3/19 mocha dental day

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Very Active Member
Hi everyone! We are off for mochas dental. No shot last night, no shot this morning. She is sitting at 400, eeeeks! She is feisty with no food in her belly!

Anyways, if needed, I will call my mom and have her update with any questions/concerns that we may have during procedure. She won't update title, but she will post in condo.

Wish us luck!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Sending good dental vibes to Mocha today!! She will be fine--Please update us-OK?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Dental day in LL!

Hoping it goes well Devon!! (((hugs))) stay cool and positive!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Vet had a look at mocha's teeth. Is concerned that she will need full mouth extraction at some point. Going to try a cleaning and home mouth care. Will update as we are informed.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

(((Mocha))) Thinking of you....wishing easy dental vines and good home dental care!

Sherry & Zoe
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Devon, been thinking about you and Mocha all morning. Praying that all goes will with her.
She'll be home soon with all sparkly white toofers. :smile:
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Hope Mocha has a good day and easy recovery from teef cleaning.. also hope Mocha is very tolerant of getting her teeth brushed! They'll be shiny clean and you want to keep them that way kitty!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

No - full mouth extractions! Wow that's severe.

Did they provide a reason as to why?

OK, let's not worry just yet and see what you can do to prevent this from happening. Probably means having to brush her teeth several times a week.

It'll be ok, you will be able to do that.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Yeah, I agree that first they need to clean off the surface and see what's really underneath. Like a dirty window, a little scrubbing and it's all shiny clean.

Just curious, was the statement based on visual or actual Xrays.? Also are there any that are really bad and must go now but others that are not great but salvageable?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Just dropping in to give good dental vines to Mocha and to see how everything is going. Poor Mocha...a full mouth extraction sound awefully sever. I hope it doesn't come to that anytime soon. Hopefully the home mouth care will do the trick...and hopefully you will be able to provide this care w/o having to get to many stitches at the ER!!

(((Mocha and Devon and Peter)))
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Good luck for an easy rest of the day, Devon. We'll be interested to hear the full report.

Remember to get a BG reading as soon as you get home, and feed in little amounts at first.

Some people suggest letting the kitties sleep it off in a dark room. My Kitty was very antsy the first hour or two.

It will all be back to normal soon!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Hope things go well. Cats supposedly do fine without teeth, but I do hope Mocha doesn't have to lose them.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

This is not Devon, it is her mom updating as she tells me what to say.

vet called, said 8 teeth need to be extracted due to something called R-lesions, cant remember the "R" word right now. Extracted teeth are spread through out the mouth, not all in one area. Vet informed them these would cause pain to Mocha if left in. That is why they are coming out today, as opposed to going back again another day, and dealing with anestheia again.

She is still in surgery as of now, expect her to be out in about a half hour. Devon will update tonight.

Vet recommended Mocha be tested for bartonella because that can be the source of a lot of cats mouths problems. Results take 4 to 6 weeks to come back.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Feline Oral Resorptive Lesions (FORL) are painful to the cat. Checkers has had a good many of his teeth extracted, due to the disease.
He came home each time with pain medication, and he healed very quickly, and since he eats soft wet food, it really doesn't affect his eating. In fact, it didn't stop him from eating, even when he just came home from surgery.
I'm sorry Mocha had to have so many teeth extracted, but Devon, she will feel so good, when her little mouth is all healed.
http://www.veterinarypartner.com/Conten ... &A=169&S=2
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Poor little Mocha! At least she won't be in pain after these have healed. Hope you don't have to end up taking them all out... Sending lots of healing toof socket vines to Mocha!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Poor Mocha, but this should help her feel better soon. Tess has had some teeth out and felt much better afterward.Hugs and pets .
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Anyone know what bartonella is?

Devon, I'm glad you caught this now. Good for you for pursuing this dental!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

awww, poor Mocha. She'll feel a lot better once this is done, but will probably feel pretty crummy for a couple of days. From what I understand, dental problems like this are pretty common in Siamese so it might be genetic. Make sure you get good pain meds for her. ((((Devon))))
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Poor Mocha Jo! Hang in there Devon. She'll be good in no time. Boomer's gonna need this too. His toofs are gross and he's only 3. I can't bring myself to clean them because it makes me want to puke. Can't wait to hear your update.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Devon's Mom - When you talk with Devon next - please make sure that she gets lots of Bupe (pain med) for Mocha -

8 extractions in different places, can be quite painful and the bupe is going to be much needed

The resportive or FORL as was explained by my dentist is like a cavity (however, they don't seem to understand what can cause this, so there is no way to prevent it). And because of the damage it will continue to do, unlike a human cavity that will be filled - filling this doesn't stop the progression of the tooth rotting away. So, it does have to removed in order to prevent further damage.

And because Mocha has this problem - she may need to see a dentist every 6 months or so, just to be on top of it. I'm sure the dentist (after follow up check) will give her at home dental plan. (If not, Maui is seeing her dentist Monday and I'll share what he says).

