3/19 Ivy Amps 269, +2.5 161, +4 225, +7 43, +9 53, Pmps 133, +2.25 42L, +3 Lo L =80C

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
3/18/24
Amps 269
Good morning,
We had a generally flat yellow cycle last night after a nice am start that went up to yellow.
Hope she holds steady this am since we are going to the vet and I’ll be a mess if she’s going low while I’m driving and at vet and can’t test easily etc.
Gave her sedatives last night and will give again shortly at +1.

Getting 6 month labs done to see what’s up.
Always makes me nervous (taking her, then handling her, waiting for lab report). :nailbiting:

On an interesting note, I think (hoping I’m correct) she may be walking a bit better. I usually hear her clumping along on the first floor of the house on the wood floors with her neuropathy. But lately when I think she’s on the first floor I’ve discovered she actually went down to the basement but I never heard her go by (Anti jinx). Could we be seeing improvement after over a year??

Hope you all have an easy and calm day :cat:
 
Good luck at the vet! I'm taking Pepper to get checked out tomorrow (nondiabetic). Shooter doesn't mind the car ride at all but Pepper screams bloody murder the whole time! :eek:
Thanks Heather! Lucky Shooter doesn’t mind. Sorry Pepper hates it. Ivy is quiet I. That cat since she’s heavily sedated. It just as soon as they try to handle her she growls her warnings to them.
Her chart is marked with something like “Will bite” :blackeye:

Good luck tomorrow! :bighug:
 
Good luck with the vet today- Paws crossed she gets a good overall report. I know it's not funny, but your comment of "Her chart is marked with something like “Will bite” really made me laugh...I have one like that....he gets a gabapentin/buprinex combo the vet cooked up just for him :rolleyes:
HUGS! :bighug:
 
Still here at the vet. She was so grumble and they have many vials of blood to draw so they gave her injection sedation so they can handle her :(
We are waiting 1/2 hour for that to kick in so they can try to draw all the blood. My poor baby :(
 
And her bg is going up higher. Can stress do that? (Watching on the Libre)

I’m just hoping she will eat tonight and not have any nausea issues from the sedation. Scares me terribly.
 
And her bg is going up higher. Can stress do that? (Watching on the Libre)

I’m just hoping she will eat tonight and not have any nausea issues from the sedation. Scares me terribly.

Yes absolutely stress can make her bg go up. Main reason why its always best to test at home or curve at home cause stress can make them go up 100 or more points! Good luck! You're doing great Staci!!
 
Finally home. Very long time at vet. They had to give her TORBUTROL to sedate her further. She was not gonna let them do it without.
There were 3 vet techs handling getting blood drawn. :banghead:

And they had to wait 1/2 hour from when given to take effect.
I was there in total 3.5 hours and 30 minutes each way.
We are both wiped. Now we wait for results.

My concern with that further sedation is will she feel up to eating dinner at 6 pm so I can give her next injection in 2.5 hours from now.
Just hoping she’s not nauseous or anything when it’s mealtime. :nailbiting:

I just gave her a teaspoon of her regular food to see if she tolerates that. I may give another teaspoon in half hour at + 10 again to see if she can tolerate food (the tech suggested that)

Hope you’re all having a great day!
@Mikanmama @Jennifer & Oliver @Jack & Mopem'sMom @Alicia & Kit cat @Deb and Tiger @cecile & bella
 
Hi Staci,
Sounds like such a long and stressful day at the vet's. Hopefully the results are favorable. Poor sweet Ivy I hope she's feeling well enough to eat her dinner and receive the shot. And hopefully Staci you have some time to unwind after today.

Have a good evening :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Sounds like such a long and stressful day at the vet's. Hopefully the results are favorable. Poor sweet Ivy I hope she's feeling well enough to eat her dinner and receive the shot. And hopefully Staci you have some time to unwind after today.

Have a good evening :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
Me too, Karolina! Thank you. I’ll tell her what you said :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
Wow, such a stressful time to go to the vet! Ivy is certainly a challenge. Based on her reactions, it's not likely a vet that makes house calls, - if you could find one - would be any better. :bighug:

Hope you both recovered!
 
Wow, such a stressful time to go to the vet! Ivy is certainly a challenge. Based on her reactions, it's not likely a vet that makes house calls, - if you could find one - would be any better. :bighug:

Hope you both recovered!
Agreed. Probably not. She’s a handful. It’s just Ivy. Makes everything harder on everyone :(

She’s always been like this so it’s not new. The stakes are just higher for her and me.
 
