3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie Day 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone! I MADE IT! And what I mean by that is I made it through the initial diagnosis and emotional rollercoaster, the endless beginners research (still endless), self-trained home testing and his first shot. Yeah, I think that's a lot to celebrate! Whew, day 1 is over.

I have Mego's initial BG SS and Profile set up and I hope to add his bloodwork as well. I forgot to get copies from the vet today. Anyway, more importantly, I have his pre-insulin BG #s up and his PMPS, +3 & +6 from the evening Lantus shot today. I would like to get to a point where I feel comfortable with the tight regulation but I have a feeling being so new, I'm initially starting slow. I would love to hear from other newbies here as well as some seasoned pros. And all I know is I'm excited and encouraged by his first post-shot numbers but I'm also being realistic and cautious. How often should I be testing in the first few days? Mego is already getting a little annoyed with all the pokes in the ear. I think he might be a little sore (I still need to get some antibiotic/numbing ointment) and testing on the foot pads will probably be impossible. He hates anyone touching his feet. I know it's a few days away yet, but I'm concerned about what to do when I go back to work after vacation (3/26 is first day back). I work varied shifts as a retail manager and maintaining a strict 12 hour schedule will be impossible in my mind. Perhaps in the next few days I can get some advice about what to do. Other than that, I'm exhausted and need some sleep.

I couldn't have made it here without help from many of you and I don't think I'll ever stop saying THANK YOU!
 
Re: 3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie D

Welcome to Lantus Land Katie and Mego! Great job on the SS and profile. He is very handsome.

Interesting response to the first shot of lantus! Already in blue :-D

We like you to get some spot checks starting out ...+3, +6, +9 during tomorrow mornings cycle. It can take 5-7 days to initially fill the depot but some cats respond faster especially if the diet is changing from dry to wet.

It's good if you read all the stickys at the too of the page. I have two important links in my signature block for Handling Low Numbers and Dealing with Low Preshots. I'd print those out and have them handy.

And ask questions....as many as you can think of. We're here to help!

And let me know when you want me to help you with adding a lab tab.
 
Re: 3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie D

Hi Katie, Welcome to you and Mego!

I'm glad you've endured the rollercoaster... it's something all of us here are familiar with as we were all newbies once upon a time. When my boy, Kismet, was first dx, I don't think I got a good night's sleep for a week and spent every waking hour reading and researching. FWIW, it does get easier. In the beginning, it can be somewhat overwhelming and emotionally taxing, but it does get much, much easier.

I see that you self-taught yourself how to home test, that's amazing! I had such a hard time in the beginning. I was nervous, never got enough blood, had to poke him 3-4 times, etc. That also gets much easier as you go along. If you're interested, I've made a tutorial here but it sounds like you've already got the hang of it.

Tight Regulation isn't as frightening or demanding as it may seem. The first few days are the hardest, because 1) everything is new 2) you have to test more frequently to gain an understanding of how your kitty responds to insulin 3) the learning curve is a bit steep. That said, we are a wonderful support system here, and there is always someone online who can help you and advise you. You're not alone in this... everyone here wants to help you help Mego. :-D

As far as testing, you should always test before every shot, and get a mid-cycle test, too. Most cats hit their nadir (the lowest point) around +6, but this varies from cat to cat. You will know more about Mego and his cycles with the more data you acquire.

For everyday testing, I usually try to get a +2, or +3. Generally, when a cat is higher at +2 than he was at PS time, it will likely be a quiet cycle. If he is about the same, he will probably have a pretty steady cycle. If he is much lower, then you wwill ant to keep a close eye on him and test more frequently to make sure he doesn't drop too low.

Have you read through the stickies at the top of the page? I hate to throw another thing at you to read, but definitely look over the post on shooting and handling low numbers and make sure you put together a hypo kit and print out the directions for what to do if your cat starts dipping too low.

Again, welcome to our LL (Lantus Land) Family! If you have any questions, ask away. People here are very knowledgeable and generous with their time.
 
Re: 3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie D

Hi Katie and Mego, just wanted to say hello from a fellow newbie. My Star was diagnosed March 1, and thanks to the wonderful support I've gotten here I've managed not to freak out over all of his BG number bounces. Working through a BG dip right now, in fact, with some very faithful experts. Anyway, I have no newbie advice except to say that you are in the right place for information and support. Welcome! :-D
 
Re: 3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie D

You've come to the right place! My Sweetie was diagnosed just a month ago, and I've been glued to the FDMB ever since - first just to read and reread all of the information and set up his spreadsheet (I still haven't done his profile), and now more and more to visit everyone's "condos" (aka following people's daily postings in this forum). I'm a newbie too and can offer encouragement rather than dosing advice, but there are lots of experienced folks watching out for us here.

It is scary sometimes because it is so new and there's some stuff to learn. Initially I thought I would never be able to follow the "tight regulation protocol", but I also REALLY REALLY want him to have a remission for his sake and for mine and this is his best chance for that from what I read. And my vet isn't really on board, but I feel I'm doing the right thing.

I find that on weekends and evenings I can actually do a lot of testing. I work fulltime 15 miles away, so M-F I only get mid cycle checks if I have a medical appointment at home or take extra time at lunch and make it up later. I went to the larger lances (26gauge) for a while so I didn't have to poke multiple times for the drop of blood. It does get easier.
 
Re: 3/18 Mego AMBG 391 PMPS 359 +3 291 +6 142 Brand Newbie D

Hi Katie & Mego! Welcome to LL! You are doing great with managing the DM. Lovely to see Mego in the blue zone. Dont worry, you've succedded the hardest part already :lol:
Important that you have to get Mego's co-operation to the testing & shot. Yes, get the AB numbing ointment. Warming the ear before poking helps the bleeding, sweet talk, coaxing & a tiny treat afterwards will make everything go smooth. And, remember to stay calm & in control! Post when in doubt, there is always somebody on board to offer help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top