3/18 SCRABBLE PMPS 121 +2 152 +3 136

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 DOSE???

IMHO I would shoot the full dose since you are home to test. Scrabble may be going for a reduction or he may surf the day away. This is a good day to collect date on shooting low? Are you up for it....have hc food and lots of strips?
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 DOSE???

Ok I will be brave and shoot the full dose, I have shot close to this number before so I don't feel too bad. When do we decide if he needs a dose reduction?
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 DOSE???

He gets a reduction if he goes below 50. I will be in and out today so I won't be able to check in as often but I am sure others will be around. I will be home for another couple of hours.
You will do just fine. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 DOSE???

Thanks Miriam your the best!!! Gulp, below 50? scary!!!!! I am just so happy he is doing so well!!! I am keeping my fingers and paws crossed for a dosecrease! :-D
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

Michelle remember......YOU are in control. As long as you have hc you can control the numbers. If he is in the 50's you can give lc. If he goes below you can mix a little gravy with your lc.....but only feed a few spoonfuls at a time. You do not want Scrabble to get too full in case you need to feed through the cycle.
You may not have to do this but I just want to give you some guidelines in case I am not around or you don't get another response right away.
Pretty soon you will be a pro at this and not blink any eye about shooting green. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

Thanks again Miriam! This is such an exciting time for us and scary too!!! I am just so glad he has turned the corner in the last week!!! I can tell he is feeling so much better! He ate a lot of breakfast this morning and of course had his chicken treats after his shot. He has been so ansy lately when I give him his shot, he tries to bite the syringe! I have to distract him and give the shot quick! It sucks that I have to work and can't test much at night because he could go below 50 and I wouldn't even know!!! Well hoping for a good green day today! Hoping I maybe can get some much needed sleep after my very busy night at work but I will stay up to test +1.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

Good Morning, I'm guessing you've shot already. Tess made me move back the other day too. Lovely green AMPS. You will soon be getting greedy about seeing these numbers. Scrabble will do fine today, you will be there for him. Be sure to tell him what a good boy he is for giving green. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

Hi Michelle
So Scrabble is giving you another exciting day at shooting.
Yesterday was terrific. Hope you will be able to get naps in between today.
This is what I do for Max when his numbers start getting lower.
50 and above, I feed LC
In the 40's MC which I do 2tsp of LC and some gravy
under 40, HC - gravy mostly. test 15 minutes.
The trick will be as Miriam said, not too much food at a given time so if you need to keep
feeding Scrabble won't get too full.
It's great that you will be home to test, Data is so important in getting their doses reduced.
And do not get scared if the numbers drop. As Miriam said, you are always in control.
The other day my Max hit 29. he was perfectly fine, I was the nut case.
Another hint I did was to prepare a little plastic container of only gravy and keep it in the fridge. ( use a little strainer)
This way when the numbers do get lower and panic does set in, you are not "scrambling" to try and get the gravy from the can, it's already ready.
Go have a look at Max's ss and you will see what we have been going through.
Good luck with today. It is very exciting.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

Hi Randi and Tess
Yes Tess I shot the full dose already, wow Randi was just looking at your ss you are doing so well! I am feeling Scrabble is going to need a dosecrease soon! Wow a 29 huh? I panicked last night @ a 63!!! I don't know what I would do with that kind of number! Thanks for all the info on the food stuff, I will probably need to be told again because I will probably panic! Naps seem to be my life lately, I can't remember the last time I slept for more than 3 hours. My hubby thinks I have lost it! Hahah!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96

No panic Michelle :-D
These are great times. I don't sleep too much anymore.

As long as you have a great stock of strips and HC food, you will do great.
Now I would test at +1 and see where Scrabble goes. Knowing me I would be testing every hour, but you will see how the day progresses.
Just remember if and when the numbers get low, small amount of food at a time. I keep a measuring spoon set in my plastic container of high carb food so it is handy.
Prepare gravy for the fridge when you have a chance. I never thought Max would need it so when it happened I froze. Now I am relaxed and organised.

Great start to the day!!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1 61???

Michelle I am keeping an eye on you but I have to go get ready....I have to go out in an hour.
Randi is a pro at this.....so if she is around maybe she can keep an eye on you too. I am sure the west coast will be getting up soon. :-D

This is a pretty good drop in an hour so I think since you are new at this I would test again at +1.5 to see if Scrabble is still dropping.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1 61???

Thanks Miriam for being here, I understand life calls!!! I am shocked he dropped that much in an hour especially with food! Ugh! I will test in a half hour again to see if he is dropping. Anyone have any thoughts or advice?
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1 61???