What a long day at the vet! So stressful on the both of you and not fun for sure. Hopefully now that you and Ivy are home she will feel better and be able to eat some dinner. Hopefully you have some much needed downtime this evening. Oliver had a sugar of 24 today so it's been busy here too! Talk soon!!
 
Finally home. Very long time at vet. They had to give her TORBUTROL to sedate her further. She was not gonna let them do it without.
There were 3 vet techs handling getting blood drawn. :banghead:

And they had to wait 1/2 hour from when given to take effect.
I was there in total 3.5 hours and 30 minutes each way.
We are both wiped. Now we wait for results.

My concern with that further sedation is will she feel up to eating dinner at 6 pm so I can give her next injection in 2.5 hours from now.
Just hoping she’s not nauseous or anything when it’s mealtime. :nailbiting:

I just gave her a teaspoon of her regular food to see if she tolerates that. I may give another teaspoon in half hour at + 10 again to see if she can tolerate food (the tech suggested that)

Hope you’re all having a great day!
@Mikanmama @Jennifer & Oliver @Jack & Mopem'sMom @Alicia & Kit cat @Deb and Tiger @cecile & bella
You know what... she is a strong girl!! A fighter through and through!

Glad you both made it through and are home safe. Phew!
 
Pmps 133
She had no real interest in her dinner so I syringe that about half of her meal and gave full dose. Will try to see if she has any interest in more food in a little while and if she’s doing OK I will syringe food If I need to. o_O
 
+2.25 53 on Libre. Been bouncing up and down.
Had to syringe entire dinner. She’s just zoned and doesn’t want to eat on her own.
I just hate they have to sedate her so heavily. It really screws up her interest in food.
Will give her a bit more food to keep her system stable as onset occurs at least. Probably by syringing.
She and I are very wiped.
I blew a gasket when DH left the dinner dishes on the counter because the dishwasher needed to be emptied. Really???? Do I look like I’m doing nothing?????
Sorry guys. Just needed to vent. (He’s actually very helpful around the house) but tonight I’ve just got my hands full
and… we have a bit of an ant problem going on. So leaving dishes on the counter is not bueno.
Can I just smash my head against the wall :banghead::banghead:
:spam::spam::spam:
 
I certainly understand your sentiments. Have been in those shoes, too, and they pinch. :(
Had a similar discussion this past week about seeing things that need to be done and not taking the initiative. :rolleyes:
So, hugs to you! I get it.
 
I certainly understand your sentiments. Have been in those shoes, too, and they pinch. :(
Had a similar discussion this past week about seeing things that need to be done and not taking the initiative. :rolleyes:
So, hugs to you! I get it.
Thank you. Sometimes you just wonder….sending the love back :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Lo on Libre at +2.75 and +3, 80 on Contour. Even double checked one with the Relion meter and it read 95. So both handhelds were very close. Interesting test. :rolleyes:
 
Lo on Libre at +2.75 and +3, 80 on Contour. Even double checked one with the Relion meter and it read 95. So both handhelds were very close. Interesting test. :rolleyes:
Yeah Libre isn’t an exact science. I have to remember it’s 15 minutes behind the handheld. So when Oliver was 24 on true metrix and 55 on Libre I knew that the Libre3 would eventually drop and it did get to 43 before all my hc food and honey brought him up.

Im sorry you’re so tired and had such a rough day! Hoping Ivy feels better tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yeah Libre isn’t an exact science. I have to remember it’s 15 minutes behind the handheld. So when Oliver was 24 on true metrix and 55 on Libre I knew that the Libre3 would eventually drop and it did get to 43 before all my hc food and honey brought him up.

Im sorry you’re so tired and had such a rough day! Hoping Ivy feels better tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Jenn. I appreciate that. Tomorrow will be a better day. We both need some sleep. Hoping we can do that soon.
Yes the Libre is tricky. But I do like knowing what range she’s in at the very least.
And yikes, Oliver dropped to 24 on your handheld meter? When was that? Very scary!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I blew a gasket when DH left the dinner dishes on the counter because the dishwasher needed to be emptied. Really???? Do I look like I’m doing nothing?????
Sorry guys. Just needed to vent. (He’s actually very helpful around the house) but tonight I’ve just got my hands full
and… we have a bit of an ant problem going on. So leaving dishes on the counter is not bueno.
Can I just smash my head against the wall :banghead::banghead:
:spam::spam::spam:

LOL, I'm so so sorry, Staci, but I thought this was hilarious. I love hearing the DH stories, ha ha.

