3-18 LEO AMPS 150/ +2 61/ +3 57/ +5 52/ +5.75 62/ PMPS 270/ +2 187/ +6 64

Have you been able to move his shot times so that you are shooting early enough not to have to stay up late to test at night?

I attempted to move time by 15 min earlier today, and had a difficult time getting Leo's left ear to bleed--even with the warmed rice sock! (Trying to alternate ears each time.)
Then, Leo's fur is becoming even more so and getting a good spot to shoot gets harder... then I remember to wet my hand first so I can keep his fur from falling into where I'm about to shoot. All in an attempt to avoid a fur shot. Looks like I need to start even earlier than anticipated to finally get the shot in.

In other words, not early enough! Today ended up 9:22am. +2 time is fine.... +3 isn"t too hard--it's getting a +6 after a +3, it gets kind of wonky.
 
@+2=61; fed usual LC.

Thanks, @Bandit's Mom !
As a side note, it looks like mixing MC with LC overnight in AF helped though it looks like AF spot(s) 1 & 3 were nor eaten. Barely #1, anyway, and nothing of #3.
#0, bedtime; just a smidge left
#1, 2:30am; just a small amount eaten
#2 4:50; most is eaten
#3, 7 am; not eaten at all
#4, 7:10; is purposely left empty to ensure 2-hr fasting BG
Well, I see I didn't leave much time between #3 & #4. Need to adjust AF time.
 
Test again at +5 or +6?

I was about to poke again for a +4, and read this again. Not yet, Leo. He's so compliant now. I didn't think this would happen when BG tests first started in January. Did not take long at all and he was anticipating the opportunity for a snack after the BG. What a sweety. ♡
 
Maybe I didn't have enough MC mixed in the LC earlier? Feeding LC right now, but should I add MC?
 
Went ahead a gave a teaspoon of MC, plus he's eating a small amount of the LC he didn't eat earlier. Maybe he wants more or the MC. Of course he does, but I'm holding off more MC since he did just get the tsp.
(Removed the ? from title; there was no reply.)
 
Last edited:
Strange PMPS....maybe because of this?
Leo's has a thing, sometimes, for plastic, and right before it was time for BG test, he had thrown up a hairball initiated by some plastic from the vegetable stand that held a bag of onions he apparently chewed on.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. What is your MC%? 15%?

I'm thinking you might want to stay with LC - especially in the AM cycles when you can monitor - and let him earn a reduction. It's okay to use MC at night when he is lower and you cannot monitor. He might just be done with this dose. No need to prop him up with carbs.

Leo's has a thing, sometimes, for plastic, and right before it was time for BG test, he had thrown up a hairball initiated by some plastic from the vegetable stand that held a bag of onions he apparently chewed on.
@tiffmaxee has quite a bit of experience with pica!
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. What is your MC%? 15%?

I'm thinking you might want to stay with LC - especially in the AM cycles when you can monitor - and let him earn a reduction. It's okay to use MC at night when he is lower and you cannot monitor. He might just be done with this dose. No need to prop him up with carbs.


@tiffmaxee has quite a bit of experience with pica!

I used 15% & 20%, if needed (like 3/15).
Leo has only twice or three times chewed on any plastic (or ribbon) since starting Semglee. So this could be a pica issue, huh? Interesting.

ETA: So only give MC or HC if under 50--anytime, but just test if at, say 52, and watch & take action, if needed??

And correct, there was no reply. Maybe I didn't give it enough time.
 
Last edited:
15% is at the higher end of the MC range. Border of MC-HC. MC is 10-15%, HC is above 15%

Yes, for now, give higher carbs only if he dips below 50 and at night if you cannot stay up to test and he is heading towards the lower end of the normal range or dropping fast.
The idea is to let him earn a reduction is he is ready for one rather than prop him up too much with carbs.
 
Back
Top