3.19.15 Queenie +8 400 AMPS 437, +6 74, +8 57, +9 79, PMPS 277 Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-8-327-amps-285-7-476-11-446-pmps-406.134766/


Looking good this morning, very little water bowl activity overnight, up, bright and ready to greet me this am. Starting to get bored with the prescription food, but that's OK, I'm planning to switch her over to low carb brands recommended here on the forum.

Question about "gravy", what brands are good for that? Specifically the ones used to help bump up a low BG number?
 
Last edited:
Just tested a very lively Queenie at 67 and 74 at +6. I've been gone most of the day and there is evidence she was playing in the water bowl. otherwise she seems just fine for now.
Picked up some Fancy Feast. Think I'll have some myself right now, see if it makes me feel better hahahaha! @Chris & China and @julie & punkin (ga) did you see this? I'm home all night and all day tomorrow.
 
Nice nadirs today Queenie! :D

I switched from Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers as HC to Merck Cowboy Cookout. The Fancy Feast has wheat in it and Neko's system doesn't respond all that well to wheat/gluten. The carbs in Cowboy Cookout are potatoes and seem to work as well or faster for Neko. The down side is that there isn't as much gravy. The Gravy Lovers was very easy to get the gravy out.
 
i bought the friskies gravy because they were over 25% in carbs, which at the time was more than the FF that were available. The downside is that it's a huge can and unless you have a civvie (non-diabetic cat) you can end up throwing some away.

Something to note - Queenie cleared that bounce in just 2 days.

Also, as you are switching her food from a higher carb to a lower, and especially if you are getting rid of the dry food (which would be a good thing - am i remembering right that you sometimes give her dry?) her blood sugar range may decrease and you may need to decrease her dose in response. I would just test a little more often to catch if she goes below 50 so you can reduce her dose at that time.
 
Thanks Ladies! I am vowing no more of the DM dry and have not given it since right before she bounced because I was a little panic-y. The low I am seeing today she is much more energetic than 2 days ago. Currently I am just adding some canned chicken to the DM wet to keep her interested, she also likes the nutritional yeast and fish flakes so I use them to bribe her (I also got some dehydrated chicken which she thinks it terrific with a capital T!!!). I need to look over the info on the low carb canned foods and read through comments before I make my shopping list. I have plenty of civvies who are only to happy with left overs :-) I will test again at +8 unless you don't think that's safe. She ate a good bit just now when I got home and I'm letting her bowl be empty til later. I usually feed the rest of the crew in the evenings between 8 & 9. Doing her shot around midnight is working out better than I thought it would, I have no trouble with the timing, it keeps me from having too much going on at the "regular" mealtime when I do meds for others. So I'm hoping I can get her on a 4 x a day feeding schedule eventually.
 
I would just test a little more often to catch if she goes below 50 so you can reduce her dose at that time.[/QUOTE said:
So Julie, are you saying that I don't do any dose if she falls below 50? What if she has no symptoms of Hypoglycemia? Do I just wait til her numbers come back up and then does, give a smaller dose or skip it? Can you clarify? If she has symptoms and I give gravy or syrup then what? Is there a link you want to send me to?
 
ergh, and i gave you the 50 for Tight Reg, instead of 90 that you need for SLGS. If all the dry food is gone and staying gone, you can follow Tight Reg. It's become very confusing since we now have 2 dosing methods in this insulin support group - we used to just have one. Sorry about that.

The process is that you hold a dose for about 3 days (tight reg protocol) or one week (SLGS method) and then re-evaluate it. How do most of the nadirs compare to the guidelines? If the nadirs are higher than you want then you increase the dose.

At any point in the process, if the cat drops below 50 (TR) or 90 (SLGS) on a human meter, then you reduce the dose by 0.25u.

