3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, +2 70, +3 59, +4 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

worldtraveller

Member Since 2011
Last night: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66460&p=723051#p723051

Good morning world!

Kitty's AMPS was 94, first green AMPS :mrgreen:
I gave him 0.5u as last night and will be home all day so we can see where this goes... Probably should have lowered the dose to 0.25u, but I was a bit sleepy to think through, oops....
Any how, I will be travelling for 5 days from Tuesday evening, so there are still 4 shots for me to give and test so this should be fine, i think.

Looking forward to the green day....
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94

we'll be watching for your updates - i'm glad you're home for a couple of days to get some more data on the little guy!

he seems to have plans!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61

Well ---- will be an interesting day ahead of us.... now 61 at +1.

He ate a little at the shot time, not much. I guess I need to get prepared for some HC food feeding??
Looking back - I should have checked the board and your advise Julie.... I think 0.25u dose would have been the right thing for the morning ;-)
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61

We don't adjust the dose based on PS numbers but I would definitely have your HC at the ready today Kitty may just earn that reduction to 0.25 :mrgreen:

Have you got the handling low numbers info handy?
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61

I just checked out Kitty's ss - he did already earn his reduction last night. Anything under 50 is a reduction for a newly diagnosed cat, I think he's going to do it again today anyway but IMHO reduce tonight irrespective.

ETA: did you carb him at +2.5PM last night? It's good if you can add that data into your ss, you can put it in the comments section.

Also your link to yesterday isn't working, I think you forgot to put it between the URLs

I want to stay up and watch out for you but Vyktor has been running me ragged lately so I'm going to try to nap for a couple of hours. Keep a close eye on Kitty today and read/re read the handling low numbers data in the stickies at the top of the forum.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61

Thanks Serryn! Yes, I only now realized that he earned the reduction already last night. i was just too sleepy this morning, ooops....

Yes, I have the low handling info available. Kitty is now eating (low carb), will be testing in a few minutes to see how his BG is changing.... expecting it to go down for the next few hours based on his past behaviour.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61

okay I will wait for your next test

ETA: I stick a note on top of Vyktor's syringe box so I remember the current dose, when he earns a reduction I go and change the note straight away so I don't forget. You wouldn't think so but it is easily done.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32!!!!

1.5 he is at 32!!!! time to take HC food out.... he is eating like crazy his salmon pate food now.....
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32!!!!

Don't feed him too much you may need him to have more appetite later on you just want to feed 1 or 2 teaspoons, maybe 3 on a 32

ETA: you will want to test again in 20 mins I will stay with you
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40

Now at 1.75 he is 40, so the food helped.
Will continue to test him regularly in the next hours.

Thanks for your support Serryn. You should go get some sleep now!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40

How much did he eat?

ETA: you don't sound like you're panicking at all - good work!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40

In the past hour he had about 1/2 can of salmon pate Gourmet Gold (=Fancy feast) and perhaps 3-4 teaspoons of some Whiskas gravy stuff (all texts are in Russian.... :) )
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40

okay test again in 15-20 mins, if still below 50 give another 2-3 tsp of HC.

ETA: do you have any syrup there in case we want that?

Also what did you do to bring him up at PM +2.5 last night?
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49

at +2 he is now 49 :)

I have running honey available, will that do the trick if needed?
Kitty is now calm, just resting and taking it easy :cool: As for myself.... once you are (somewhat) prepared to expect low numbers, then there was no need to panic. definitely interesting to observe how Kitty himself made sure that he was getting the food that he needed (=eating like crazy). But would not want to have this happen again. So, need to be much more careful with the dosing.... Looks like Kitty's pancreas is healing, keep your fingers crossed!!!

Last night he just ate the normal LC food, no HC feeding (am I a tough mama on my baby? :) )

- Mia
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49

Honey is fine, we will see if we need it.

Did you give another tsp of HC for that 49

Mia please do give a tsp or two of HC anytime Kitty is under 50. You don't want to be a tough mama with this, that could get dangerous and that small amount of HC will wear off quickly enough, it won't do any harm to the process - in fact it is part of the process - no more tough mama ok!!! :smile:
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

@ 2.3 Kitty is now 56.
He did not get the HC right at the +2, but a between the last two testings.

Will keep on testing every 20 minutes now. Should I continue to have the food available for him (if he feels like eating himself) or keep it away?

Ok - I promise to be easier on Kitty :mrgreen:

BTW - how is Vyktor tonight??
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

It is day here for me too in Australia. Vyktor has just hit the blue floor, he is sleeping in his cupboard - at least one of us is getting plenty of sleep :lol:

With the 56 you can probably wait half an hour to test again. I would keep the food away for now you don't want him to get full. His past has been to start coming up soon but you don't want to rely on that.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

Also, even with the reduced dose tonight you will need to watch Kitty closely because of the Lantus shed effect. You probably won't see the results of the reduction until the cycle afterwards so Kitty could go very low again tonight. The way Kitty is going you will be the low numbers expert in no time :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

Thanks Serryn.

Why don't you get a nap now?! Thanks for staying with us for this low reading ride, I think we'll manage for now when you get some rest!! :smile:
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

Are you sure? I can stay with you if you think you might need the company.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

Yes, please have a nap. Vyktor (and we also :smile: ) need you later, so you need to get some energy.
We're doing just fine. Kitty is sleeping. I just did another test (20 min from previous) and he has the same reading as earlier, i.e. 56. We'll be fine. In case he starts to drop on BG, I will give him some HC food....
Talk to you later!!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

ok thanks Mia, keep testing every half hour and feeding anything under 50 with HC until you have two hours of no HC and the numbers are staying over 50 and rising.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32, +1.75 40, +2 49, 2.3

Good, clear instructions!
Now finally time for me to have my breakfast... or should I say brunch (it's noon in Moscow) ;-)

Sweet dreams!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +4 7

Good job Mia and Serryn :-D

I would get a +5. Actually all the testing you can do would be nice, while you're home.

