3/19 CRYSTAL AMPS 167 + 10 153 PMPS 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday


Not much to report on Crystal today, good numbers, eating well, generally good in herself and no sign of the constipation. Gave her dose a little tweak by 1u to see what happens at 45u, which is the dose she saw green with, but with a PJ party as well, so paws crossed she just slides in and doesn't dive in!

Popped into the pharmacy this afternoon for some more Lev (we are going through a box of 5 pens in about 15 days!:eek:) and asked about coconut oil and pharmaceutical olive oil, neither of which they had. The pharmacist looked up in her veterinary bible about cat constipation and suggested paraffin oil - I'm not sure about this, I didn't buy it, she gave it to me free but I think I read somewhere that it's not good to use? It's what the French give their babies for constipation. It has no smell and no taste and is 100% pure. Any thoughts anyone. I'm still going to try for the coconut oil in the bio shop tomorrow.

Just realised I left the cap off the test strips at +10 and now they aren't giving a true reading, damm, nearly 50 strips damaged :banghead: I need a glass of wine .....
 
She's looking good Suki - I think since she's staying in the mid blues, I'd be inclined to bump up more than 1u if you can be around to keep an eye on her. 1u increase at your dose is not even 2.5% increase - a drop in the bucket compared to the 20-25% increases.

For constipation, Miralax worked best on Grayson. 1/4 tsp BID in wet food. No taste, no aversion to food with it in, and very effective. We also tried Lactulose (he fought it, it was sticky/messy), and pumpkin in his food. Miralax was easiest.
 
Good luck with the increase tweak. Now you get to see if a small change like that makes a difference. It's all about experimenting. The last time she was at this dose she was breaking a bounce which adds downward momentum and may have skewed the numbers. And it was almost two weeks ago. What a cat needs now can be different from two weeks ago.

Bummer on the test strips. Did you test one on yourself to see if they are in fact ruined? I've left the lid open on a container of test strips before with no harm, as long as they don't get damp.
 
@Grayson & Lu,
Lu-Ann I take your point, i know the 1u is a measly amount, I suppose I was just being rather cautious in the light of how she reacted before, I don't think I have the energy for an all night session. She has been doing so well lately on this dose, I don't t think we can be far off from getting it right.
Wendy, thanks for looking in as well. The damaged strips read "control solution" on the meter, I tested again immediately with a new box of strips and got a higher number, about 1.3 variance. They certainly didn't get damp but don't seem to react well to air getting to them, really annoying as its the second time this has happened. Must pay more attention in future! She's at 228 at +4.5 so going up quite a bit tonight.
 
When you're at a higher dose, 1u can have the effect of skinnying or fattening the dose. I think that's fine to see what happens when you are close to where you want to be and just wanting to tweak it a little bit. After a few cycles at this dose, it'll let you know if that size of a change moves the range at all.

sorry about your strips - that kind of thing made me absolutely crazy! As though the whole thing isn't expensive enough! I was wailing to a friend about something i'd done like that and he said "it sure is inconvenient being human, isn't it?" hahahahha made me feel better, so i'll pass it on to you. :D
 
So glad that Crystal is doing so good. Hope your dose tweak Goes well for you. I hear you on those all night sessions.
 
Oh dear Suki, that bites on the bottle of test strips! :( Good luck with the dosecrease(and yes to getting a good night's sleept!)

p.s.Have you tried looking for coconut oil in your grocery store? It is in all the grocery stores and health food stores over here? Parrafin oil is the same as mineral oil, not recommended for constipation- good catch on your part!
 
Hi Peg and Ruth, well she's at 212 at +6 so i'm off to my bed, can't keep my eyes open any longer. Let you know tomorrow how the coconut oil hunt goes, thanks for confirming about the paraffin oil.
 
Oops - I may not have been clear enough... I ONLY meant to increase if you could be up to watch. A token dose and sleep sometimes have to trump an increase. Please don't think I want you to be reckless. You've got to take care of yourself in order to be able to help Crystal. And Crystal is looking VERY good! You've got great instincts!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top