3/18 Max AMPS 240 +3 94 +4 71 PMPS 539 +1 494 +2 419 +3 295 +4 256

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
I got back into bed after amps and fell asleep. Last night I was trying to get him to come back up some so I could go to sleep. He had 9% feedings and snacks until I went to bed. I’m not sure how low he went but bounced because I see the +11 and amps was significantly higher. No food interfering. When I woke up he was already down to 94.:D Now I need :coffee::coffee::coffee: to get my eyes open.:) Happy Caturday!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-10-224-pmps-241-1-5-257.275370/#post-3055959
 
Hmmm. Looks like he’s bounced again. The PMPS may be a bad one. He may need the R tonight @Wendy&Neko but not sure what from how it’s looking but we will see. If you are around tonight of course, if not no worries.
 
I think if he's over 300 at PMPS time, the same dose of R is worth a try. Same testing as before for first 4 hours. I will be around on and off, spring has sprung and the garden is calling.
 
Okay awesome. Thank you. Glad you finally got some nice weather! Enjoy your gardening. I love doing that too.
 
+11 is 459 horrible bounce. He’s definitely getting R and I may give his PMPS 15-20 mins earlier. I know that may act like an increase but he needs all the help he can get. Hopefully he won’t dive, but I will watch.
 
Last edited:
Okay, I was trying to go ahead and get the insulin in him before it got any higher! I thought 20 minutes would be okay. Just hoping he doesn’t dive and bounce that high again. That’s terrible!
 
He's already gone down more than 100 points. Do you have any MC you could give to try to slow him down a bit?

I was looking at the night of 2/22, and there he seemed to be coming down on his own after PMPS, even before the insulin onset. Not sure if that's what's happening underneath the R tonight.
 
I think that if you want to, next time you see a +11 like you did today, clearly skyrocketing, you could try R then. Same 0.1 units if over 300.
 
Yes I have some MC. I will give it to him. I was surprised at that +2 that he came down that much. Last time we tried it he didn’t. He is a tough one to figure out. Maybe he is coming down on his own and the R on top of it, but how would I have known that he would do this?
 
Last edited:
I guess since he dropped to fast he will have another bad bounce in the morning. Should I check a +10 or +11 tonight and give him R if he does? Like if it’s already over 400?
 
I gave him MC 30 mins ago and just checked a +3 and he’s down to 295! Well it was almost at +3, I checked a few mins early. I was anxious.
 
Last edited:
I gave him more MC. Maybe I didn’t give him enough earlier. The Lev must be at onset.
 
Last edited:
I’m trying to figure out what I could have done better to prevent him dropping too fast with the R. If I’m sure he’s bouncing and he’s that high go ahead and give it @+10 or +11 like you said. Then I won’t have onset of Lev and the R peaking at the same time? I don’t know. Just thinking out loud, but I may be wrong.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, elderly neighbour locked herself out of her house. Back now.

Max likes to plummet between +2 and +3. You are right that you don't want the onset and R peak at the same time. Next R experiment I'd try at +11 if over 300 and clearly rising. At some point that might even shift to +10. But try the +11 first.

Looking at this cycle, and comparing to the last time you used R, both were to cap a bounce. But the first time he was only to pinks at preshot time, and kept going on up, so R helped slow that down. It seems when Max really rises a lot (like he also did on the 2/22), he does come down on his own fairly quickly, but not always. :rolleyes: Looking at 2/18 or 3/08 PM, he shot up over 400 at PMPS, but was very gentle coming down. That would have been a good cycle for R. Now we need to, as DH called it "read the tea leaves" of the spreadsheet, and see if we can see patterns when it's not a good idea to use R, and when it is. Basically, what patterns lead to higher numbers that don't plummet right away.

I'll gaze at Max's SS a bit more, and see if anything leaps out.

I wouldn't shoot R at the end of this PM cycle. You can get into a viscous cycle of shooting R, causing bounce, shooting R. Let's let it settle down first and wait for the following opportunity.
 
Okay. I understand. I’ve been studying his SS as well and he is so unpredictable at times that it makes my head spin. I won’t use R at the end of this cycle as you suggested. I understand. Thanks for your time on this. I really think it would help him if we could figure out the best time to do it. I hope he won’t bounce too high in the morning but he probably will knowing Max. Thanks again.
 
Learning when to use R is a slow and sometimes frustrating process. Cats can react quite differently, which is one of many reasons we don't have a dosing method for it. It really is based on slow trial and error. First time I used R with Neko, she was flat high red for 4 hours, so I called it a night. Woke up to a green at +9.5. :eek: I discovered that her R onset was quite a bit later than the +2 of most other cats.
 
Well he’s already back up to 285. I must have overdid it on the MC when I gave him another round of it at 16%, so that probably didn’t help things. I feel like I didn’t handle this cycle well at all but I guess I will learn. It’s true ECID and Max must be one of the challenging ones. He is for me anyway.
 
Back
Top