3/18 Rupert PMPS 417+3.5 219, +5.5, 100,+7.5 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66435&p=723044#p723044

yesterdays hideous numbers:

AMPS 397.8
+2.5 414
+6 464.4
+8 491.4
+10 570.6
PMPS 397.8
+ 4 460.8

I think the only reason he is in the pink this morning is because he hasn't eaten anything since last night. Tested him half an hour early because I'm up and couldn't sleep. He's having some EVO now and will get his shot in a few minutes. If I don't see any action by +6 today I"m getting new insulin..just to make myself feel better if nothing else.

On the up side, when I came down at 5:15 to check on everyone I couldn't find him... :shock: but he came stomping in when he saw the light on the deck. One happy, purry, active, hungry kitty. He looks great in the mornings and then gets a little ragged by the evening. His eye was weeping a little last night - wondering if residual infection from tooth, or perhaps a little pain?????? Will discuss with vet on Weds. Starting to second guess everything. Am I screwing up his shot?? have used the short needles the last few times, think this morning I'll shoot with the longer one again.. who knows. Course if I keep changing all the options I'll never know! Still.. it's frustrating and confusing to watch him have these inverse curves. Also confusing (but good) to see him *look* so healthy and happy in the mornings!

He's eaten about half of his breaky, and is hiding under the dining table right now. I'm gonna give him his shot in a few mins and go back to bed. If the dose increase is going to start working (IF the insulin is working) I expect to see SOMETHING by +6 today.... like I said, if no action, it's off to the pharmacy to drop another $120 on insulin. sigh.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert AMPS 374

Maybe he's still bouncing from those blues on 15/03 PM they can last 72 hours remember. I think you might need to slip into those pantience pants for a little bit longer Pip :smile: Hope the vet works out what's going on with his eye on Wednesday.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert AMPS 374

Pip --

I think you're seeing a couple of things here. There may be some new dose wonkiness (NDW) given the recent increase. Just to make you want to yank out your hair even more, there's still some bounce left after that blue on 3/15. Hopefully, both will begin to clear this evening.

Like I said yesterday, if you want to buy more insulin, it's not going to expire if it's properly stored in your refrigerator.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert AMPS 374,+3.5 360,+5.5 347

+5.5 and STILL hanging on to pink... I feel a little better. HEE looks fine. has been outside chasing Polly, sniffing around hubby's latest car project and generally checking his estate. He's having a tablespoon of EVO right now. Will test at around +8 and make decision re getting new insulin at that point. At least he's staying fairly level which either suggests the insulin is working.. OR there isn't any in there at all?!! Hoping for a yellow perhaps by +8. fingers crossed.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend, just got back in from working Harvey, and now Stu and I are about to take the old guys thru the park for a trail ride. The sun is actually shining! will be interesting to see how many trees came down in the park after the last big storm.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert AMPS 374,+3.5 360,+5.5 347,+6.5 390

ok, +6.5 and 390 (clining to pink)... essentially all the levels today have been within the 'variance' allowable for meters.. so it seems totally level.. and therefore nothing really happening. Going in to the pharmacy in half an hour to get new 'stuff'. We are in all night so I can monitor him to make sure he's doing okay. this could be NDW, or could still be bounce, but at least I'll fell less worried about the actual insulin itself. I have noticed he's a bit sneezy today.. hm? no wheezing, nasal discharge or anything like that, just a tad sneezy. Eyes seem quite good today, slight clear discharge this morning, nothing since. other than that, seems fine.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert AMPS 374,+3.5 360,+5.5 347,+6.5 390

yay.. fingers crossed.. I called pharmacy and they said bring in the old stuff and they'll replace it!!! wow.. I hope that works out to be true when we get there, that would be amazing customer service. they've refilled the prescription and made sure it was a different lot number. :cool:

eta: just got back.. brand new set of 5x3ml vials... replacement! wheee. excellent service. hopefully will make a difference.. if not, at least I'll feel like it's one more thing to eliminate.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417

so PMPS 417, in the pink all day with a sneak up at the end... dosed 2.25 with the new, and hopefully improved, insulin. Fingers crossed something starts happening soon.