Good luck with the new 0.25 dose.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +4 7

Really good job Mia, don't forget to reduce tonight though!
 

Attachments

  • imagesCAUU3RR1.jpg
    imagesCAUU3RR1.jpg
    7.6 KB · Views: 683
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +4 7

After the morning's episode, Kitty is doing a nice surf now.... :mrgreen:

Recap:
AMPS 94, 0.5u
+1 61
+1.5 32 Gave normal LC, plus HC food.
+1.75 40
+2 49 + a little bit more HC food
+2.3 56
+3 63
+3.5 70
+4 76
+5 77
+6 74

When his BG dropped very low, Kitty started to eat frantically, but for the whole 2+ hours he was otherwise very normal and cool :cool: He has not been eating since +2, so I am wondering when I will need to feed him again.... To go with the normal evening feeding next (unless his BG drops)??

Dose reduction is obvious. First time I am measuring 0.25 dose (Kitty sitter was doing that last week), and i know it is hard to measure..... Are there any syringes that would have smaller markings than half unit markings?

Then the next thing to consider is that I will be travelling again from the coming Tue evening until Sunday morning. So --- what dose should kitty sitter give? I guess we have now a couple of cycles to see how 0.25 reads, but perhaps need to consider to skip a shot perhaps Monday or Tuesday just to drain the shed a bit. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +6 7

Your petsitter was feeding twice a day, right? In the morning and at night? Kitty may be used to that schedule now and may not be used to eating in between. Sorry, I don't remember if the petsitter was coming to visit in the afternoons or evenings and/or setting an automatic feeder up for mid cycles.

Maybe, you should mimic whatever feeding schedule your petsitter will be doing, so we can see how Kitty does with it.
It's watching our for Kitty's safety while your gone, that matters.

We'll probably be thinking of the petsitter's dose before your leave, so make sure and post before you leave.
Lets see how Kitty is doing with the 0.25 for a day or so.

Just my thoughts.

ETA: That Is One Gorgeous Surf! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +6 7

Kitty sitter comes in the mornings and the evenings, and she leaves enough food for the day/night. Last week I advised her to leave 2 cans both morning and evening, just to make sure enough food is there in case Kitty's BG drops low. Also to note - kitty sitter does not test BG.

I will mirror now this situation for tonight and tomorrow, and tomorrow evening I think we should have enough experience to decide what to do for the dose from Tue evening onwards.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +6 7

And, we can see which cat (you have two cats, right?) eats what and when, during the day and night. Do you think you could get an automatic feeder for her to set up for a mid cycle feeding, if you don't already have one? Or freeze a bunch of individual servings..
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94 +1 61, +1.5 32 HC, +2 49, +3 63, +6 7

Great job of handling the low numbers. I would have thought this wasn't your first time!

Unfortunately, the smallest increment on a syringe is a half unit. Life would be much easier if they came with more markings but I suspect getting the marks on the barrel of the syringe would be a challenge.

Re. your note in Gabby's condo: I forgot to mark the HC on Gabby's SS. Gabby is a diving diva so dealing with low numbers has become pretty routine.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94, +1.5 32 HC, +10 108 dose reduction a

Ok - after the morning roller coaster and great surf from +3 to +8, we did get into blues today at +10 (108) :-|

Looking forward to the reduced dose (0.25u) tonight, if I can measure it right ;-)
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty AMPS 94, +1.5 32 HC, +10 108 dose reduction a

:mrgreen: fabulous job mia! and serryn, you're an angel to stay and coach her when we know how tired you must be!

we write dose changes on a whiteboard on the fridge - same thing - it's too easy to not get it straight without a reminder!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, 1.5 86

Very nice green. I would get another test in an hour.
Part of these evening numbers can be leftover shed from the 0.50 dose this morning.
Another reason why I'm glad you started the 0.25 dose a day or so early.
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, +2 70

Now 70 @ +2 :mrgreen:

It is amazing to see how Kitty is doing so great. His fur is just gorgeous and now he is playing with things which he has not done for a long time (normally he's very laid back, lazy kitty....) - it's like he has gotten 5 years younger in the past 2 weeks!!
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, +2 70

:-D :mrgreen: :razz:
Nice time for picture taking ;-) ;-)

You'll be up for awhile?
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, +2 70

Yep, I will be up for a while, until I see the numbers increasing.

For future thinking, my trusted advisors :?: : how to handle the dose when I will travel again from Tuesday onwards? Should I skip a dose tomorrow in order to drain the shed and then keep 0.25u for 5 days? Or perhaps advise the sitter to give tinymicro dose (0.1u??), something which I have not tried either? Or something else?

Decisions will need to be made tomorrow so some time to think still.... :-D
 
Re: 3/18 Kitty PMPS 113, +2 70, +3 59

No dosing advice here, but a hooray with applause for handling low numbers! Well done Mia! :-D
 
Ok, final test done for today! Kitty stayed true to his normal curve and had PM nadir at +3 :mrgreen:

PMPS 113
+1,5 86
+ 2 70
+3 59
+4 74

Time for me to go to bed and leave Kitty alone (it was a bit obsessive testing weekend, poor Kitty had his ears poked a way to many times....).

THANK YOU to all of you who have helped us through this weekend's roller coaster - special thanks to Serryn who stayed with us through this morning's low numbers :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top