3/19 Eeyore AMPS 547

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Eeyore

Member Since 2014
Good Morning everyone!

We are again sorry for our absence. Two days ago we had a 24-48 hour torrential downpour/storm and lightening struck our neighbors house and burnt it to the ground. Thankfully no one was hurt and because it was also a downpour and actually a flood warning the fire was more containable. We were in limbo of having to leave our own house and fortunately in the end it was okay to stay with just some minor damage the the siding. Although Eeyore and puppy Estes have been fine, I myself have been in and out and all over the place the last few days with helping the neighbors and and neighborhood.

Even though Eeyore has been safe in the house with life pretty much as usual maybe all the recent commotion has him more anxious or something because his numbers are all over the place! I just don't get it. We increased the dose to 1.50 on 3/13/14 and as expected he had two good days of lower numbers and then the NDW started and he went up, up, and away. I thought on 3/17/14 when I got a +3 of 196 that maybe the bounce had cleared but he has literally been dramatically up and down ever since. 100's early on and then all the way to 500's by the time for the PMPS. I did stop giving him a lunch time feeding (starting 3/14) and just portioned his food out for morning and night to see if maybe that meal before nadir time frame was messing things up. It seems that numbers have actually only gone up! I am still new to all of this but I do not see a pattern in him at all. Last night his PMPS was 588 which is taken at 8PM CT. So I checked him again at midnight +4 and then it read HI!! I wanted to wake up at 2 or 3am to check him again but must have inadvertently turned my alarm off. His AMPS was still high at 547 so my guess is he was just that way all night? Did the insulin even work at all? I was very meticulous in giving his does this morning to make sure that I was in fact shooting it into his skin, and here we are at +3 and he is still rather high at 487. I know we are a few hours from nadir but the past two days he has already been down in the 100's by now. So I'm not sure if I should assume he is over the wonkiness and now needs yet ANOTHER dose increase. :-|

Previous Posthttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115303

Also I have a random question, how do I get my previous post links to say "previous post" and those words be the hyperlink. I have noticed many of you have it that way but I'm afraid mine just as the long url pasted
 

Attachments

  • house fire.jpg
    house fire.jpg
    41.1 KB · Views: 173
Yikes, what a scary time with the lightning and fire so close! Good to hear that you and the furkids are all OK.

Melanie - you might want to read the post on New Dose Wonkiness. The second post in that is on bouncing - and it looks like Eeyore is an expert at that. :roll: Here is an important quote on NDW:
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours.
Note that it does not last long. I think what you are seeing is bouncing from Eeyore. Bouncing can take up to 6 cycles to clear, although Eeyore seems to be taking 5 cycles.

On the morning of March 13, Eeyore saw some nice low numbers during the day. We don't know what he did that night, because you didn't get a second test. It's very important to get at least one other test during the cycle so we can figure out what happened. The next day on the 14th, Eeyore again saw nice greens and by then his liver decided it had enough and it was time to bounce. For 5 cycles starting the night of the 14th, Eeyore bounced. He tried clearing the bounce on the 17th and 18th days but seems to be back in bounce mode again.

I think you've got room to increase the dose by .25U. Again from the protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
His nadirs are less than 200.

As for your last question on changing the link into words, let me see if I can explain it. You start by doing what you have been doing and with something that looks like: your link here. You then take the first "]" right square bracket and replace it with an "=" equals sign. Move to the end of your link and add back the "]" and immediately after that put the words you want to appear. It'll look something like: display these words. You can do the same thing with the link to Eeyore's SS that is in your signature.
 
I agree -- Eeyore is bouncing. With the AMPS of 547, it's possible he could bounce off of the 200+ point drop at +6. It's frustrating but it will slow down.

Let me see if I can do a step-by-step for the hyperlink:
 
Hi Melanie,

I'm so sorry that Eeyore is bouncing. I know how frustrating that is - Jersey is a bouncy cat, too. When we first started, I sat and stared at the SS for hours at a time trying to figure out what I was doing wrong. Were they fur shots? Did I even have any insulin in the needle? People kept telling me to be patient - and actually still have to tell me that. (Patience is not one of my virtues! :-D ) It's so hard to be patient; we just want to fix our kitties now.

It looks like you and I actually started using Lantus at about the same time. Your SS also looks a lot like mine does, too. We can't both be doing this wrong, right??? :lol:

I have absolutely no advice for you on dosing, bouncing, etc. I just wanted to let you know that you aren't alone. Maybe knowing that will make you feel just a little bit better.

I hope Eeyore breaks the bounce soon!
Shelly
 
Hi Melanie,
Eeyore is bouncing, but I think that the fire and the commotion could also be affecting his numbers. Cats are used to their routines and they pick up on things that are different in their lives and also in the lives of their people. When your own routine begins to get back to normal, Eeyore may have better numbers. ("may")!
We are very sorry to hear about the fire, but relieved that your neighbors were not injured.

Don't worry about your kitty.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top