3/19 Jupiter dental tomorrow. questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Jupiter's dental is tomorrow. They said hes not allowed any food after 7pm......7pm is Jupiters shot time. Is it really okay to give him a full dose tonight since he wont be allowed to eat? The vet said give him full dose tonight, and half dose in the AM. They also asked I take his insulin with him incase they needed to give him the other half...but isnt this dangerous overlapping shots at different times like that?

Jupiter's SS isnt up to date at the moment...but will be up to date later today. Weve had to skip a few shots these past couple days. His dosed was lowered from 2 u to 1.75u as his BG ended up 47 the other day.
 
I understand your concerns. Cinco's OV said the same thing, except the cutoff was 9 pm, so we gave him his shot and a couple of snacks, right up till 9. What time is his appointment tomorrow? 7 pm seems awfully early, unless his appointment is at 7 am? Personally, I would not give the full dose. Maybe a BCS, given 15 minutes early with a small meal? Just thinking out loud. Hopefully the smarter members will be along soon to give you better advice.

Sending lots of good dental vine for Jupiter.
 
It's crazy that all these vets give different instructions. I was told regular dose the night before, cut off food at midnight and no shot in the morning. His dental was done early in the morning.
 
you do want to give a lesser dose......
but I would feed tonight with that shot....

they would like a 12 hour gap between last meal and surgery time.....
I've had some say I can fudge that to 11 hours... or even 10....

it's unlikely that his surgery is at 7 am....

the reason is they need to be empty in case they vomit.... don't want them choking while under....
 
I'd call the vet and confirm the cutoff time for food, and remind them he is diabetic. For Neko's last dental, her cutoff time for food went from 10PM at night to 6:00AM in the morning (1/3 of her meal) once I mentioned she was diabetic. For her radiation therapy at CSU, her cutoff time was midnight. I also gave her a little MC as her last meal to give her a boost if I was worried.

Tons of good dental vines for tomorrow. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top