Re: 3/19 Mego PMPS 135 +2 102 +4 44 Only Day 2
While symptomatic hypos on lantus are not common, they can and do happen. Sometimes the cats liver kicks in pretty fast and dumps counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to bring up the BG. But my Gracie has been in the 20s with nary a symptom....the heart palpitations were solely mine.
Sometimes cats go really low on the dose and instructions given by the vet that, by some grace of God, the cat does not seize but it's enough to shock the pancreas into working. That's not how I want my cat to go into remission. ;-)
So...it's hard to predict but, yes, Mego could have gone lower without you testing. And yes, he could have hypoed.
The vast majority of us do not rely on our vets for assistance with FD. My vet is very supportive and she is always happy to learn things from me. I am lucky....many vets are offended that clients would take an Internet groups advice over theirs. But we live and breathe FD 24/7 and there is almost always someone around to help in a bind. That's not something vets can or will do.
So, my dear, since I have to work tomorrow, I'm going to go to bed but, as I said, we won't leave you alone. Courtney is going to pop onto to check on you and Mego. Remember that as the HC wears off, numbers can come back down. OR his liver will really react to that 44 and he might zoom way up.
Don't forget to reduce his dose. However...if he is in the 300s or higher tomorrow, you can shoot 1u once in the a.m. Cycle to help minimize the bounce and then take the reduction to .75u tomorrow night. We call this "shooting through the bounce". If he's not sky high, shoot .75u in the morning. If you have any questions, post and ask for help and ask them to read this condo.
You will catch on very fast....you'll be amazed.
Good night and enjoy the wonderful Courtney

thanks Courtney.. \M/ \M/