3/18 mocha +12.25 50, +13 79 +15 192

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 mocha amps 113 +1 133 +3 133, lab notes and dental ?

I left mocha at almost her +2. She was locked up in our room, with a good bit of food. When I got home I tested her at +3, and she was right where I left her, at 133! But all of her food was gone, so I'm sure theres a food spike in that number somewhere.

On a different note, I got all her paperwork from the local vets office. They could not find the original paperwork that was faxed over from her old vet and they are saying they don't believe it was all faxed over. I don't know if that is true or not, but I have her latest blood work from september. I don't know what any of it means. Some numbers are high, some are low, some are in the middle on their "graph" bars

these are the high ones

ALK phosphatase, result was 67, reference range is 0-62 U/L
Glucose, result 342, range 70-150 mg/dl
A/G ratio, result 1.1, range 0.4-0.8
neutrophil seg, result 88, range 35-75%

these are the low ones

absolute lymphocyte, result 588, range 1500-7000 /ul
MCV, result 40, range 41-58 fL
lymphocytes, range 7, range 20-55%
eosinophil, result 1, range 2-12%

the other ones on the list all seem to fall in the middle of the graph.

I don't know what any of these names or numbers mean, but I know when the blood work was done back in september, the vet did not seem overly concerned with the numbers, she just said some were high, some were low, some were in the middle.

Mocha goes in for her dental tomorrow. She is up to date on her rabies shot, but the vet told me that she is not up to date on her distemper shot, and while as a kitten she was tested for FIP(?) and feline leukemia (neg. to both) we never put her on treatments (?) to prevent it so this dental vet might have to retest her for those, as well as do a distemper shot. Has anyone taken their kitty in for a dental, and not been up to date on those shots, and HAD to have them? If so, are they safe for a diabetic kitty? Mocha is strictly an indoor kitty along with twix. I don't want to be MORE surprised at the vets as to what they are going to have to do to mocha (meaning $$$$) that we weren't thinking about.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha amps 113 +1 133 +3 133

So here's more info than you probably want to know. I would get a copy of the pre-dental blood work and compare the results from Sept. to now.

Alk = alkaline phosphatase. It's a liver value. Common causes for this elevation are hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver disease), cholangiohepatitis (auto-immune disease of the liver), hyperthyroidism or Diabetes Mellitus. This value should be interpreted in light of the other lab test results.

A/G ratio = albumin/globulin ration. It's a total protein measure and elevated values are related to liver function.

Neutrophils are a white blood cell. Elevations can be related to infection, inflammation, or stress.

Lymphocytes are another form of white blood cell. Same as above but this value seems pretty low.

MCV - mean corpuscular volume. This is not a terribly meaningful test. It measures the size and volume of each red blood cell.

Eosinophils - another type of white blood cell. A low eosinophil count is usually not of significance and most commonly occurs due to severe stress associated with illness or from the use of corticosteroid medication
 
Re: 3/18 mocha amps 113 +1 133 +3 133 +5 103

Sienne, thank you for that information. Do you think those numbers are bad numbers? Should I be worried about anything?
 
Re: 3/18 mocha amps 113 +1 133 +3 133 +5 103

3/18 mocha amps 113 +1 133 +3 133 +5 103

With all those 3's ,I'd be looking at a lottery ticket today...and plug in some 3's! :lol:

Good luck with the dental tomorrow! I bet everything will be great!
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12 52, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Ok, mocha is at her lowest pmps ever, and we aren't sure what to do. Tomorrow is dental day, so we had planned on doing a half dose tonigh (1.25) but also keep in mind, she cannot have food after midnight, and sometimes it takes several hours for mocha to bring herself up. We don't know if we should skip this dose tonight, as well as her am dose?? Please help us, we should be shooting right now, but got home late and didn't have 15 min. in between testing and shooting.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12 52, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

Given the circumstances, I would probably stall to be sure she isn't still dropping, then shoot the half dose, or is she's still surfing 50's then maybe skip. If she's still running low at midnight, I'm sure it wouldn't hurt to leave the food out just a little longer.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12 52, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

:oops: I hate to say it, but we fed her after testing her. So now I'm sure if we re test her, it will be a food spike. Not real sure what we were thinking, we know better, but routine was off from getting home late and then the low number ... sigh ... now what?
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12 52, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

I would test again anyway. We should still be able to tell if she would be dropping or surfing.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12.25 50, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

ok, just retested her about two minutes after she got done eating, 15 min. after first test. she dropped to 50
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12.25 50, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

everybody always said I had BOS, but I don't think I ever shot a 50. I'm on the fence about skipping or stalling, are you Eastern time (so the food has to come up in only 3.5 hours)?
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12.25 50, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

I dunno, maybe I'm too conservative (that would be a change!) but I would probably go ahead and skip it. If she ends up a little high in the morning that's ok, gives the vet more comfort zone if she drops while they're doing the dental. That's just my opinion but it seems like the safer thing to do.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12.25 50, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

libby, we agree with you. We just wanted someone else to say it :oops: We are skipping both tonights shot and tomorrows a.m. shot.
 
Re: 3/18 mocha +12.25 50, NEED DOSING ADVICE ASAP PLEASE

(((Mocha))) :thumbup

Droppin thru to check on lil momma & wishing you a wonderful dental visit tomorrow! Yay.. pearly whites to go with that too cute of a face!

:RAHCAT
 
well it didn't take her long to bounce right back up after skipping that pm shot! We fed her at +2 as well as +3. No food after midnight tonight for the dental in the a.m.
 
good luck to mocha and getting the teeth cleaned. I hope she doesn't need too much work. Just think - you can sleep tonight and not worry about testing her. Gonna still lock her in the room or give her run of house so she doesn't bug you for food all night? Twix probably survive without more food tonight.....
 
thanks everyone, for the good dental vines! My nerves are all messed up. I will be glad when it's done and over and she's back home and back to herself. I feel bad for her :( I dont know why, guess cause I know what's going to happen to her and she doesnt. Mocha will be locked up tonight just like usual. Don't want them getting any fancy ideas that this is all over, and we have to retrain them! Maybe one day .... maybe one day .....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top