba said:
haha. thanks celi.. his rocking has me rolling out of bed. :twisted:

his numbers shot up with karo.. will test a +5

what about tonight? should I let his pancreas do the work and not give him a shot? should I learn about giving a single-drop-shot?
Depending on what his +11 numbers are.... you might skip, but it may be that you will be doing the micro dose instead.
Most kitties go to the 0.1u dose before they try to go without any insulin. Some have stopped at the 0.25u, but most newly dx kitties like Simba do use the micro dose of 0.1u.

It depends on what his numbers are tonight. Simba definitely is on a fast track to OTJ... anti-jinx!

Looking at Simba's SS, this is what I 'see'. Simba developed diabetes... dx quickly and then prescribed too much insulin. This large amount slapped that pancreas like an old movie hero who slaps a hysterical woman back to her senses. The big dose shocked the pancreas back into service and you had to drop the dose a lot and very quickly. This type of reaction does happen and we've seen it before. Very cool!

Can't wait to see Simba's numbers at +11. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 ATrak, PM shot or sk

Wow, Sarah and Simba, this is just awesome watching your condo. I agree with CD that it's only a matter of time, anti-jynx. Have a nice day and glad you got some rest - you did rest, didn't you!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 ATrak

Simba does NOT mess around!

I guess there was more karo in that bowl than I thought... :?

Will do a +6

the dx happened like this: He stopped eating suddenly. I thought it was likely constipation, but I'd bring him in to vet's just in case. I'd noticed that he'd been drinking tonnes of water for about a week. The vet said 'yep, constipation, and maybe his tooth infection flaring up again as well'. So I brought him home, gave him lactulose and dulcolax and began hand feeding RC recovery..... no longer constipated :thumbup

I brought him in for a recheck two days later. Vet felt him up, said 'yep, no longer constipated' and was about to send me home when I said 'hey lookit his paws, isn't it funny? I just switched to clumping litter'. She said 'whoop, them's crusty paw' (aka 'cement booties'). He tested sky high on her glucometer and here we are.

So he began treatment for diabetes approximately 2-3 weeks after developing it.

Thank God for cement booties.

EDIT: I rested soooooooooooooo goooooooooooooooooood. lol!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 ATrak

Headin out for a bit - gotta pick up more AB and find some fuds for Simba. I'll be back for a +9 at the latest.

Thanks for all your support and goodness :-D

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 ATrak

Simba is on a roll!!! *clapping* And keeping you busy. Good luck with the dosecrease!!!

PS. Thanks for the advice in our condo. Much appreciated.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 ATrak

Simba is looking great! Fingers and paws crossed that the dosecrease goes well! Glad you've been able to catch up on some sleep... you've had quite the few days, Sarah! :)
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 ATrak

Nice catch on the FD because he is looking awesome. Pretty soon, you'll be able to sleep all night (anti-jinx). Have fun while you are out!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba AMPS 130, +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 ATrak

Thanks everybody! It was great to spend a little time in the sunshine today! lol..

Here's what I got: Blue Buffalo Wilderness

They were out of turkey, but I got a few cans of Chicken and a few cans of Duck.

Petsmart didn't have any maverick or wellness. I didn't bother getting any of the MC fancy feast since the karo worked so well for him and it's going to be a slow process introducing new food to him at all.

The attendant at Petsmart I spoke to is awesome. She said that blue buffalo takes a more 'holistic' approach to their food, using natural ingredients. They had lots of types of blue buffalo, but only the 'wilderness' series advertised 'high protein, low carbs'. It's not on Janet and Binky's list, but I'll call monday and see if they'll tell me what the % per cal is for prot, fibre and carbs.

Anything else you think I should ask them?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak

sooooo a +11 @ 106. I screwed up and he ate at +10.5 .. but it was just some Royal Canin Recovery mixed with a little bit of his new blue buffalo duckie.

Should I give a 0.1 shot? Being so newly diagnosed, does he really need the 0.1 dose? His pancreas is all rarin' to go already...
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +4 58 +4.5 131 +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak

opps, you mean you messed up :-D
EDIT TO ADD: opps on me, I forgot to finish that sentence :lol: thats ok, be interesting to see where he goes.

did you by any chance practice this drop dose? just in case.
take a used syringe, juice (or wine) practice, yea? @-) don't hurt your eyes!

so you got an hour til shot time?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

yes, I have an hour... is what I described how you do it?

I'd heard that you could give one drop by drawing some insulin then pushing it out until there's one drop on the end of the needle, then drawing it into the needle by simply releasing pressure on the syringe.

In fact, I did it the other day while I was f'ing up a dose and I was like 'WHOA. that's how you do that'.

great idea on trying it with wine!!!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

how we use to do it yes, we liked that dose very much. :-D
even with just water in a used syringe, you'll be able to see a drop come out.
it's good to be prepared.
I'm really glad thou, you guys are doing so well, good for you!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

Thanks Ronnie!

Sorry for the newbness, but.. is that a 0.1 or a 'drop dose'?

I practiced with cranberry juice... didn't want to waste the wine!!

:-D I'm excited!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

0.1u is just fine.like the pic you got linked here.
oh wow, it is exciting!
best of luck!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

in the pic it looks like just under the line PLUS a drop on the end... that seems like a lot for him right now at 106... is there such a dose as JUST the drop?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

Ignore the drop at the end of the needle - including it would make the dose greater than 0.1u.

