3/19 Frank AMPS 375, PMPS 149 +3 254

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375 Dental Question

Reading other threads leads me to a question......about dental vet visits. A poster is going for a dental today. From how she words her post, It seems like her cat isn't allowed to eat before the dental. Is this true? No insulin and no food? Frank needs a dental I am pretty sure. His breath has been yukky for a while. He has been eating wet food for about a year now, maybe more. My vet told me that Frank would need to be regulated to have a dental...this must be why?

Wow, if this is true..no insulin. This would surely throw Frank's BGs off for a long time.....ugh!
 
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375 Dental Question

Hi Delma

actually, dental's are a big occurrence in the board, tons of threads and info in the health forums (both of them) plus in here, you can collect a lot of info just by reading the dental threads, print stuff out, then when you have your own questions specifically for Frank, you do the same, start threads in health, and in here as part of your daily condo.

From what I understand, yes, no food and either no shot or a reduced shot. Give yourself plenty of time to collect your info and checklist if you plan to take Frank in for a dental.

Throw the BG off with no shot for dental? a little, but when you think about it - dentals actually can help improve numbers, often times dental infections can keep numbers high. No they dont have to be regulated to have a dental, as you can see lots of kitties here are not yet in remission and go for dentals. Ask questions, read thru the health forum threads anything that has dental in the subject line.
 
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375 Dental Question

Feeding and insulin before dentals is typically based on the vet's experience and when the dental will be done (e.g., early morning or after noon). My vet dose dentals in the afternoon and allows diabetic CATS to get /12 food and 1/2 insulin the morning of.
 
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375, +3 279 Dental Question

I believe the rule of thumb is much like what Larry suggested, although this may vary from vet to vet. No food for at least 12 hrs before any procedure involving anesthesia. This is true in people, as well. Anesthesia slows the GI track. Also, anesthesia lowers BG numbers. If you were to give a full dose insulin and then have anesthesia, there's the potential that BG could drop very low. This is the rationale for reducing skipping the dose.

There have been several members whose vets haven't wanted to do a dental until a cat is regulated. I agree with Ronnie -- it makes no sense. My vet did Gabby's dental a couple of months ago. Several of the people whose cats are having dentals today are not regulated.
 
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375, +3 279, +7.75 136 Drops too much?

wow, nice day for Frank...pink>yellow>blue I interpret this as a good day..right?..or are the drops too much?
 
Re: 3/19 Frank AMPS 375, +3 279, +7.75 136

thanks for the tips on dental. I don't look forward to it especially because Frank is a constipated cat..(he's on Miralax) and anesthesia clogs up the works....oh boy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top