Most of the time the low point is likely to fall somewhere in the middle of the cycle. Sometimes it does occur at the end of the cycle. If you are faced with a low number at preshot you're better off skipping at this point. You don't really have the data (tests and enough history to see patterns) to be able to "shoot low." You do want to work towards that point - shooting low means giving the full dose into normal numbers (50-120 on a human glucometer.) Lantus works best when it's given a lower range to work in - it can hold the blood sugar completely flat, so it might only move 10 points or less over 12 hours when it starts with a lower number.

That's a goal for you to work towards. At this point, it's good for you to holler and ask for help if you're coming up on shot time and have a lower number. Or if you check the ps and it's lower than you've shot before, post and ask for help figuring out how to proceed. You want someone helping you make that decision until you get the hang of things.

While you are waiting for help don't feed Queenie unless she is under 40. Just let her wait until you know how to proceed.
 
[QUOTE="

While you are waiting for help don't feed Queenie unless she is under 40. Just let her wait until you know how to proceed.[/QUOTE]


OK, I will keep a close eye on her and post as I go. I stopped the dry food about 48 hours ago. Will not give it again. I am hoping that I have no where to go for the next 4 full days (emergencies only in other words)
 
You don't need to tag me - we encourage people to put questions in their subject line, and if you keep the numbers updated (you can always clear out old ones) then lots of people will be able to see what you've got going on. If you want someone to answer a question based upon something they said, of course, it's fine to tag someone. I don't mean to say it's a problem, it's just that you don't need to on a regular basis. Tagging one person might keep someone who is equally qualified to give an answer, from answering. Although the custom here is mostly anyone who knows the answer will give it. You never know when a person will be back to answer.

Most of us get online when we can and scan the subject lines to see if anyone needs help - even if they don't realize it! ;)

I think you can wait to test again until pmps.
 
As long as you think that 141 was a good test, I think you are fine letting her go until PMPS.

I do get an alert that you tagged me, but of course I only see it if I'm logged on. If you go to the main Forums page, you can see who is logged on at any given time. Putting the question with ?? in the subject line might be a faster way to get noticed as Julie mentions.
 
Before the first of this year when we landed on this website, FDMB had a feature with a ? that allowed people to add a question mark next to their post. Most people who help out would scan for those question marks first when they logged on. Adding a ? or "advice please" or "question" or "shooot?" are all good ways to catch the eye of an experienced person.
 
Thanks! Just trying to be considerate and follow the rules. theses tips will help a lot. And Yes I think she had a pretty good day.
 
So do you think I should get up in 2 hours and check her?

Oh good grief!! I just discovered that she dug a foil pouch out of the trash and probably got hold of some "gravy". Today when I bought the Fancy Feast stuff they were giving away Fancy Feast "Broths". I gave it to one of the other kitties and thoughtlessly threw the empty foil wrapper in the kitchen trash. She's been alone in the kitchen for about 2 hours.....(Did I mention that Queenie has lived most of her life outside?). I doubt there was even a teaspoon of leftover gravy in there, but it lists potato starch, wheat starch and sugar among the ingredients.

Til now I've not had her dig in the trash at all so it just didn't occur to me to be that cautious.....
Sigh!
 
Last edited:
I would plan on getting at least the +2

She may have plans to go lower again or she may bounce high, but that'll help determine which

Yeah...if there's high carb goodies in the house, they'll find them!!! Bad Queenie!!
 
OK, and if it's low at 1:15 AM then how long before another recheck? Didn't you tell me around +6 or +7? And if it's sky high then we're seeing another bounce or there was more gravy on that foil than I thought!
 
it would depend on how low

Remember the "+2 rule" (which isn't a rule, but we see it a lot...ECID!)

If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, it's usually a "normal" cycle, where they gradually go down, then gradually go back up to the next pre-shot

If the +2 is lower than the PS, that can mean they're going to continue to drop too quickly, so it's important to plan on getting more tests in later in the cycle

If the +2 is higher than the PS, it can mean they're starting a bounce, and that's when it's usually OK to take a pokey break
 
If she's significantly higher at your next test, you probably don't need a mid cycle test. You might want to put a note about the gravy raid on your spreadsheet remarks, so people can see why she might have higher numbers. Resourceful little cat. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top