3/19 Maverick AMPS 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
No condo yesterday.

Lots of updates though. I'm going shopping with my mom this morning. Going to buy workout clothes and join the Y.

We met with a new vet yesterday and I was somewhat disappointed again. I was more assertive than before but she just isn't comfortable with the tight regulation protocol. I am 100% committed to it. She has promised to take away the journal article I got from the FDMB (Thanks Ella) and his spreadsheet and look into it. She will also ask if any of the other vets will take Maverick on with the protocol. I explained that he has five months of data, is on 3 drops of insulin (.25 units) and that I work from home and he is an extremely stable predictable diabetic cat that will most likely be off of insulin in a month or two. So this will be a deal make or deal breaker. She is comfortable having a dialogue with me but that she will make decisions that she feels is best for her patient, which if she takes Maverick on, would be him. She is also cool with adequan for Maverick's arthritis. She wasn't a comfortable person, but not uncomfortable either. My gut is telling me it will be a no. Even showing he would be a one off, I would not need curve management from her, he's on a micro dose of insulin and there is scientific data backing it up. So I do not know how this will work out.

I saw the neck specialist Thursday afternoon to try and get a formal diagnosis on what is going on in my neck that triggers those evil migraines. He was great. I was so nervous. I was in a lot of pain yesterday though and lost a lot of the day to neck pain and migraine. So I haven't been around much. The diagnosis is the very top two vertebrae are "blocked". His words LOL. They move to the left fine but not to the right. And there are two tiny muscles that attach that cramp up (causing my pain when I feel it) and trigger the migraines. So I have stretches to do three times a day to loosen the muscles and see him once a week and then he'll work on the vertebrae. So I have hope that I will be rid of these evil migraines for good. I wish I had seen him years ago.

Off to get dressed and ready for shopping. I am so glad its Saturday. I can finally sit down later and visit condo's without multitasking.
 
(((Karrie))) Sounds as if the doc worked for your neck at least. Sorry about the vet situation.
BUT, Maverick is looking great and you are doing such a great job with him! Keep your chin up...I really don't see the "problem" with working with these vets...sigh...it is just so weird...
Happy Saturday! Hope you enjoy your shopping! Scritches to Maverick!
 
As for new vet: go with your gut.

As for migraines due to neck injury/pain... 1) get a good pillow and 2) do Pilates. The Y might have a few classes so you can see what it's like, but if there's a dedicated Pilates studio nearby, I would go in for a consultation one-on-one visit with an instructor (A lot of places will do a free consultation or a half-price full session to start).

Doctors can manipulate your muscles and joints in the hopes of improvement, but Pilates will teach you how to improve it yourself by working with your body in an active and engaged way, waking up muscles that your body needs to work efficiently but never knew it had.

It's the difference between letting the vet monitor your cat's health by a once-a-week visit and you doing it every day.

Happy Shopping!
 
Whooo, shopping and joining the Y! Go, Karrie!

Sorry about the vet situation. I know you'll find a good one, or maybe one of this vet's colleagues will be willing to take Maverick on... maybe one of them is the curious, daring type :lol: It seems like there are only a few rogue vets who are willing to come with us on this journey.

But yaaay! for finding that doctor! You sound like me when I found my pelvic pain specialist/mad scientist. How my heart sang when I saw in his face that he "got it"- knew exactly what I was saying, and better yet, what to do about it. I hope the stretches and weekly visits do the trick for you so you can be rid of evil migraine forever. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Karrie,
It sounds like this Vet is on the fence, a little open to what you're doing, since she took the article and SS, but then wants to be the one to advise you on Maverick. Maybe once she takes Maverick on and sees the progress, she may be more open. I'd give her a chance unless she can seek another Vet for you that would follow that protocol or if you find another one on your own. My Vet wasn't even for hometesting in the beginning.

It sounds like a good visit with the Neck Specialist, and he diagnosed the top two vetebrae causing problems. I hope the neck exercises help. Great about the once a week follow-up visits to work with you. Sounds like a really good doctor. I sure hope you get some relief as the migraines can be so debilitating.
 
