? 3/19 Millie AMPS 223 (AT), +3 101, +4 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
We will be doing some additional bg tests today and would like some input regarding timeline. Even with treats Millie is not loving the ear pricks (propably due to the two hospitalizations in the last few weeks) so we won't be doing every two hours. For 3 or 4 additional tests, what are the best times after her shot?
 
Hi. It's my first time at your condo. It's hard to answer your question because ECID and the information on your ss doesn't give me any patterns. For Max a +3 gave me clues to how the cycle would go. If he was dropping I'd then get a +3 and determine his next test based upon the results. It looks like Millie has a late nadir at least some of the time. If Max ever tested green at what I hoped would be his last test then I would test again an hour after to make sure he was coming up.

Why was Millie hospitalized? Both for DKA? It helps a lot if you link your last condo to the new one so the history can be read.

Are you using neosporin with pain relief on her ears?
 
What is ECID?

We've been needing to do a curve (I think that's what it's called) to get more info on her. Millie was hospitalized with DKA, came home and returned to the hospital three days later for the DKA. Since coming home her numbers have been all over, several times being low (62 even after eating and being given Nutracal). She is newly diagnosed and a set dose hasn't really been established, hence the testing.

We need to get Neosporin, thanks for the reminder. Millie has never like to be held/carried and we pick her up to test her, so this is part of it, too.
 
Sorry. ECID is every cat is different. Here's' yesterday's condo link.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-millie-ambg-79-9-294.174992/#post-1921229

You copy the old URL and paste it onto your new condo. I didn't know how to do this when I first started either.

Max didn't like to be held either. I would take hm in the bathroom and put him in the sink to test. That way he always felt safe in the rest of my place. It will get easier once she gets interesting a routine.
 
Hi Sylvia. I was a little slow to learn all of this, too. What I do is... first I copy the URL from the day before, then I go to "Start New Thread". I paste it into the body of the new thread so that it's the first thing. Then, of course, I give the thread a title.

Testing Chase early on was very difficult, too. However... the vet had me testing him all wrong. I hope she gets used to it soon. Chase is crazy about it, but I have been doing +1, +2 and +3 tests every single day, and he always gets a portion of food when that happens. And Chase LOVES his food. :)
 
Still not sure when we should test. It's going on +3 so maybe I'll start with that. I read that the nadir begins around 4-7 hours so I wasn't sure if I should the +4, +7, then +9 or +10?
 
I'm sorry I can't really advise you about times. I'm pretty new, here. I can only say that when I did a BG curve for Chase, it was every 2 hours. It was very tough. He's more used to it, now, and so it's not as hard. If she's at +3 it can't hurt to test now. Actually, it can never hurt to test (well, you know what I mean. Kitties may say different.) :( Someone with more experience may chime in, soon. For Chase, testing at +3 was the most important, but only because his BG liked to drop significantly at that time. Every cat is different, so the SS has been very important for me to learn about Chase. Although, sometimes his BG acts "out of character". Good luck, Sylvia. :)
 
We will be doing some additional bg tests today and would like some input regarding timeline. Even with treats Millie is not loving the ear pricks (propably due to the two hospitalizations in the last few weeks) so we won't be doing every two hours. For 3 or 4 additional tests, what are the best times after her shot?
In lieu of running a curve, you'll want to perform random tests when you can to learn how Millie is responding to insulin.

Initially, these are the things you're looking for:

  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose (usually around +2, sometimes +3 with Lantus)
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle (depending on the cat, *usually* around +6, but could be sooner or later)
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Every cat is different (ECID). It's your job to find out how Millie responds to insulin. Once you have a good idea of onset, nadir, and duration... her numbers will begin to make sense and will help guide you when making dosing decisions.

It may sound crazy, but it helped when I talked to Alex... explained why I was testing her. My attitude was one of trying to help her rather than thinking I was hurting her. I think she "got it" and within no time at all she began hopping up on her testing spot as soon as I said, "C'mon, Alex. Time to test your BGs!" I was shocked and amazed. We even discontinued giving treats at testing time after a couple of weeks!

Good luck! :)
 
In lieu of running a curve, you'll want to perform random tests when you can to learn how Millie is responding to insulin.

Initially, these are the things you're looking for:

  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose (usually around +2, sometimes +3 with Lantus)
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle (depending on the cat, *usually* around +6, but could be sooner or later)
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Every cat is different (ECID). It's your job to find out how Millie responds to insulin. Once you have a good idea of onset, nadir, and duration... her numbers will begin to make sense and will help guide you when making dosing decisions.