Hope everyone has a great Sunday night.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417

Paws crossed for some better numbers. That's great that the pharmacy replaced the insulin for free.
Liz
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417

Good luck with the new insulin! Flat pink is better than skyrocketing...progress can be baby steps sometimes, especially with FD!

Have a good evening!!
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219

+3.5 and we have yellow! wheeee.... perhaps a little faster than I'd like but also, maybe, confirms my suspicions re the last batch of insulin? or he's simply FINALLY clearing a bounce. Let's hope he doesn't dive so much that he bounces yet again tomorrow!..... I wasn't going to test him until +4.5 but he got up and got on his testing chair and demanded some food so I think he's learning to feed the dives a little. What a clever boy! he looks good. swatted a cat toy a bit and has gone out for his evening pee and to check on the horses. All is good in Rupie world......
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219

whatever's causing the curve to show up - YAHOOO! we're glad to see it, pip! you must be relieved.

excellent that they just replaced the cartridges.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219,+5.5 100

wow. +5.5 and just hanging onto the BOTTOM of blue! good grief. I hope he doesn't bounce bigtime from this tomorrow! on the other hand.. who cares! at least something is happening, either it took him ages to clear... or.. as I'm really beginning to wonder.. the insulin WAS bad. Now I'm a tad nervous that the 2.25 maybe too high a dose?!! guess we'll see how it plays out. I'm going to bed but will check on him again in a while. figures I have to go to work tomorrow morning! still.. I can nap in my office maybe!

He's sleeping in his spot on the back fo the couh, a little lethargic, methinks I"ll give him some HC
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219,+5.5 100

if it's too much, you'll find out by the numbers. and because you're experienced now, you know you'll be able to steer the low numbers with a little bit of gravy.

go rupert. this is awesome!!!! just what we hoped for! :-D

i was just squinting at that 100, and you know what i see? i see green! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219,+5.5 100

Thanx Julie! it is very exciting although I'm hoping that he starts rising a bit now.. seems, from what I can tell so far, his nadir tends to be around the +5.5/6 mark....just hoping that he doesn't throw me such a low number tomorrow morning that we get back into the skipping a shot cycle! I have to go to work tomorrow, it's year end and things are busy.. I always get to test +2.5 before I leave but then won't be able to be back till +6... still... a good thing to have to worry about really! just so glad to see those reds disappear for a little while.. sure hoping they don't return. He's had some FF with gravy and is now cleaning himself in a most smug fashion on the back of the couch.

I've stored the new unopened insulin in our regular fridge (hubby checked the temp in there with some fancy tool from work, and it's right in the middle of the recommended levels). I've stored the open cartridge, wrapped in paper towel, in a tupperware container, in the wine fridge, which doesn't run quite as cold as the main fridge. Given that they say to keep open cartridges outside the fridge (but obviously guarded by the pen apparatus), I'm assuming that the slightly less frigid, but still nicely cool and stable temperature of the wine fridge will be the perfect environment.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219,+5.5 100

sorry, wasn't clear, I've stored the REMAINING (4 vials) new unopened insulin in the main fridge. Shot from the first of the brand NEW cartridge tonight.

really suggests the possibility that we were firing blanks from the other ones that I returned.
 
Re: 3/18 Rupert PMPS 417,+2 343, +3.5 219,+5.5 100

ok, gotcha! that's great. i haven't looked at rupert's ss tonight, but you'll want to make sure that's clear on the ss for future reference.
 
holding steady in the blue at +7.5... 104 offered some more food but he's not interested, he had a fair bit of HC at +5.5. Seems somewhat surprised to see me up at nearly 2am! (me too!).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top