3/19 Noodle AMPS 169 +2 46/50 +2.5 46 +3 69 +3.5 84 +8 285 PMPS 362 +2.75 360 +5.5 311 petsitter

Status
Not open for further replies.
Glad I didn't give 1.75u :confused:

Giving 1tsp HC + LC now, will test at +2.5, I do need to leave at +4, so hopefully I can do so safely without totally carbing her up.
 
Look at her go! Never mind a dosecrease, figure she wants a reduction instead! :D Hopefully you can get her back up and surfing by +4!!
 
Thanks for looking in ladies! :D
I actually had to leave now at +3.5. She's coming up ok, but I still left some HC in her early LC snack to keep her up. I have a big presentation, so I don't want to be fretting the entire time!
 
So, she earned a reduction this morning, but bounced pretty high. Should I shoot through it and reduce tomorrow? I can monitor and have about 15 min to decide.
 
You can do that.....
I would be sure and get that +2..... see how it's going.....

the depot could bring her down again.....
Sounds good, I'll do that.

ETA: I thought about something someone (maybe @julie & punkin (ga) ?) said the other day about a dose affecting the next cycle and decided to split the difference and give a skinny 1.5u, since I'll be working tomorrow AM.
 
Last edited:
When you're trying to decide on whether you should shoot through the bounce or not, consider how long it is taking her to clear bounces. If it's a short time, then you don't really have a safety margin for shooting through the bounce. If she's bouncing the full 3 days, then it's ok.

At the moment, it looks like she's clearing bounces in one day or less. I would stop shooting through the bounce, personally. That's pretty quick. If you've already done it, then like Rhiannon suggested, get a +2 and monitor to see if she clears it tonight.
 
When you're trying to decide on whether you should shoot through the bounce or not, consider how long it is taking her to clear bounces. If it's a short time, then you don't really have a safety margin for shooting through the bounce. If she's bouncing the full 3 days, then it's ok.

At the moment, it looks like she's clearing bounces in one day or less. I would stop shooting through the bounce, personally. That's pretty quick. If you've already done it, then like Rhiannon suggested, get a +2 and monitor to see if she clears it tonight.
I did think about that before I dosed! Ended up giving a skinny 1.5/fat 1.25u, it was a breath more than my saved 1.25u control syringe. Thanks for your input.
 
Last edited:
Thinking about the next three days, she will be with my parents Sat-Sun. I'm not confident in how often my mom will be able to test, though she will get PS tests and text me. I'm wondering:
1. a safe, reduced dose to give Sat-Sun, &
2. if she's cleared her bounce tomorrow AM, would it be beneficial to clear the depot and skip (I'll be gone +1-6)?

She'd get a full dose again Friday PM and start the trip reduction Sat AM (I'm leaving at +2). My mom, while a trooper, is admittedly very worried about it all and I want her to feel as confident as possible that Noodle is safe in her hands. And more selfishly, I don't want to have to fret all weekend before my race. I should be home by Sunday PM, but may give a reduced dose still, as I'm anticipating being exhausted from a successful first marathon. :smuggrin:
 
I don't think that's selfish at all - you still have to have a life yourself. Today isn't the first time I've skipped Rosa's shot - it was the first time I've skipped a morning shot because of work, but I skipped a week ago so we could go to a show. We all do what we can for our kitties, but just occasionally we have to do things for ourselves too - just because we want to.

I can't really advise you on dosing because Rosa's on such a low dose now, it's shoot or skip with nothing in between - I'd probably want to reduce a bit if your mom might not be able to test all that often but I've no idea by how much.

Hopefully Noodle won't bounce for long and you'll be able to work out a good dose for her for the weekend so neither you nor your mom have to worry too much about her.
 
We all do what we can for our kitties, but just occasionally we have to do things for ourselves too - just because we want to.
Thanks, April :bighug: I think we all know that, but it bears repeating (often) and made me feel better.

Still bouncy at +2.75, I'll get a test before bed and see if she's sliding, but she's off the pokey hook for now! She doesn't seem to be as big a fan of her current food right now, not eating with as much gusto. I don't want to change until after the weekend as I'll need to do it more methodically to watch for reactions, so she's "stuck" getting bribed with her favorite Fortiflora and crumbled treats. It's tough to be her. :rolleyes:
 
Congrats on the reduction today. Paws crossed she does clear this bounce quickly too.

