3/18 punkin amps 479 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/116 pmps 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

this morning could be a bounce or could be NDW. we increased his dose last night. somehow the greens have slipped away and he seems to be getting nadirs in the mid-blues. so up we go.

punkin is right now in place to watch/hear the timed feeder rotate. he's on the rug, but positioned to sprint for the feeder. 3 minutes to go. he's such a character! "will do anything for food!"

anya is sprawled on my lap, taking up the whole thing. there are socks on the floor from a "kill" last night. she was busy dragging things from the back of the house! :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479

Punkin!!! What are you doing up there??? Time to head down to better floors forthwith!!

Anya has inspired me... Perhaps the cats are to blame for my ever-growing pile of mismatched socks?!? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day, Julie!
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121

argh. too much insulin, too fast of drop . . .

hey - maybe that's why i am missing some socks?!? :lol: i'll just blame anya. seems reasonable to me! :-D
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76

yuppers. we've got a couple of hours now. i thought i was going out for a walk, but punkin had other ideas.

shouldn't have given him the R this morning. it's SO amazing how clear hindsight can be. :lol: pulled out the high carb but it's probably too late - well not too late to keep him from going low, but too late to prevent another round of bouncing.

he's in hog heaven. food at 7am, 8am, 9am, 10am, 10;45am and more to come. nom nom nom
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 - 62

I've been in your shoes. Gave R when a bounce was breaking or something and dive bomb happens.

Enjoy all the food, Punkin :razz:
2556935-the-red-cat-with-orange-eyes-licks-lips-on-a-meal.jpg
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 - 62

the bounce or ndw only started during the night - i had no idea it would resolve so quickly.

also didn't realize the husband gave .5u R this morning. usually we do .25 and it just takes the edge off, but he was half asleep, i suppose, and the 479 looked safe to hit. i'm just guessing, didn't ask cuz i don't want to criticize him on what he did.

reminding myself that i wanted to see greens! ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 - 62

:shock: :shock: :shock: Way to use that R, Punkin. But, yikes! no need to be quite so enthusiastic.

Huh, I think that is a great explanation for all the orphan socks I've got! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76

Wow punkin, time to put a brake on it! I had to laugh with the sprint and the timed feeder. Can punkin give Mags some training? :-D She ignores it.
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76

punkin gets a Mr Greenie :mrgreen: Now chill out will ya big guy, you're scaring your beloved beans to death! ;-)
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

good grief. now i've probably over-carbed him. *sighs* oh well. i'll sure i'll get another chance to do it RIGHT! :lol:

the other factor in here is that i gave him a dose of bupe at +2 - and he had had the gabapentin. so there could be a component of pain relief in that plummet today as well. he still doesn't want to be held today, however.

i'm leaving the computer for a while - haven't done anything except poke-carb-FDMB at all this morning. see ya later!
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

That hindsight can be brilliantly clear. :-D I think you did great. He dropped 358 in 3 hours. Yikes! My gut reaction was to pour the bottle of karo down his throat. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

:shock: Punkin! It's Sunday and you're home to monitor, and that's good. :-D

What's the story/history of Punkin not want to be held?
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

Wow, I'm impressed with all that you and your DH did today for Punkin. I could not have done all that figuring out…give HC, no, give R, oh no, give HC… This is what I would have done :o :o :o :o :lol:

Great job!!!!
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

What a great day for punkin!!! However what ever you did look how it worked!!
And look hw great punkin came out of it!! Looking so good! Have a good evening-Hugs & Lubs from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

Yep hindsight is everything but you and DH do such a great job of managing him and giving advice to other too! I'm in awe :-D :-D :-D Punkin is probably oblivious to all this action and just happy to eat the noms.
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

I see punkin decided to take the express train :shock: hoping the bounce isn't too nasty.
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

:shock: Whoa - Punkin! way to use the juice! Wow - what a drop! Surf nicely now, OK?
K?

Too funny on the socks. Go Anya!
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

Punkin is the drama king today, that's for sure! Nice work today, Julie & DH. I hope your evening will be less hectic!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/18 punkin amps 479 +3/121 +3.75/76 +4/62-45-76 +5.5/11

Great job! Punkin kept you busy but you handled it like the pro you are. Hope you have a nice evening :-D
 
oh lydia, so absolutely true - punkin was oblivious to it all and just happy to have the yummy foods!

ohmygosh liz, if i'd added up the amount of that drop i think i'd have had a heart attack at the time. now, however, it's like "there's nothing to see here. move along. back to the regular programming!" :lol: that was a huge drop.

randa, punkin has acromegaly and it's generally assumed to be painful. the growth hormone put out by the evil little tumor in their pituitary gland makes their bodies try to grow. so bones that have been fused will still try to grow; soft tissue, organs, everything tries to grow. punkin had the Stereotactic Radiation Therapy at Colorado State Univ in September, so in theory, the hormones should be lessening. the way it works though, is that the tumor cells still live out their lifespan - they just aren't replaced with new cells. so the results are slow to come. cats have gone OTJ as much as 19 months after the SRT. we are at 6 months this week.

humans with acromegaly have headaches and their bones ache - the assumption is that cats do too. punkin stopped wanting to be held probably last summer sometime. before that he was a lap fungus kitty and lived attached to my body. i used to carry him on my hip like a 2 year old. i do miss it and we keep trying to give him things for pain to see if something will help. that's also why he's getting acupuncture.

i ended up nearly finishing a quilt this afternoon - so it was time well-spent. he let me hold him for a few minutes before he got down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top