3/18 Logan AMPS 345, +6 296

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 Logan AMPS 345

I hope Logan comes down later, but I am sure there will be a drop soon. So long as he's eating and looking good, those are promising signs.
 
Re: 3/18 Logan AMPS 345

Hi Kelly
I hope Logan told you that Max took very good care of him at the party.
He really takes his job seriously you know. :-D
He had a chat with Logan told him he has to eat, so I'm glad he is listening
and to start throwing those lower numbers.
Once he gets lower, he will realise how much better he will feel
and keep on going.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 3/18 Logan AMPS 345

I don't post much because of my sore arm but I have been reading Logan's condo and just wanted to say what a good job you are doing and he seems to be doing well, he will come down, hes had a lot of trauma to his little body he has to work on first that's all.
MZ276.gif
 
Wow, he came down two days in a row?! It's not a great number, but it beats the hell out of his normal numbers. :lol: DH2B said he ate well at lunch time. He did have to give him some FF but only b/c we're trying to ration the remaining ziwipeak - more arriving tomorrow afternoon! Today is day 3 of the mirtazepine so the fact that he's eating well is huge! Maybe we'll skip giving it to him tonight. He was playing this morning and he snuggled on the couch for a little while (on his new blanket). :mrgreen:

He has an appointment tomorrow for his blood work. I'm apprehensive about putting him on the leukeran, though. I hope he does well on it and he doesn't have any major side effects.
 
Hi Kelly,
Told ya I would stop by! :mrgreen:

When latte developed the diabetes from the pred, I took her off. Her vet very much wanted us to try leukeran. I hesitated and tried nothing with Latte for a while, to see how she would do. As things progressively got worse (vomiting, not eating, diahrea), I finally decided to try the leukeran. She was, I believe on 2mg e/o to start. We didnt get past one week before I had to stop. Here is a link to our condo during this time:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 22,1887647

I think winnie/cheryl, chris/cleo, and maybe another person or two discussed different protocols or doses used in the post (cant remember - read it a few days ago, sorry). I also suggested the yahoo feline lymphoma group. They know all the different protocols/pros/cons. There were a number of people on the IBD group who used leukeran, some with success. Others w/ luck similar to Latte's.

Most, but not all kitties will experience some form of lethargy, innapetance, and/or vomiting. This is probably why your vet wants to keep the pred going in the beginning. We did not do that (was trying to keep her off the pred). So trying it this way might be sensible. My understanding for those with cats who experience ill effects, it usually wears off in a few weeks to a month.

In latte's case she lost approx 1/2lb in less than a week, I could not get her to eat anything, syringe feeding led to vomiting, and the lights seriously went out in her eyes. After a looooooong weekend, I called the vet and said we needed to start the pred again. Within hours she was feeling better. Keep in mind, Latte is ultra sensitive to drugs - especially the big guns.

I have a couple friends from other lists who use leukeran on their cats with great success, like Laura and Quincy. They all have cats with lymphoma.

I had the pills. If you go that route you want to shop around. I think the cheapest I found them were $6/pill! :shock: They need to be refrigerated and you need gloves to administer it (its a chemo drug...you dont want it getting into your system). Latte is not good at pilling, but she took them okay. I have 3-4 left, if you were to want them. Its still cold enough, I think that refrigeration would not be an issue while being shipped. The compounding is a great idea. I think I looked into it as well, but it was even more expensive than the pills. I was not even certain I could afford the regular one's.

Is there a reason the vet has not suggested budesonide. It seems to be the most common medicine and targets IBD much better than anything....and less systematic than pred. I would switch Latte in a heart beat, but Im afraid that any change will set her back enough that I cant pull her through.

Did you try the natural balance yet? They used to have a LTD chicken/liver. I have not seen it lately. But latte really took to that one. There is a salmon one, too! Even if Logan does not like it now, try it every now and again. Tastes change. You just never know!
 
Kelly,
I forgot to mention...make sure you ask for some ondansetron AND cerenia - both for nausea. Ondansetron would possibly be a daily med, but maybe not. You can get it as an injectible for pretty cheap. Then you dont have to worry about pills! Cerenia is much more expensive, but by far one of the more effective tools for a vomiting/nauseated cat. This can only be given a few days at a time because it builds up in their system. It comes in pill and injectible. I cant get anyone to send me home with injectable. Her specialist said it loses potency after 24hrs outside the vial.

If I can think of anything else, I will let ya know!
 
Hi Kelly,
I would suggest you ask the vet about giving Ondansetron when you start the Leukeran, at least at the beginning. It seems to help Teddy a lot. He had some problems with vomiting when he switched over to every 2nd day dosing of Leukeran (from pulse dosing). He did seem to improve after several weeks on the new protocol.
 
Hi Kelly
Now that is a nice shiny +6 yellow.
You see I told you Max would take care of his buddy at the party.
There was a long line around the block waiting to sit with Logan.
Max had to limit 2 at time but he got to chat up with some of the pretty ladies.
Good luck with the blood work and ll the meds.
That area is beyond me but hugs for the support.
 
carolynandlatte said:
I had the pills. If you go that route you want to shop around. I think the cheapest I found them were $6/pill! :shock: They need to be refrigerated and you need gloves to administer it (its a chemo drug...you dont want it getting into your system). Latte is not good at pilling, but she took them okay. I have 3-4 left, if you were to want them. Its still cold enough, I think that refrigeration would not be an issue while being shipped. The compounding is a great idea. I think I looked into it as well, but it was even more expensive than the pills. I was not even certain I could afford the regular one's.

I buy Quincy's leukeran from Valley Drug and Compounding, a pharmacy in Encino, CA with a large practice in veterinary pharmacy. Quincy's on a 1 mg dose, and I pay about $75 for 40 capsules.

If you are on a 2mg dose, I believe that's the manufacturer-issued tablet size, and that's widely available, even at places like Costco. Members of the feline lymphoma Yahoo group were a big help with this. But it may be better to visit the feline IBD group instead to learn more about dosing protocols and side effects of leukeran used to treat IBD. I do believe it differs from lymphoma.

Also - my vet wanted me to wear gloves, but I don't. The medicine is in a sealed capsule, and for the amount of time it's in my hand, it didn't seem necessary given how much it would probably freak Quincy out for me to come over to him with gloves on. I talked to the pharmacist about that, and he said while he couldn't officially tell me it was fine to not wear gloves - that really was the standard precaution - that handling a gel cap for a short time and then washing my hands thoroughly right afterward would be fine. I think if you held the capsule for a while and it melted a little, that would be a different story. This was something else I asked members of the feline lymphoma group about, and many people didn't use gloves either. Just one experience, of course... I certainly don't fault anyone for wearing gloves, and probably any vet will tell you to do so!
 
it's good to see more yellow!

Sounds like you have a lot going on, but you're getting good advice. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top