Hi Karrie, Edward, my DH, has had shoulder pain for years and found out last week that the problem is not his shoulder (which was perfect on the x rays) but his neck. His doctor prescribed a device called the "Over-Door Traction Unit", made by Alex Orthopedic, Inc.
http://www.alexorthopedic.com/search.as ... &search=GO

He has only had it for 2 days and already is feeling much better. It's a pulley system with a chin strap/sling and weight bag (the weight is water) that hangs on a door. You sit with your head in the sling and the prescribed weight in the bag for 10 minutes a few times a day. Maybe you should check it out with your new doctor.

Now, with regard to the vet situation. I don't understand why you need to have a vet micromanage Maverick's FD. You can do that yourself. You need a vet because you need to be able to go to one for other stuff. Do you have friends with cats who could recommend their vets? If so, why don't you simply go to one the next time Maverick has something (other than FD) that needs to be checked out. Once there, you can fill the vet in on the fact that Maverick has FD, that you are dealing with it, that he is well regulated, and that you are comfortable with his situation. Since you live in Canada you don't have to worry about prescriptions for insulin.

Anyway, good luck with it all, and have a great day shopping with your mom and good for you for deciding to start working out!

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Karrie!

Morning! I am glad that you have found a DR that cam hep you with your neck and the migraines. that has to be reassuring! I hope it helps. It sound so promising.

Well bummer on the vet. Maybe she will be more on board once she reads everything. With mine, once she saw what I have done for Mannie, and the results, she has pretty much let me handle and manage his FD. She will offer her opinion, but won't insist I follow her plan. Are you comfortable enough with her to allow her to treat other health things when they come up? and just let you handle the FD? I wish you luck with it all.

Have a great day today! It's the weekend! YAY!
 
Happy Caturday Karrie & Maverick.. how exciting, new workout clothes! I am a member at 24 Hour Fitness & LOVE working out.. I splurge a few times a month at Dick's Sporting Goods.. new Nikes & workout clothes and am always looking for new songs on the iPod :lol: very excited for you to join the Y & get your fitness on!
I hope it does workout with the vet.... I really do.. I know it can be frusturating, happy she was upfront & honest on her comfort level though. The important thing is that Maverick is getting what he needs right now ;-)
Have tons of fun shopping with your mom! Maverick looks wonderful too!
 
Hi Karrie,
Well, sounds like you have at least a chance with this vet, but if not, maybe she'll pass you on to a better one. My vet is currently reading the tight protocol journal article that Sienne gave me the link for. I have read it twice and am ready to discuss with her next Monday. She is a very open, interested vet, so we'll see. I have my fingers crossed, cause I really want to keep her. She is so great for Tessie and T.J.'s care in everything else. Very loving, caring person. And, Tessie actually starts purring when she comes in the room, if you can believe that!

Good luck with your neck exercises. I think you're on the right track. So much better than pills. I personally got lots of improvement with my migraines when I was doing Yoga daily. Sadly, I have gotten away from it in recent months. But, it really did help cut the number of them down, and the duration of them as well. Still, I have strong medication to take when a bad one takes over.

Have fun shopping with your Mom! Sounds great--enjoy!
 
you've got a good day ahead! very optimistic 2 thumbs up with the doc! i go to a chiropractor regularly and it's amazing what they can do. and nothing like having someone get it!

hope things work out vet-wise. that is a conundrum - i think most vets aren't so keen on the whole "i found this on the internet and want to pay more attention to it than to you" plan.
 
Hi, Karrie-bear!

wishing you luck with the vet...
and sounds Really promising on the therapy!

And maverick...you're only great!! (a famous Frances Faye remark, but so true!)

binks is looking forward to partying with you tonight!
 
Fingers and paws crossed that the vet will work out, as well as your migraine treatment! I will be watching to see what your therapist does... right now, I'm hoping that some supplement changes will help... I've added a good magnesium supplement and I've started taking feverfew to see if my migraines decrease.

Hope you guys are having a great day!
 
Karrie: great amps for Mav...he's looking so good. On the vet...I totally agree with Ella. You know what you are doing and if Maverick is possibly going to be OTJ soon, why do you need to involve a vet? Although, I know you want one for other reasons, too, and you have to disclose the FD. It's so sad that it is always about liability or ego, eh?

I also agree with Sarah on the pilates....I really am glad you found a doc you like and am so hopeful for you that he can help. You need RELIEF!! (((Karrie)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top