Re: 3/19 Prince AMPS-241,+7.5-45, +8.5-71-Advice on pm testi
i'm not sure any of us are "all-knowing!" :lol:
he might bounce from being low - many cats do.
i'd get a +2 - it helps to compare it to the preshot number and that can tell you some about what the cycle is going to do. if it's going up, a bounce might be starting. if it's about the same as the preshot number, that tells you a "normal active" Lantus cycle is beginning. the normal active cycle looks like a curve, typically, and bottoms out sometime a few hours later and then rises. i think that curve is on the "new to the group" sticky.
if it's lower than the preshot, that's your "pay attention" flag.
you asked earlier about how people cope with being gone - we find ways to have food for our kitties be available. some cats graze and you can leave food out when you go. if you have a scarf-er, which punkin was, there is no leaving food out and thinking it will still be there in 5 more minutes, much less hours.
A couple of options - some people have a neighbor or friend who can feed. some people mix cat food with water and freeze "catsicles" - either small ones in ice cube trays or larger ones in muffin tins. As they thaw, the cat (that's not a scarfer) will eat them. some do what i did - buy a timed feeder so that you can be certain food will be available at certain times.
i bought
http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-Electronic-Pet-Feeder/dp/B000GEWHNS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20. It was great for us. I could set it to open 4 times. When i went back to work about 9 months after punkin was diagnosed, i set it to open (always) at +3 for a second breakfast. then, deciding by the preshot, if i thought he needed to be fed more often than that, i'd set it to open more times. His nadir was about +5.5, so I'd have it open at +3, +3.5, +4, +4.5 if i was worried he was going low. my husband and i each worked 3.5 miles away from home, and i got off at +6, so sometimes one of us ran home to check him at break or lunch times. it was a little crazy, but it worked.
the only criticism i know of with that particular feeder is that sometimes the base doesn't rotate fully and so the food compartment isn't completely open. we found that putting the food tray into the base, filling it, then rotating it (press a button) one compartment let us be certain that it was all the way seated in the base. if it was seated fully, it always rotated and opened.
as far as tonight goes, i'd decide when to test based upon the previous test. look at the speed of the drop from one test to the next and figure out if that speed continued (which it doesn't always in some cats) where would the cat go in the next hour or so. None of us can sustain testing all night, but people do learn to "sleep-test" where you wake up just long enough to get a test.