3/19 Rosa AMBG 69 +10.5 91 PMPS 94 +1 107 +2.25 73 +3.5 81 +4.5 107 +6.25 103

Status
Not open for further replies.
as she rubs her paws together "SUCCESS" Rosa says, "I didn't get a pokey this morning!" :p;):D

Hope you had an awesome worry-free day at work! Too bad she didn't give you that on a non-work day!
 
Well she's been happy - I found her asleep in a nest she'd made in the blankets on our bed when I got home. If only she'd done this on Saturday - she might have earned that last reduction, but now I'll never know if she would have done or not. I actually was a bit stressed about it because she could so easily have gone under 50 if I could just have given her the shot this morning but there wasn't anything I could do about it. So she's actually got herself more pokies in the end, not that she understands anything beyond avoiding them today. :P Michael did try to test her, but she hissed as soon as he put his hand near her so he left it as she's been so awful for him to test the last few days. Then again, I was expecting a number in the upper 200s when I got home...and she's at 91!! Now I'm not sure whether to give tonight's shot either of course. :rolleyes: I guess I'll see where she is in an hour when her shot's due.
 
Yeah, I looked at the number and made Michael guess what it would be - I'd guessed 200+ before I tested her! I couldn't have been more wrong!! He actually guessed closer, thinking he was under-guessing by a long way at 62. ;)

She's had food out all day - she tends to eat a few mouthfuls every hour or so but never eats a lot all at once unless her BG is really low.

Oh, she's the boss alright. Of both of us! I even considered not going to work today so I could shoot and monitor but there's a huge deadline on some stuff at the moment so even as a temp I didn't feel like I could do that to them. Crazy how I'll even consider it really, but that's the boss in Rosa coming out - she even wants to control whether or not I go anywhere! :rolleyes:
 
I should add I'm now very happy I didn't risk giving her the shot this morning - if she's only gone from 69 to 91 in almost the full 12 hours, I think even the tiny shot might well have taken her too low - she was close to it on the 14th after the same size shot...I had to feed her hc to keep her above 50 then! We're not sure how such a tiny dose dropped her so far that day, but it did - or maybe a combination of the dose and her own insulin kicking in...there's probably no way to tell which of those it was.
 
And a 94 at shot time. Any ideas - shoot or not? These are the best numbers she's had in days and they're from a skipped shot...Rosa you're WEIRD!! :P
 
I gave the shot in the end. She really is strange though!! I'd really like her to earn that last reduction if she wants it, not get it by default. And with the possibility that I might have to skip other morning shots if she's still giving me low AMPS numbers (she bit me when I tested her at PMPS and she's NEVER actually bitten me properly before in almost 12 years so there's no way Michael will be able to test her on his own any more :( ) I don't want to finish up skipping 3 or 4 in a row if she's just having an odd day and not really ready yet.
 
Though if she finishes up significantly higher tonight, I'll be right back to not knowing what to do for her next shot...
 
In a normal world, we'd suggest continuing to shoot everything over 50ish as long as you can monitor, until she goes under 50 one more time.

I'd just take it one shot at a time at this point.

heehee but congrats on an awesome day.
 
No dosing advice, but do you think she'd tolerate being wrapped up (by you) so you can test? Sometimes, I think it calms Noodle down a bit once I have her bundled and she can't fight back. We even have a little special time for scritches after testing if she's especially crabby.
 
That's what I'm thinking - that she needs to give me that one more number under 50.Though as she's obviously got her own plans for what she does with the insulin in the shot, I'll have to wait and see what she does with it this time!! :P And probably try and come up with a plan for tomorrow from there.

I can't believe what a good day she's had - I'm not really surprised she didn't want a test tonight...she has to be feeling awesome today and just doesn't want anyone doing anything to her other than petting her! I really hope she'll give me that under 50 number by the end of the weekend - it would certainly take the stress out of deciding whether or not it's safe to shoot before work. Michael's done a great job monitoring her, but now she's being so difficult about it, he just doesn't feel like he can do it anymore - not only is she lashing out at him, but she's running away when he goes to get her too so it's taking him ages and half the time he can't even get a test because she just goes completely crazy when he tries.

She really hates being wrapped up unfortunately - I had to do it for a couple of months when she had the bladder stones to give her pills and she learned to associate it with very bad things. So she fights that just as much, if not more than, the testing. I still might have to just to save my own hands in the end - she's fighting so much now that whichever of us is holding her gets hurt pretty much every time.

And yes, I agree, nothing normal about Rosa - that would be too predictable and she can't be that!! ;)
 
Do you have one spot that's designated as your "testing spot"?

If you don't, decide on one...if you do, you're already set to try desensitizing her. Might help! Just take her there as many times a day as you (or Mike) can, give her ears a quick rub and then give her a treat she just LOVES.

With any luck, she'll start to associate that spot and the "fooling with the ears" with the treat, and not be so hard to get along with
 
She has, yes. She always gets tested on my (or Michael's) lap at the computer desks. Though now I think about it, the trouble did start when we took the computer room apart to be rearranged and we had to test her on the couch in the front room for a few days - she really, really hated being tested there for some reason.

I'll pick up some different treats for her tomorrow to see if something new and interesting might keep her quiet long enough to be tested - maybe she's getting bored with the same ones every time. And we're going to try desensitizing her over the weekend by having both of us here when she's tested every time so she learns not to run away when Michael goes to pick her up. Of course, this is Rosa we're talking about - she can't possibly just like what I've bought her every time...that would be making it too easy for me!! ;)
 
You might want to edit your subject line to remove the question, unless you're still looking for more answers. I keep looking back thinking you've got a new question! ;)

Looks like just a little food spike. I wouldn't worry.
 
Oh, sorry - yes, I'll do that now. It's been a long day and I wasn't thinking!

Hopefully that's all it is - if she finishes up in blue all night I won't be impressed with her at all...if she wants that very last reduction she needs to prove it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top