---------------------

Wow! wild ride today! Thanks for reminding me I need to order a feeding syringe ASAP now that Kona sometimes has eating issues.

My turn is next, Kona get's her blood work on next week on Thursday. Hopefully the 100mg gaba will be enough. I have no clue whatsoever what it's like being a vet tech, but sometimes I wonder how much they try or what methods they do or don't do to restrain them. They tell me all the time Kona freaks out, but I don't know what that means or how bad it is. I always ask to go back there to watch or hold her down myself but they refuse. Makes me wonder ever time what's going on back there and what the process is like. I guess it does take a long time to draw, maybe that's the issue, the duration and needing to be absolutely still?

We then have a dental coming up, not looking forward to that.

Good job today, I know you're exhausted. Hope you can relax and get some rest. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's interesting... good to know. My vet wants to put Shooter on the Libre but I need more info about it first. Like how often does it need to be switched out and how much $$
They are supposed to last 13-14 days. But more often than not they don’t. I change them myself so don’t have to go to the vet for that. I highly recommend learning how to do that if you want to use them. They can fail any time day or night. Been there done that.
I pay around $84 for 2 now. They went up a bit a few months ago.
I recommend the Libre 3, you can monitor on your phone and don’t need to physically scan your kitty.
You need a phone to leave at home with kitty to scan/read your sensor. (You don’t need any service on the phone. Just WiFi and Bluetooth.) Get a slightly older less expensive model that’s compatible with the Libre 3.
Join the Facebook group below for tons of relevant information. (Let me know if I can help)
upload_2024-3-19_23-1-29.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-19_23-1-29.jpeg
    upload_2024-3-19_23-1-29.jpeg
    44.2 KB · Views: 134
LOL, I'm so so sorry, Staci, but I thought this was hilarious. I love hearing the DH stories, ha ha.

---------------------

Wow! wild ride today! Thanks for reminding me I need to order a feeding syringe ASAP now that Kona sometimes has eating issues.

My turn is next, Kona get's her blood work on next week on Thursday. Hopefully the 100mg gaba will be enough. I have no clue whatsoever what it's like being a vet tech, but sometimes I wonder how much they try or what methods they do or don't do to restrain them. They tell me all the time Kona freaks out, but I don't know what that means or how bad it is. I always ask to go back there to watch or hold her down myself but they refuse. Makes me wonder ever time what's going on back there and what the process is like. I guess it does take a long time to draw, maybe that's the issue, the duration and needing to be absolutely still?

We then have a dental coming up, not looking forward to that.

Good job today, I know you're exhausted. Hope you can relax and get some rest. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Haha. Thanks Jason for your sweet message. Glad to provide some DH humor (just don’t tell him, ok?)
I just kind of lost it when he managed to be sitting watching tv as I was still syringe feeding her dinner after 2 freaking hours.
(To be fair he did a load of laundry and sprayed outside for that ants and did something else he rattled off but I stopped listening because my blood was boiling. Lol)

I really hope the gaba works magic for Kona. It doesn’t seem to do much for Ivy. But ECID!!
Wishing you and Kona an easy time and a very smooth dental.
This is as hard on us as it is on our babies I think :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Jenn. I appreciate that. Tomorrow will be a better day. We both need some sleep. Hoping we can do that soon.
Yes the Libre is tricky. But I do like knowing what range she’s in at the very least.
And yikes, Oliver dropped to 24 on your handheld meter? When was that? Very scary!!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
It was really scary!! I was so grateful that my DH was working from home today when I decided to use the handheld. I didn’t like Oliver’s behavior and freaked out with a 24. Happened around 12pm today +5.5. Gave him a whole little can of 20% and put a squirt of honey on top for good measure! Now he’s in the 200’s and we decreased his dose. All is good now!
 
It was really scary!! I was so grateful that my DH was working from home today when I decided to use the handheld. I didn’t like Oliver’s behavior and freaked out with a 24. Happened around 12pm today +5.5. Gave him a whole little can of 20% and put a squirt of honey on top for good measure! Now he’s in the 200’s and we decreased his dose. All is good now!
Oh my. I’m so sorry you went through that and sorry I totally missed it all (being caught up with my own vet drama… with Ivy)
I’m so glad your husband was home and you guys handled it so beautifully!! Great job and big hugs to all 3 of you!! Congratulations on the reduction! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top