Regarding the weekend dose, you might want to add something like "Petsitter dose?" to you subject line to get a few eyes. I was thinking maybe go to 1.0U while you are gone. It's .25U lower than her just earned dose so should be safe, and it's easier for mom to give the correct dose cause it's on the line. If for some reason your mom can't test, then Noodle being a little higher is safer. It's only for a couple of days so she'll get back on track quickly.
 
If nothing else, that bounce will let you get a good night's sleep. And if she's going to start coming back down the dosing scale, you'll be glad of that!

It's a tough life being a kitty - having to be bribed with their favorite treats to eat their dinner! I guess Noodle's the boss in your house too! ;)
 
Congrats on the reduction today. Paws crossed she does clear this bounce quickly too.

Regarding the weekend dose, you might want to add something like "Petsitter dose?" to you subject line to get a few eyes. I was thinking maybe go to 1.0U while you are gone. It's .25U lower than her just earned dose so should be safe, and it's easier for mom to give the correct dose cause it's on the line. If for some reason your mom can't test, then Noodle being a little higher is safer. It's only for a couple of days so she'll get back on track quickly.
Thanks! I was thinking 1u for the same reasons. She's been practicing and if others think .75u might be safer, though, I believe she can match it to a "sample" syringe (and if she can't, my brother with his 22 year old eyes probably can!).
 
I think 1.0u is probably safe also. As Wendy said, she just earned a reduction to 1.25u, so this is less than that. Plus you're only talking about a couple of days - so no matter what you do Noodle will get back on track when you get home. Remember that the depot from previous shots can still influence as many as 6 cycles after a dose reduction.

If you aren't going to be able to relax with 1.0u, however, go to 0.75u. You want both you and your mom to be able to enjoy the weekend.

No matter what dose you choose, I'd leave a sample syringe with something like coffee in it so it's easily visible. A good light, a magnifier, white paper behind the syringe - all of those things will help her get the dose right.
 
Patricia, I was in a very similar situation with Cinco last weekend. He was at 1.5 and on the verge of earning a reduction. I decided to have the petsitter shoot 1.0 because I knew she wouldn't test much (and I was right) and I wanted to be sure he was safe. Since she didn't test, I don't know how low he went, but judging by some of his PS numbers, he must have spent some time in the lagoon, even on that reduced dose. I'd say you're probably safe with either 1.0 or .75. If your DM is willing and able to test at least once mid cycle, I'd go with 1.0, but if not, .75 might give you both more peace of mind (aren't I helpful?! :rolleyes:). You are so lucky to have family members willing and able to watch Noodle for you so you can go!
 
Patricia, I was in a very similar situation with Cinco last weekend. He was at 1.5 and on the verge of earning a reduction. I decided to have the petsitter shoot 1.0 because I knew she wouldn't test much (and I was right) and I wanted to be sure he was safe. Since she didn't test, I don't know how low he went, but judging by some of his PS numbers, he must have spent some time in the lagoon, even on that reduced dose. I'd say you're probably safe with either 1.0 or .75. If your DM is willing and able to test at least once mid cycle, I'd go with 1.0, but if not, .75 might give you both more peace of mind (aren't I helpful?! :rolleyes:). You are so lucky to have family members willing and able to watch Noodle for you so you can go!
Thanks, Tricia (great name ;)--I'm Tricia to old friends/family)! I'm thinking we will see how well Noodle does with testing there. Maybe, if it turns out she's too difficult or they have a hard enough time, I'll just ask for PS and be more conservative with .75u.

I do feel very lucky they're willing to do this for me. I was a wreck until I asked and she said yes. She's really nervous, but has backup and I'm trying to reassure her that I'm doing all I can to protect both of them (Noodle's health, her nerves!). Must pack a caregiver kit with Mom friendly treats!
 
My son took care of punkin a few times - he learned to do the whole works and I had him text me preshot tests so i could tell him what i wanted him to shoot and when i wanted him to test next.

But i'm a control freak. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top