3/19, Pookey, AMPS 101, +4 82, PMPS 90 , +4 87 - OTJ trial?

Tim & Pookey

Very Active Member
Administrator
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-pookey-amps-90-4-78-pmps-101-4-93.299254/#post-3254925

Today is day 7 on the drop dose. What do you all think about the OTJ trial tomorrow?

Couple thoughts on my end. If it were any other dose we would just reduce, and we’ve reduced on worse numbers. But the numbers on this dose don’t really look like recent OTJ cats like Ailish or Pasha. Maybe an ECID thing where some cats run naturally at different levels…

Obviously I am hoping to see resounding yeses below, but if you feel strongly otherwise I am open to it.

Have a great day! - Tim
 
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-pookey-amps-90-4-78-pmps-101-4-93.299254/#post-3254925

Today is day 7 on the drop dose. What do you all think about the OTJ trial tomorrow?

Couple thoughts on my end. If it were any other dose we would just reduce, and we’ve reduced on worse numbers. But the numbers on this dose don’t really look like recent OTJ cats like Ailish or Pasha. Maybe an ECID thing where some cats run naturally at different levels…

Obviously I am hoping to see resounding yeses below, but if you feel strongly otherwise I am open to it.

Have a great day! - Tim
I can see your concerns, Tim--both sides of the argument make sense. I'll look forward to hearing some discussion on this. Are you worried that it might be too early to try the OTJ trial? Whatever you decide, I wish you and Pookey the very best.
 
I can see your concerns, Tim--both sides of the argument make sense. I'll look forward to hearing some discussion on this. Are you worried that it might be too early to try the OTJ trial? Whatever you decide, I wish you and Pookey the very best.
Thank you Mary :bighug: I think my biggest “worry” is he fails the trial and we ruin the progress we’ve made. But, I suppose we can always go back on insulin. And realistically, some of these drops might have been no-shots anyways.
 
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-pookey-amps-90-4-78-pmps-101-4-93.299254/#post-3254925

Today is day 7 on the drop dose. What do you all think about the OTJ trial tomorrow?

Couple thoughts on my end. If it were any other dose we would just reduce, and we’ve reduced on worse numbers. But the numbers on this dose don’t really look like recent OTJ cats like Ailish or Pasha. Maybe an ECID thing where some cats run naturally at different levels…

Obviously I am hoping to see resounding yeses below, but if you feel strongly otherwise I am open to it.

Have a great day! - Tim

Hey Tim,

Congrats on making it here with Pookey, I feel your hesitance on trying the OTJ trial and wishing there was a smaller dose, it really scary to take the leap when things have been going so well!

When it comes to Ailish, I would put an * next to her numbers, as her diabetes was steroid induced. I think that might have been part of the reason it was so hard for us to get a regular curve at first, and I also think that contributed to her going into remission so suddenly.

Having said that, here is some info on our OTJ experience that might make it less scary. Our vet had told us to not give insulin at all under 150, I convinced him to let us do reduced shots down to 120, and then skip under 120.

We stated getting under 120, and started skipping. While we did see a lot of greens we also saw some 100’s and 110’s, and kept skipping. It really worried me, but she kept brining her numbers down, and now it’s been a good while since we saw any blue.

Hopefully if you try an OTJ trial Pookey will do something similar, and start to self regulate more.

I also understand if you hang out on a drop for a bit longer, and see if that helps.

Paws crossed for you guys, good luck!!

Eamon
 
Hey Tim,

Congrats on making it here with Pookey, I feel your hesitance on trying the OTJ trial and wishing there was a smaller dose, it really scary to take the leap when things have been going so well!

When it comes to Ailish, I would put an * next to her numbers, as her diabetes was steroid induced. I think that might have been part of the reason it was so hard for us to get a regular curve at first, and I also think that contributed to her going into remission so suddenly.

Having said that, here is some info on our OTJ experience that might make it less scary. Our vet had told us to not give insulin at all under 150, I convinced him to let us do reduced shots down to 120, and then skip under 120.

We stated getting under 120, and started skipping. While we did see a lot of greens we also saw some 100’s and 110’s, and kept skipping. It really worried me, but she kept brining her numbers down, and now it’s been a good while since we saw any blue.

Hopefully if you try an OTJ trial Pookey will do something similar, and start to self regulate more.

I also understand if you hang out on a drop for a bit longer, and see if that helps.

Paws crossed for you guys, good luck!!

Eamon
Appreciate you sharing Eamon. That sure did work great for Ailish and gives me confidence. I hope she leaves the blues behind for good!

It kind of feels like when a human has an injury and they’re on crutches or in physical therapy. You take the leap eventually and start doing things on your own again and it’s for the best.
 
Oh I love reading this post, Tim! It’s the best we can hope for. I know whatever you do you will make the right call. You’re so attentive to all things Pookey.

We are here to support you no matter what, you’re doing such an amazing job, So proud of you!
:bighug::cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Thank you Staci, that makes me feel good about having support with either decision :bighug::bighug:
 
I think he’s ready but let’s get a few more opinions. Even cats on an otj trial see occasional bg around 100.
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)

You won’t loose the progress he’s made if he fails on the first attempt. I’ve seen it happen and a little more time on a drop dose got cats otj.

I think he's ready, too. He's basically getting mostly green numbers with just a drop dose.
 
I think he’s ready but let’s get a few more opinions. Even cats on an otj trial see occasional bg around 100.
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)

You won’t loose the progress he’s made if he fails on the first attempt. I’ve seen it happen and a little more time on a drop dose got cats otj.
Thanks Elise! That’s good to know and have in our back pocket. Appreciate you taking the time to look and give advice :bighug:
 
Oh. Did you not get the memo that you can't leave the forum even though Pookey is in remission? Something must have fallen through the cracks, but I believe...I'm certain...this is protocol.
Ahh you’re right, it must be in the fine print of one of the stickies! Lol as soon as I sent that message I realized it gave off the vibe that I’m out of here after 14 days. No way though. I’m too attached to everyone here and their kitties…
 
Aaaah this makes me so happy and excited for you both!! Obviously I can't really chime in either but I support you both either way! I can't wait to see how he responds. :)

I agree with @Laurie&Petey though, please don't disappear! We all enjoy having you around too much!
 
Back
Top