3/18 Shishi PMPS 309 consistant yellows, some pinks

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38719

Recap

Shishi had a pancreatitis attack, fed diet of 100% baby food (pureed turkey and turkey broth), pepcid with morning meals, zeniquin with night meals, bupe as needed. I am now slowly transitioning her back to 100% cat food.

I am also changing her diet to below 40% fat from calories, due to the pancreatitis, she was on wellness chicken before which was 66% fat. I am now switching to merricks grammy's pot pie and fancy feast elegant medley turkey 75/25 mix. might consider raw diets, but need to ask vet.

Had a food fight with the vet, he insisted to put her back on science diet M/D and said I cannot feed baby food or other brands. I don't want to feed M/D due to the lesser quality ingredients. He said prescription food is proper diet and can be used to rule out other diseases that might be caused by food.

Shishi is feeling better now, well hydrated, and finishing 100% of meals. But BG is out of control.

Shishi's been constantly surfing in the yellows, and recently in the pinks. not really sure whats going on.

Purring- she purrs now in the morning when I feed her, but not anytime else.
Peeing - has returned to normal amounts
pooping- some diarrhea recently and sometimes formed.
preening- she still only grooms after meals, coat still full of dandruff.
playing - she doesn't play anymore, normal for her since diabetes.

Would like some help to help regulate the BG or to solve the mystery of the constant yellows. Have not tested for acro or IAA but vet mentioned that since she responds to insulin, it should not be a resistance. But lately I just don't know anymore.
 
hi Will,

the food fight is a hard one to go through with vets. Some of them are absolutely committed to their beliefs that prescription foods are needed in many situations. What you probably need to do is search around this site and the internet and find studies that support high protein/low carb (and high quality) diets for cats. Possibly if you took him some peer-reviewed scientific studies, he might pay attention. He might not. Shishi is your cat and in the end, you can feed her whatever you feel is right. My vet actually recommends the EVO 95% canned food for almost every cat. She recommends it for my diabetics AND for my cat with food allergies.

About the numbers, Shishi was doing well on higher doses of insulin. It just looks like she lost some momentum when she was sick and her dose was lowered. I would just keep increasing the dose according to protocol until you get back to a dose that works for her. Don't be surprised if she ends up needing a bit higher dose than the 5-6 units she was on before. Often when they lose momentum, they have to climb back up to the same dose or a little more to get another breakthrough. She'll get there. If she still has pain, that can be affecting the numbers too.
 
This is a link to a clinical roundtable by vets who are experts on pancreatitis. There are 2 sections on diet -- one on p.4 and one on p.12. Basically, the fat content of a diet or issues around low residue if your cat isn't using a feeding tube have little support in the literature. (Low fat is more important for dogs.) None of these vets say a word about prescription diets. You might want to suggest your vet take a look at Lisa Pierson, DVM's site on feline nutrition. Dr. Lisa isn't a big fan of prescription food due to the poor quality of the ingredients.
 
Hi, Will...

good to see you!

no valuable input from me...but the wise ones got you.

just stopping in to send hopes for better days for Shishi...

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top