3/19 Gobbles PMPS 270 +4 448 +9 334

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
4th cycle on decrease (from .5 to .25f). AMBG 387. Move back up to last dose? He was pink throughout the night.

Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91208&p=977771#p977771

Gobbles woke me up in a good kissy/purry mood. He appears to have been bouncing his last 3 cycles from his dose decrease on 3/17 AM Cycle (from .50 to .25f). Hopefully, he'll come down today! I'd be happy if he decided to don his swin trunks and hang out at the pool. He ate last night and this morning, but not as well as I would have liked him to. Good news is that I've seen no diarrhea in his LB since yesterday morning. Hopefully his appetite increases a bit today. Big pee clump (not shocked; due to high numbers) in his LB & normal poo.

We still need $695 in raffle ticket sales to reach our goal of $1,000. There are only 20 days left to meet that goal. Please consider buying a ticket(s) soon. The tickets are so reasonably priced and the prizes are awesome! You can buy one ticket for only $2, 3/$5, 7/$10, 15/$15 or 25/$20. Ticket Sales end on 4/7/13.

Direct link to FDMB BASKET RAFFLE FUNDRAISER for more information and ticket purchase. There are links in that post to see pictures of all the fabulous prizes: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90614
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMBG 387 ? dose

It looks like on your spreadsheet that you already shot.
From your PM, you were thinking about shooting early, too, by 30 minutes.
It looks to me like he is still bouncing hard from that 38. I would shoot early, and not increase the insulin, yet.
If you shoot early and increase the dose, that's like a double increase, kind of.

Hopefully, he'll be done with his bounce by tonight, and then if you want you can increase his insulin then, but ask for other opinions first.
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMBG 387 ? dose

Dyana said:
It looks like on your spreadsheet that you already shot.
From your PM, you were thinking about shooting early, too, by 30 minutes.
It looks to me like he is still bouncing hard from that 38. I would shoot early, and not increase the insulin, yet.
If you shoot early and increase the dose, that's like a double increase, kind of.

Hopefully, he'll be done with his bounce by tonight, and then if you want you can increase his insulin then, but ask for other opinions first.
No, I didn't shoot yet, my bad. OK, I wasn't sure and thought kind of the same (about a double increase) but wasn't sure if I should increase. Of course, I'm sure you can tell that I'm just not liking those high numbers. I'll go with the same dose and hopefully he decides to take a dip in the pond than a trot through the pasture... I really appreciate your opinion Dyana :-D
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387

Morning Kat! ~O) ~O) Dear Mr Gobbles.....please come down at least to swim today! :razz: PS, please invite Sabrina to join you..... haha_smiley Have a wonderful day! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387

Hi, Kat, I hope Gobbles comes down a little for you today. Think green, Gobbles! (Safely, of course!)

Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMBG 387 ? dose

Dyana said:
Hopefully, he'll be done with his bounce by tonight, and then if you want you can increase his insulin then, but ask for other opinions first.
I surely will :) Thanks Dyana ~O) I hope you have a wonderful, productive & "smooth sailing" day at work! Again, I applaud you for all the time you freely give to everyone; you truly are appreciated and the endless help you give to Gobbles & I is priceless cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293

Hi guys .. well you're headed in the right direction gobbles .. just need to keep heading down .. glad to hear the LB is looking better too .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Well, its 7.5 hours past his AM shot and he's back in the 300s. He had a dose decrease on 3/17 AM Cycle due to a BG of 38 during his 3/16 PM Cycle. His current dose went from .5 to .25f. I am thinking I might increase him back up to .5 for his PM dosing tonight. One thing though: I moved his shot time 1/2 hour earlier today and another 1/2 hour earlier yesterday; so he's an hour earlier than he was on 3/17.

For all I know, he could have been flat pink all day (meter variance)....

In your opinion, if Gobbles was your cat, and yellow/pink/red/black at PMPS, what might you do?
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Hard to guess, Kat, because this sort of "pattern" hasn't happened before. He's been steadily coming down in dose, so you have to go back pretty far to see how his cycles looked when you were on the way up the dosing scale. And he's not the "same cat" he was back then...

It looks like the last time he bounced, a few days ago, it cleared in three cycles and then he dove down to the 38 that seems to have caused this bounce. I think I'd either go back to .5u tonight, or consider it in the morning if he's still in the pinks? It depends on whether you'd rather watch him closely during the daylight or the moonlight hours. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Carl & Bob said:
Hard to guess, Kat, because this sort of "pattern" hasn't happened before. He's been steadily coming down in dose, so you have to go back pretty far to see how his cycles looked when you were on the way up the dosing scale. And he's not the "same cat" he was back then...