It may sound crazy, but it helped when I talked to Alex... explained why I was testing her. My attitude was one of trying to help her rather than thinking I was hurting her. I think she "got it" and within no time at all she began hopping up on her testing spot as soon as I said, "C'mon, Alex. Time to test your BGs!" I was shocked and amazed. We even discontinued giving treats at testing time after a couple of weeks!

Good luck! :)
I talk to Chase, too. And it's not crazy. It DOES help. And I always praise him after a test.
 
Thanks for the explanation. It puts things in perspective. Someone had made suggestions the other day but I couldn't find the post (it was also for more frequent readings).

I love that your kitty just comes to you now.
 
With that drop from an AMPS of 223 to a +3 of 101, I strongly suggest feeding a small LC snack and getting another test at +4.

I'm leaving for brunch so I can't stay with you. Please edit the subject line of your first post. Remove the current question and replace it with Millie's numbers. Example: 3/19 Millie AMPS 223 (AT), +3 101

You can find the Thread Tools at the top right of your first post. Click on it and select Edit Thread from the drop down menu.
 
The only thing Millie would eat was some of her Friskies Party Mix, so I gave her a few. The +4 reading was 225. Any suggestions for the time of the next reading?
 
That's an unusual quick jump up. What is in the Party Mix? It must be a high carb treat. Next time, I would save the Party Mix for low blood sugar - or maybe just store them in the back of the cupboard.

I think you can wait a couple of hours for a test. If she's still high then you are probably done testing for the cycle.

Could you update the subject line to add the latest BG reading. ie +4 225.
 
It is a higher calorie treat. I bought a bunch of different things and this was the only treat she'd take (we use it when we test her), she didn't want any food.

Yes, we're going to test in a couple of hours.
 
The only thing Millie would eat was some of her Friskies Party Mix, so I gave her a few. The +4 reading was 225.
Yikes! I have no idea what percentage of carbs in Friskies Party Mix, but they're obviously much too high to give as a testing treat or a "small LC snack". As Wendy said, save that Party Mix for situations where you have to bring up low blood sugar numbers in a hurry.

Please check this list out for diabetic friendly treats:
Low Carb Treats
 
Thanks for the info.

As I mentioned earlier Millie was refusing to eat anything else. I have her 6/7 very small pieces. These were what they gave her in the hospital during her DKA because she wasn't refusing eat. I have been told repeatedly by our vet that it's more important that she eat rather than what she eats.
 
I have been told repeatedly by our vet that it's more important that she eat rather than what she eats.
That's true to a point, but unless you find a food/treats she'll eat that are suitable to treat her diabetes, you'll find it very difficult, if not impossible, to get her regulated on insulin. Of course, I suppose another option is to continue to increase the insulin dose to offset the amount of carbs you're feeding.

Initially, try reducing that 6 or 7 pieces to one or two. And then search for low carb foods and treats for her. I'm sure you've seen the new low carb food chart Dr. Lisa put together: New food Chart. My cats would hold out for high carb treats, too if I gave in to them. "Cookies" always taste better than meat. LOL!

I feel for you. You're basically performing a balancing act, but it'll not only be in Millie's best interest to find an appropriate diet for her and it'll make your life a whole lot easier if you can get her regulated or maybe even into remission.

Speaking from experience... just my thoughts. Ultimately, it's up to you how you want to go about treating Millie. :)
 
I intend to get the lc treats, I'll just buy a few and see which one she likes. I did that with her food and fortunately she gave up her kibble for the FF.

After we have a better sense and understanding of her dosages, I'd like to learn about feeding her in a way that best supports her health. She is quick to stop eating and became anorexic during her DKA. There's a lot for me to learn.
 
Whether or not your ultimate goal is remission, your first goal should be regulation. The more time Millie spends in normal numbers (greens) the more healing her pancreas can do. Some people step back their goals to be most of the time under renal threshold. That number varies by cat, but is somewhere upper blue/low yellow. Because my Neko had acromegaly, I knew that I couldn't help her get into remission, so my goal was as much time as possible below renal threshold. For her, nadirs in the 70's would bring down her overall range of numbers. Keep in mind I used a human BG meter.
 
I used freeze dried chicken, turkey, and shrimp as treats. I also used Stella and Chewys fd food. It takes experimenting to find what works. Good luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top