And yes you can give a dose that is just a drop of insulin if you choose. You can try that and see if it will be enough to just get Simba a teeny bit more time on insulin to rest the pancreas.
He may not actually need more time, but often using a drop will help keep things steady green and then easing off to zero insulin works better.

It is always your choice, your kitty. I might try the 'drop dose' since you have practiced it. See what his PMPS is and if Simba is higher than green (AlphaTrack 130) then give the 0.1unit and if he's less than 120 you might want to try the drop.

How's that for options?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

hey no worries.
back in late Oct 2009, Luna was on the .1u, not for very long, then we brought him down to "some" insulin, but then for a while there, he needed more help, so back up to 0.1u, then back down agaiin to "some" insulin, then it became call it whatever I want (fat drop, fat zero, some) :lol: I drove people nuts I think.

so yes, there is a "some" drop of insulin. if you choose to use it.
check this sticky:
New to the Group for the other pics.

oh and what CD says! Thanks CD!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

dem's good options Carolyn :smile:
Thank you !

I'm just scared of him going tooooo green on a .1 ... cuz the last dose I gave him was pretty darn close to what's in that picture and he went lower than he ever has.

Oh I"m so excited. YAY SIMBA! YAY FDMB!!!

(((hugs you guys)))
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

lol@drop, fat zero, fat drop. That's totally something I'd do. I used to have a 'food' tab for Simba that said 'nibbles, noms, some noms, little noms'.... LOL. After awhile, even I couldn't understand myself.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

honestly Sarah, the dumb (some)drop (new name!) is easy-pea-zee.
whichever you choose,... breath.
it'll be ok. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +6 115 +11 106 PMPS ATrak Fat Drop!

Let's see how it goes.... it was definitely a 'fat drop'. boy that was nerve wracking.
Will test at +3 to see what it does to him...

Thanks everyone for your help and support!
Sarah.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

hey have a good nite Sarah,
dont forget to update your subject line since you are in the clear now.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

The Blue Buffalo Wilderness is 2% carb -- all of the varieties.

Also, can you remove the "Dose Help" from your subject line if your question's been answered?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +5 176 +6 115 +11 106 ATrak DOSE HELP?

Congrats on the dosecrease! Boy, Simba means BUSINESS. :mrgreen:

We are also at the 0.1u dose right now. The photo shows it well. We just try to make sure that the top of the plunger is right at the backside of the 0 line with no light shining through in between. We have dosed one smaller than that and called it a 'drop.' I think for most, 0.1u is the last stop before that goal Simba is racing towards. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +6 115 +11 106 PMPS 110 ATrak Fat Drop!

Thanks everyone! Sorry about the subject line, I'd changed it in the wrong post! hehe
 
Re: 3/19 Simba +6 115 +11 106 PMPS 110 ATrak Fat Drop!

thanks for the info sienne... I emailed Blue Buffalo requesting info, asked them about the dry as well in case Simba decides he needs some CRUNCH.
I assume those will have more than 2% carbs, yeah?
Great to know it's OK to give the canned to him before I hear back from them, thank you!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba PMPS 110 ATrak Fat Drop! +3 72 ...

I think Simba's trying to tell me he's done with insulin, period. I'm glad I gave him the Fat drop instead of going for a 0.1 ... but it's possible it was actually 2 drops.

I gave him food right before reading (like, RIGHT before reading, I forgot is was poke time!)

He wouldn't eat the little dollop of food in which I put a drop of karo so I'll watch him and see if his regular food brings up his values at all. Will test in 25 mins.

He's acting happy as a clam, so I'm not terribly concerned.

Sarah.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba PMPS 110 ATrak Fat Drop! +3 72 +3.5 85 ...

Gave about a tsp with just a lil drop of karo - he finally did gobble it down at +3.25

Will test at +4
 
Re: 3/19 Simba PMPS 110 ATrak +3 72 +3.5 85 +4.5 88 DOSE HEL

hiyas.. so he went to the low end of safe today on just one drop. For AM, should I give another drop, or just leave it?
Best,
Sarah
 
Re: 3/19 Simba PMPS 110 ATrak +3 72 +3.5 85 +4.5 88 DOSE HEL

How about checking in closer to AM shot time? A lot can happen between now and your AM shot.
 
Re: 3/19 Simba PMPS 110 ATrak +3 72 +3.5 85 +4.5 88 DOSE HEL

because this seems to have become a pattern. (see ss)

So, say the same thing happens - on AMPS he only goes up to 110 - 130. Should I give the drop or hold off?
 
Re: 3/19 Simba+4.5 88 +5 72 Atrack Dose Help?

I guess I'll hold off. I can't believe a drop kept him so low. His pancreas is all 'dude, get that bottled stuff away from me, I brew my own'!
 
Re: 3/19 Simba+4.5 88 +5 72 Atrack Dose Help?

Sarah and Simba said:
I guess I'll hold off. I can't believe a drop kept him so low. His pancreas is all 'dude, get that bottled stuff away from me, I brew my own'!

Sarah, get a +11.5 if you can and post it. those low #s this cycle could be action from simba's shed... remember, lantus often involves delayed reactions. we don't generally see the results of increases or decreases for a cycle or so. it is possible that, as the shed emptied this cycle, there may be room to still shoot that one drop a little longer. but we won't know until pre-shot time.

I know it is frustrating, but it is good! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top