Tell Devon - we're in her corner and Mocha will be ok - this is for her health!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

Oh Devon and Mocha, hope you are home soon and all will start to get more normal again. My Mom's cat who is part siamese has this condition and has had most of her teeth removed already - she's about 6. She eats just fine anyway and in fact eats too much and is overweight! Mocha can really do ok without those 8 teeth. Hope she will feel better real soon!!!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha WERE BACK!

hi everyone, we are back. What an exhausting day, both mentally and emotionally (and pocket book wise!) The vet at first did a quick oral exam on mocha, with us in the room. She said her teeth were not the worst she had seen, but they were pretty bad, which shocked me and peter since we assumed her teeth would be mainly ok. But the vet said that eventually a whole mouth extraction might be necessary, but they would do the cleaning and we could do home care and hope for the best. We had mochas bloodwork done while we were there, to make sure she was ok to be put under. One thing went well our day, and that was almost every number she was "low" on before, from september, showed improvement in todays blood work, which was all good according to the vet, other then her glucose which was "high" Not surprising.

We went over the vet's list on what was going to be done, what the cost was (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!), what the pain med was, she had her down as receiving prednisone, but I told her I did not want that, and she instantly agreed and apologized for trying to give that to mocha. Instead we were sent home with both buprenex and metacam? She said neither of those were going to harm mocha with her being a diabetic. I knew buprenex from here, but was not 100% familiar with metacam. She said that was for inflammation.

We left her, yes I was crying, and went out while they did the prep work. We called them about two hours later to see what was going on, and the vet told us that she had been given her medicine to make her drowsy so they could put her under.

About an hour after that, we got the call. They had done some x rays and a more thorough oral exam. Vet said that 8 teeth needed to come out due to lesions that were causing her pain. Two of them were her front canines, and I forget where the others were right now, but we were sent home with a paper saying what they were. Most of them were up top, and I believe one on the bottom. She also said that one of the lower teeth has an inner lesion? which is not causing problems right now, but will have to have an eye kept on it, and will most likely need to be removed.

We REALLY did not know what to do as we had only allotted a certain amount of money for the cleaning, and what we were quoted in an e mail was SEVERAL hundred dollars off of what was on the paper in front of us at the vets office, but at that point, what can you do but go through with it, or go back home? We weren't about to go home after the drive there and what not. We finally came to agree that we would simply have to go into debt for the extractions. So we did. The amount due at the end nearly brought tears back into my eyes.

Mocha has stitches that will dissolve (?) on their own and she should not have to go back unless there are problems. The vet would like to recheck her in two months because she had a good bit of gingivitis on her teeth. We bought toothpaste for her (actually, it was "included" in the price) it is chicken flavor, and I will have to put on here what the ingredients are to make sure it really is safe for diabetic cats. The vet reassured us several times it was, but this vet is strictly a dental vet, so I'm not 100% sure she knows a lot about diabetics.

The car ride home was much quieter then going out there. On the way out there mocha sang the blues to us, but on the way back she was to dazed to do much of anything. Peter rode in the back with her while I drove (this is UNHEARD of in our family!) but I couldn't stand to see mocha without her teeth and dazed and possibly bleeding. She did great on the way home and is now in our room with peter.

When we left the vets, we tested mocha, she read "high", it's about a two hour drive home and when we tested her here, she was at 332. That was almost a 1/2 hr ago. Since then she has ate a 1/2 of a 1/4 5.5oz can of special kitty turkey and giblets. The last time mocha ate was at 11:30 last night. She would not eat at the vets office. Her food is soaked in water, almost like pure soup and she is eating it "ok"

Well, that about sums up our day. We got copies of everything that was done including her lab work and if you have questions I will try to answer them. I am going to go sit with my girl and let her know how much I love her.

Thanks again everyone, for the prayers and positive thoughts today.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400, NO SHOT DENTAL DAY!

What a day you had Devon, sorry about the hefty bill, but what's done is done, and Mocha will reward you with her shiny new smile right? :-D Glad to hear she is home with you now, lots of tummy rubs for Mocha!! And (((hugs))) to you. You did great!

(PS): they're asking about Mocha in the Health forum, by the way, for updates)
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400 WERE BACK!

Hi Devon-

Gosh, I feel for you about the whole thing! The bill stuff is terrible, isn't it? It adds up fast and what can you do? Mocha is going to be fine; and you're a good mom who has done a great job for your girl!
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400 WERE BACK!

Glad Mocha is back home!

Sucks about the canines.. those can be a bit rougher to recover from sometimes.. probably without all those ouchies in her mouth she'll recover quicker then you think though, but don't skimp on the painkillers just in case! (kind of confused why you were given bup and metacam.. maybe post the dosing schedule for each and someone who knows better then I do can have a looksie)

2 months until next visit is IMO pretty wack... she needs to see a doctor in a week or two for a check up to make sure things are healing as they should.. doesn't have to be a dentist (though he really should do the 1 week re-check free of charge).. but I'd really be more comfortable if you got her re-checked sooner then that.