I will still be here when you retest...remember this is all good. A lot of hard work and sleepless nights (days for you) right now and the payoff will come.
Remember to relax.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1 61???

Michelle, yes that drop sometimes happens, I never understood either.
I agree with Miriam and get a 1.5 and see where that goes.

How much did Scrabble eat for breakfast?? Did he finish it all? Do a +1.5.
Also you will need to do some magic with your ss so it can be followed by others.
Have a look at what I do when tests are not in the hour.
So for your +1.5, go in your +1 box, you will type, 61, new number, @ 1.5. Then you will need
to change the shading to green manually. If Scrabble hits in the 50s, feed LC and test again 15 if a low 50.
I am off to work now but I will be back online in half hour (I didn't even have a chance to open
Max's condo) I know how hard it is in the morning when you have to shoot and traffic is light.
Miriam has helped us too in the morning so not to worry.
Eyes will be on you.
The idea will be to get Scrabble to surf these nice green numbers.
Remember what was said at the beginning.
You are in control.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.5 55 still dropping!!

Michelle & Scrabble said:
+1.5 55 he is still dropping! Should I try to feed again!!??

Wow, Scrabble is having fun. I would feed 2tsp and test in 15.
How much did he eat for breakfast and was it his normal amount?
I will be back half hour.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.5 55 still dropping!!

You can feed a little lc now and test in 15 minutes. If he is still dropping you can add add a little bit of hc gravy to see if you can get Scrabble to surf since this is so early in the cycle. I will check back in a few.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.5 55 still dropping!!

Yeah he may be having fun but I am not! Just hand fed him some more of his breakfast(lc). He probably ate the normal amount this morning, hard to tell because I have 2 kitties and they eat together. Isn't it odd that he is dropping so much so early in they cycle??
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.75 41 still dropping!! help!

ok now I am freaking 1.75 is a 41 what? ok this means we officially earn a dosecrease right? I am going to go get some hc for him
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.75 41 still dropping!! help!

Feed some HC -- add some gravy on top of LC or just give a teaspoon or so of HC to bump Scrabble up and get him surfing.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.75 41 still dropping!! help!

just fed him a little hc, he scarfed it, is this weird to happen so early in the cycle? boy oh boy is Scrabble surprising me more each day! +2 will be in about 5 minutes
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.75 41 still dropping!! help!

Sometimes kitties drop early in the cycle. Not to noodle you, but having PM spot checks may give you some idea why you have low numbers in the AM.

General "rules", if you will:
  • numbers that are in the 50s or above, feed LC
  • numbers in the 40s feed MC (HC + LC = MC)
  • numbers below 40 feed HC
Don't feed massive quantities. You want to feed only a few bites -- a teaspoon or two. The idea isn't that this should be a meal even though dropping numbers make lots of kitties hungry. The idea is to feed a little bit to bump up numbers and get your cat surfing in the 50s or above.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +1.75 41 still dropping!! help!

Sienne, wish I could always test in the pm but I can only test when I have to be at work at a later time which is usually Thurs-Sat if you notice on my ss, usually on a Wed I am home to test til at least+4 but since it was St Patty's I had to be at work early. I am gone for 12 hours sometimes for work. I test as much as I can. Does this mean we get a dosecrease now???
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43!

It sure does mean you get a dosecrease!

It's early. I had a momentary brain lapse -- I knew you worked nights. If it's possible, get an 'in the door' test. It may give you some hunch as to where numbers will be at pre-shot.

I'm not around for that much longer so here's the scoop. These are low numbers for early in the cycle. Today's Lantus dose will start to kick in about now (+2). If it were me, I'd test again in 15 min. and give some more MC. I'd like to see Scrabble in the 50s or above. Where he's at isn't a bad place, I just want you to have some breathing room. Once he's in the 50s, test every 30 min. until you have 2 tests that are in the same range or the numbers are rising. You want to test frequently since low numbers this early on can bobble up and down. I don't want you to get surprised and panic. The frequent tests are both for your confidence and Scrabble's safety. You haven't done this a lot so it's a way for you to understand how Scrabble reacts and what his "signals" are.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43 eyes pls!

Thanks Sienne, I have never been this low so I am learning! Yay for a dosecrease!!! That is the best news. Just fed him so more high carb,(a small amt) gosh he is hungry! Will test again a few minutes
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43 eyes pls!

And while you're juggling with one hand, remember to keep your SS up to date. There will be others coming on line who can lend a hand and it will be easier for them to look at your SS than to track the numbers by reading through what's now a long condo!!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43 eyes pls!

Hi Michelle,

This is all good stuff! Try not to feel worried.

And congratulations on the dosecrease!

