3/19 Honey AMPS 363, +6 301, PMPS 241

Hi Julie, Are you following TR or SLGS? If you will put this information into your signature people won't have to keep asking. Honey is doing OK and you should be back on your original shooting schedule soon. If you are using TR you should hold the present dose for 3 more cycles to give it time to settle in. (Every time you make a change in dose it takes several cycles for the Lantus "depot" to recalibrate.) If you are following SLGS hold the present dose for a week; do a curve after the week and ask for advice. Is it at all possible for you to get a bedtime test every evening? You have no data on the nighttime cycle other than PMPS. Many cats can go lower at night. A bedtime test will give you some idea of how Honey does at night.

P.S. Have you thought about switching to a human meter? Most of us here use human meters and you will find that the strips are so much less expensive than Alpha Trak strips.
 
Thanks.

Was planning to get a night reading when I get her back on normal shot times.

I’m happy with the AT meter and got it before I knew about people using human meters. I also use Insulinx strips which are about $40 for 100 and compare to AT strips for control purposes to ensure code is right for current batch. Current AT vial is within 3-5 point difference of FS strips.
 
Getting ready to shoot and she has come down quite a bit in last day on higher dose. 241 PMPS, maybe not full PM dose tonight?
 
I'd stick with the 0.5u dose for now and get a +2 or +3 before bed to see what Honey is up to tonight. No need to change dose because of lower pre-shot number. Honey is still running in higher than desirable numbers.
 
Concerned because her PMPS is lower than mid day, usually same as mid day, numbers have gone down rapidly last day since starting higher dose. Absolutely cannot handle any emergencies right now.
 
I agree with @MrWorfMen's Mom. I would stick with the same dose of 0.5 Unit and get a +2 and a +4.
You don't seem to have any testing in the PM cycle. Cats often drop lower at night so readings from the PM cycle are very important for collecting data
 
Just the rapid decline in numbers over a day or two, would feel better if more gradual over the week, this is only 3rd cycle on higher dose
 
Honey is responding to the increase in dose which is what we would expect. I don't think her numbers have had a rapid decline. If you are testing you are in control. Do you have honey and higher carb food if needed?
She is safe in numbers above 68. That is the number you would take action to raise the BSL.
But in saying all that, Honey is your cat, and you must do what you feel comfortable in doing. We can only suggest things.
 
Hi there, I know it can be very stressful seeing lower numbers, but you shot a 266 on the am of 18 Mar which isn't that different than 241 taking into consideration meter variance. How is Honey doing? Is her appetite good? I'd suggest 0.5u too as already said by Linda and Bron.

It is for sure up to you, but if you have test strips, have some higher carb food and are comfortable, I'll be around to help if you need it. testing at +2 will help see where she might go. But you hold the syringe :bighug:
 
I just retested and got a 400 30 minutes after my PMPS so one of those strips is off, I’ll shoot the .5 and check her in 2 hours. Thanks.
 
I just retested and got a 400 30 minutes after my PMPS so one of those strips is off, I’ll shoot the .5 and check her in 2 hours. Thanks.
It is scary in the beginning. I remember when Sheba was in high numbers, I longed for low numbers, and when they appeared I was scared. But you will get used to lower numbers once you are collecting more data and can see how Honey handles the lower numbers and the insulin.
She could have shot up to 400 in that half hour, especially if she is bouncing from the 241, which is a lower number than she has been in for a while.
 
Ok, thanks. I could not shoot her normal spot on her side just now because she jumped this morning and I think that spot is sore from needle, she normally does not feel it. I had a small patch shaved there because her fur is 3 inches long so I can see it is actually going in. Had to shoot between her shoulder blades into a mess of fur, hopefully it all went in..then putting cap on syringe and pushing it on, needle came through orange cap out the side and stabbed me, lovely. Good FIV does not transmit to humans, I need a drink I think..

Thanks all, my life is in the toilet right now, can’t handle any more catastrophes..
 
Deep Breathes. You gave Honey her insulin and you are in no danger from stabbing yourself with the needle so all is good. Grab some wine or some chocolate and give yourself a treat. You earned it. Those lower numbers are scary as Bron said but with time you will get more comfortable with them.
 
I stabbed myself too a few times, once I tried to put the end cap back on top of the needle :rolleyes:, and more recently somehow when I put the orange cap back on, the needle went sideways into my finger! So much for being "experienced" lol...after 2 years, I still have ups and downs... you are doing amazing, just take it one day at a time :bighug:
 
I stabbed myself too a few times, once I tried to put the end cap back on top of the needle :rolleyes:, and more recently somehow when I put the orange cap back on, the needle went sideways into my finger! So much for being "experienced" lol...after 2 years, I still have ups and downs... you are doing amazing, just take it one day at a time :bighug:
Exactly what happened with my cap, needle came out sideways, I will have to call Monoject and ask for some coupons, lol

She is eating, will need to delay next test, will test at +3 pm shot.
 
Back up to 384 at +3, but had a lot of food 2 hours ago, thanks again. She is acting a little funny though, following me, usually just goes to sleep after eating, I’ll set alarm for a couple hours.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top