And the bills are simply awesome aren't they? It's only money..compared to Mocha, it has no value.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400 WERE BACK!

Many cats can tolerate Metacam. It also causes renal failure in many cats. Carolyn/Latte can tell you more, much more. You might want to call the vet back and ask for an alternative to Metacam.

I'm glad Mocha is home. She will really do fine. You, on the other hand, probably need a glass of wine.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha ambg 400 WERE BACK!

sienne, what should be given instead of metacam? The vet is almost 2 hours away from us. Would the metacam cause renal failure in a week to two week time slot?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

ok, I tried to call the vet. They are closed. Now we don't know what to do? The metacam was for inflammation, but we don't want to use it if there is a chance of renal failure. For those of you who have been sent home with inflammation medication, what was it??? If you don't want prednisone because it is a steroid, and you don't want metacam cause it will cause renal failure, what do you ask for? Should we only give mocha her bupe tonight and not the metacam?? Should we do bupe and metacam, but just for tonight and call the vet in the a.m.? Is this something she could call in for us, at a pharmacy and we could pick it up?? Do you guys who have had kitties with extractions even use stuff for inflammation? Or just pain meds?

You can tell I am freaking out. Plus it is almost mochas shot time, she just was at 346, this was after eating a little when she got home. After we tested her she ate a little more. Should we do the shot tonight? Or wait till morning?

Someone calm me down, please.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

thanks ronnie. Now peter wants to know if 10u in a U100 syringe is a normal amount for a cat?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

I don't think you need to skip her shot tonight, but a reduced dose would probably be good. Is the 346 the first test since you got home? Maybe stall 30-60 minutes to see if she is dropping and at what rate, then decide (we can figure out the schedule later). Some cats drop quite a bit after anesthesia, others don't, but the rate of drop now can help see which way Mocha wants to go.

Metacam - I would avoid it, but that's just my opinion. Most people here have just given bupe, I think, even with extractions. I don't personally have that experience (Lucy hasn't had extractions) so others might have more to tell you.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

hmm, no, I thought it was supposed to be a tiny amount. I haven't used it myself, let's find somebody who has. Did they give you a bunch of prefilled syringes, or just one, or what?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

yes, pre filled syringes, that need to be put into her mouth? Just absorbed into the gums?

Also peter has decided to not give mocha her shot tonight.

I am still unsure about the metacam??
 
Re: 3/19 mocha pmps 346 many questions!

Checkers has always been sent home with Metacam, after extractions. It can be harmful to cats with compromised kidneys. Checks never had a problem with it. It is very useful for inflammation, for short term use.
Devon, please don't withhold Mocha's pain medication out of fear.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha bupe and metacam questions,, please help if poss.

barb, today mocha had her kidney and her liver functions tested, and they both came back looking good, right in the middle of the range.

We were sent home bupe for pain, and metacam for inflammation.
 
Re: 3/19 mocha bupe and metacam questions,, please help if poss.

Fantastic about her good kidney values. I didn't want to ask. It helps with pain as well as inflammation.
My vet gives the Metacam in prefilled syringes, with diminishing doses as the days go by, Is that what you got?
I am no medical pro. I only am telling what my cats have had. Checks has had many teeth extracted because of FORLs. Mocha will be feeling better quicker than you and Peter will. :smile:
 
Re: 3/19 mocha bupe and metacam questions,, please help if poss.

buprenex prefilled in a U100 insulin syringe doesn't sound right. most vets send home buprenex prefilled in 1.0 ml tuberculin syringes. can you check the markings on these syringes and see how high it goes, and how it's marked? this are needle-less syringes?
 
Re: 3/19 mocha bupe and metacam questions,, please help if poss.

barb, the way the metacam came was a bottle, it almost looks like a bottle of what you would buy at wal mart, for fake tears, know what I mean? Like for dry eyes? Anyways, there is a cap that comes off, and then a syringe that is open at one end fits over that cap on the bottle and then you just fill it up, like you would with insulin.

wcf, the syringes are needless, and they are printed U100 insulin only on the side. These are BD 1cc syringes marked to 100 units, filled to 10 units.

The vet who did the cleaning is a fellow member of the board of dentistries. All they do are dental cleanings, but again, not sure how many diabetic kitties they actually work on, if that makes a difference??
 
Re: 3/19 mocha bupe and metacam questions,, please help if poss.

PeterDevonMocha said:
wcf, the syringes are needless, and they are printed U100 insulin only on the side. These are BD 1cc syringes marked to 100 units, filled to 10 units

Oh okie, not your regular 0.3 ml insulin syringes. While they sound similar to the 1.0 ml tuberculin syringes, I am not familiar with these ones, so I won't comment. Suggest you check with Larry on Health, or I think there are a couple of vet techs here too? Pablo's bean I think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top