I used to put " either +2.25 or +2:15. Either way, I think, people will understand.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43 eyes pls!

Look at Gabby's SS. I put it in the appropriate hour block and use 1/4 hr (.25, .5, .75) increments. You will need to manually change the color of the block.

Remember that if you're giving MC/HC, you can just feed gravy so you don't fill Scrabble up. There could be more food in his immediate future and you don't want him to not eat or eat so much he barfs.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2 43 eyes pls!

ok I got it figured out (the ss), just gave him a couple licks of gravy, had such a busy night at work and I am so exhausted, hope I can sleep at some point before I have to go to work tonight! Scrabble's poor ears are red already, I feel so bad that I have to test him so much! Can I also give him a high carb treat or two instead of hc food?
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2.5 56 eyes pls!

Good morning Michelle!!

Wow Scrabble what another great morning!
You did great Michelle!!

if he's had enough of the HC food, and wont eat anything else then give the treat instead, what kind of treat is it?

but try to stick with the gravy HC or MC as much as you can.

hope you can get some sleep today, congrats on the testing and the new dose!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2.5 56 eyes pls!

Congrats on the decrease Michelle - I kind of thought this would happen but
sometimes you just have to do what you have to do.

You did great this morning, even though panic sets in and hopefully with the HC you have been giving, Scrabble will surf nice greens for you.
I know you work at nights but you should be able to get some rest today. (later, lol)
:RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2.5 56 eyes pls!

Hi Michelle, You're doing great! Congrats on the dosecrease. Scrabble will certainly have earned it (and so will you!). Try to snatch a bit of sleep once you're sure his numbers are stable or rising. Here's to a nice green surf today and the doscrease tonight!
Elle & Stu
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +2.5 56 eyes pls!

+3 55 thanks ladies yes I am so excited for a dosecrease!!!! the high carb treats I have are the whisker lickins tender moments chicken treats? he is happy to eat anything. Just gave him his fave protein chicken treats for being such a good boy!!! Poor guy! will see what he is @ 3.5 to see if he needs more hc
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +3 55 +3.5 53

+3.5 53 just gave him a little more hc gravy, poor boy is getting sick of being poked! Come on Scrabble go up a bit so Mom can get a few zzzzz's, I am so tired!!!!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +3 55 +4 53

+4 53 just gave him a little more hc food, he is ok where he is at? just scared for him!!! I want/need to sleep but need to keep testing!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +4.5 58

Wowee, looking good Scrabble!!

Now that he is back into the 50's, you can go back to LC or MC to keep him surfing. It's a-ok for him to be surfing the 50's.

Great job Michelle!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +4.5 58

Surfing the 50s is perfect! If Scrabble is still in the 50s or higher at +5, you can test at +6. If all is good then, go to sleep. Just leave food out.

So here's the deal....
Scrabble has earned that decrease. If you are exhausted and need to get to sleep, give him some HC/MC, leave a bunch of the same out, and go to sleep. You are aborting the cycle but the decrease has been earned. There are times when it's good to get your kitty surfing in these numbers since it promotes the healing of his pancreas but there are also times when you need to take care of yourself. Your falling asleep while driving to work would not be a good thing. It's your call.
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +4.5 58

+5 60 ok I am going to go to sleep for an hour and test again @ +6 and see where he is at. I am falling asleep typing right now. I worked a busy 10 hour shift and I am just so tired. Scrabble is so mad at me right now for poking him!!!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +5 60

Wow, I missed a lot this morning, but you had the smart guys there to help you. They are really great! :RAHCAT Way to go on the decrease! :RAHCAT

Scrabble will forgive the ear pricks, try some neosporin and/or vitamin E oil Believe it or not Tess actually lays down and starts to purr when we give her the tests now. She knows she gets treats!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +6 59 +8 62

+8 62 just fed him a little bit more food, he was hungry. I am so surprised he hasn't gone up much today. Guess no sleep for me again! An hour and a half is good right? LOL!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +9 71 question about pm dose?

+9 71, with food, I know it is a little early for pm dosing advice but just wanted to put it out there because it is only 3 hours away. I am so happy we earned our dosecrease!!! :-D but of course I am worried with such low numbers today what the heck I am going to shoot for tonight. I do work tonight, I do not have to leave until +3 so i can get a little testing in before I leave. Can't believe what a great green surf we have had today!!!!
 
Re: 3/18 SCRABBLE AMPS 96 +9 71 question about pm dose?

Hi Michelle.....I just got back. I see you had a very busy sleepless day...again.
I think he is fine if you want to sleep. You still have a couple of hours until PMPS which the numbers could change by then. Get a +11 and post for help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top