3/19: Sammy - AMPS 95; +3 73; +4.5 100; +8.5 93; PMPS 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo


I thought for sure Sammy would earn a reduction last night. His numbers the past few days have been awesome, and with fluids given last night I thought for sure he would drop below 50 again. But it wasn’t until this morning, around +2 that I discovered why it didn’t happen. I accidently gave Sammy food with DUCK in it last night and this morning. I thought I was giving Max Cat with Venison, but it was Max Cat with Duck. So that explains why he had some higher numbers last night and this morning after AMPS. I gave the rest of that can to Crystal at +2 and she was very happy to eat it. For the rest of this cycle Sammy will only have Friskies Special Diet Turkey, Wellness Turkey and Wellness Beef & Chicken. Hopefully we will see some better numbers later today and Sammy will have the opportunity to earn a reduction with tonight’s cycle.

Today, is the first day in over a month that Sammy didn’t come to work with me. It is sort of stressing me out already, but I have the auto feeder set and hopefully he will eat when he needs to, that is my biggest fear that he will keep sleeping and won’t get up to get something to eat. I also have some video cameras set up around the house so I can keep an eye on things, but there will be some kinks to work out. I will also get home for at least one check at +7, but if I don't see him eating between now and +5 I might have to scoot home to make sure he isn't too low.

Hope everyone has a great day.
 
Good luck today. It's good Sammy will eat from the auto feeder. Since a camera is on it I guess you will see if it is empty even if you don't catch him eating. How do you prevent Crystal from eating the food in the feeder for Sammy? I guess you separate them?
 
Good luck today. It's good Sammy will eat from the auto feeder. Since a camera is on it I guess you will see if it is empty even if you don't catch him eating. How do you prevent Crystal from eating the food in the feeder for Sammy? I guess you separate them?

Sammy usually eats from the auto feeder at night, but already this morning he hasn't gone to it when it turns. It is freaking me out. Although, he is a bit higher today so I don't have to worry about him going too low.

I do not separate Crystal and Sammy, there is a possibility that Crystal will get some of the food, but I don't think she likes Sammy's food all that much so she will probably only eat it if she is really hungry. She did eat almost a full 3 oz can of food this morning so I would think she would be fine until this evening.

I have already gone home once because Sammy had not been eating at the feeder. I did put out some 8% Venison for him and he gobbled that right down, but I haven't seen him eat anything else since. I will probably try to get home one more time this afternoon just to get a spot check. I don't think he will go too low, but I just want the data before PMPS. I hope that the duck food works its way out of his system before PMPS. I do find that the more often he eats the more level his BG is. So I am sort of expecting him to be a bit higher at PMPS today than when he is at the office with me. Because when he is at the office I stimulate him to eat at least every couple of hours. Hopefully I won't be too disappointed with PMPS.
 
Just stopped at home to check on Sammy, he had not eaten anything since +4.5 when I checked on him the last time. Crystal did eat some of the food, but I watched her eat it so I knew it wasn't Sammy. I figured it was no big deal because I knew I was going home shortly to check on him. When I put the food from one of the snacks in front of him he didn't want it. So I gave him a bit more Max Cat Venison and some 9Lives Flaked Tuna, which he did eat. I think he had a bit of an upset stomach, maybe due to the duck, because just before I got him to eat he threw up. He had a decent +8.5 BG (93), and I really hope that the puke episode doesn't take him back up over 100 for PMPS. I did give him ¼ tablet of Famotidine to help settle his tummy.

I hope he is back to himself tonight for PMPS. I might give 50 ml fluids tonight depending on where he is, mostly because I haven't seen him drink much today and the fact that he vomited.
 
Seems like you had a very stressful day. Sometime I think it bothers us more than them. I go some where and worry all the time I'm gone. When I get home Toby's sitting there like
whats going on. Hope it gets easier for you. Peg and toby
 
Seems like you had a very stressful day. Sometime I think it bothers us more than them. I go some where and worry all the time I'm gone. When I get home Toby's sitting there like
whats going on. Hope it gets easier for you. Peg and toby

That is exactly how it feels. Even though I can see him most places in the house it worries me when he isn't eating. I think today it was mostly that he had an upset stomach from the DUCK food, and hopefully tomorrow will be a bit easier. I was able to come home twice today, but that won't be the case every day.
 
Sammy surprised me with a 74 at PMPS tonight. He was 93 at +8.5 and I figured he would either be around there or a bit higher for PMPS after the vomiting episode. He didn't eat much today which also worried me a bit. But he did just fine on his own, it wasn't until +11.5 that he finally went looking for a snack on his own today, but obviously there wasn't anything for him to eat. I am hoping tomorrow will be a bit easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top