It looks like the last time he bounced, a few days ago, it cleared in three cycles and then he dove down to the 38 that seems to have caused this bounce. I think I'd either go back to .5u tonight, or consider it in the morning if he's still in the pinks? It depends on whether you'd rather watch him closely during the daylight or the moonlight hours. ;-)

Carl
Hmmm....good advice! I was just "telling" one our newest Lantus TRP sugar-mamas about the all-nighter back on 2/24 where my face basically landed on the keyboard and I slept for an hour at 3 am in the morning (that'd be the night Gobbles ate about a pound of lunchmeat... :lol: --you may recall it as you/Sienne/Marje/Debbie helped me & Gobbles). DH & I had planned on going to the Homer Laughlin/Fiesta factory in WV tomorrow, so tonight might be the time & place if I choose to increase. I just really hate to see him high...but then might risk a huge nosedive (what to do, what to do, what to do).... It is easier to watch him in the daylight, to be sure... Thanks for your input; I really appreciate it, really.
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Not to make your decision more difficult....but....there's no way of knowing if he'll react on the first cycle after an increase, or maybe not until the 2nd or 3rd cycle afterwards.

I don't really have a complete understanding of the "Depot" concept, so bear with me. And hopefully someone else can help if I'm way off base.

IF the higher numbers right now are just due to Gobbles needing more insulin, then it seems to me...

I understand that when you shoot Lantus, part of the dose gets used "right away", and part of the dose goes to the depot for use later, as his body needs it. And the depot will adjust to a certain level, depending on how much insulin he needs? So if the highs he's having now are due to "I need more juice", then if you increase the dose, a greater amount of the dose will be used "now" rather than later? If that is the case, then I would expect you to see the results of an increase (especially with this low a dose) more quickly than if say you were increasing from 2.5u to 2.75u (because the percentage of the increase at tiny doses is much greater - you're basically doubling the dose going from .25 to .5u).

Is there anything to this logic, y'all?

Carl
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

[quote="Carl & Bob"Is there anything to this logic, y'all?

Carl[/quote]The Insulin Depot is one of life's greatest mysteries to me. I just can't wrap my mind around it. I have read and re-read your response here. It hasn't sunk in yet; just a little dribble... We are getting ready to eat fettucine/meatballs/sauce/bread/salad, so I'm going to re-read that after I eat; perhaps the food will perk up my brain a little....
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Being a cat, he's going to do what he's going to do tomorrow night.
Normally, we would say to wait the 3 days (72 hours) to wait out the bounce, but if you want to increase tonight (rather than tomorrow morning), I would go for it, so you have tomorrow during the day to monitor him.

That's my opinion.
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Dyana said:
Being a cat, he's going to do what he's going to do tomorrow night.
Normally, we would say to wait the 3 days (72 hours) to wait out the bounce, but if you want to increase tonight (rather than tomorrow morning), I would go for it, so you have tomorrow during the day to monitor him.

That's my opinion.
Thanks for the opinion. I plan on being gone tomorrow from about his +4 to +7, maybe, unless the weather gets crappy here--good chance it might, being spring in Ohio!!!
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Let us know what you decide to do and what the +12 is.
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

pmbg +12 270 -- maybe to be safe, i should stay at .25f..he could be falling from amps...maybe
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

I would stick with the .25u tonight.

My thinking is that this might be the "flat before the drop". And if you increase, you won't know if this dose has decided to work, or a drop would have been caused by a higher dose.
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles AMPS 387 +4 293 +7.5 302 ? tonights dosing

Carl & Bob said:
I would stick with the .25u tonight.

My thinking is that this might be the "flat before the drop". And if you increase, you won't know if this dose has decided to work, or a drop would have been caused by a higher dose.
I just refreshed before getting ready to update the subject line...yes, that is what I did. Just in case. I had the syringe filled with .5, but then thought twice, and took it down to .25f :-D
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles PMPS 270

So you went with your gut? Awesome! In my months of reading here, the gut is right a heck of a lot more often than it is wrong. ;-)
 
Re: 3/19 Gobbles PMPS 270

Carl & Bob said:
So you went with your gut? Awesome! In my months of reading here, the gut is right a heck of a lot more often than it is wrong. ;-)
Thank you Carl. Yeah, I thought it best. And even if I should of increased, there's always tomorrow...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top