3/18 Haley - AMPS 107, +2 104, +3 72, +4 61, +7.25 52, +8 98, +9 103, PMPS 135, +2 204, +4 102

I'm not sure if @Chris & China (GA) is still watching but that's a good bump - has Haley had her normal amount food for the cycle already? If so I wouldn't feed and would test in another 30 just to make sure she's staying up; you could also feed a bit of LC if you wanted.
 
I'm not sure if @Chris & China (GA) is still watching but that's a good bump - has Haley had her normal amount food for the cycle already? If so I wouldn't feed and would test in another 30 just to make sure she's staying up; you could also feed a bit of LC if you wanted.

I've been FB messaging with Chris a little bit. Haley has been eating all day! Chris said no more food and test her in an hour. Ty, Suzanne!
 
I've been FB messaging with Chris a little bit. Haley has been eating all day! Chris said no more food and test her in an hour. Ty, Suzanne!
Sounds good :bighug: I think you may be east coast? I am too - I shoot around 6:45 so on a similar schedule if you need anything (or I can help get help too :) if it's beyond my experience :)).
 
If so I wouldn't feed and would test in another 30 just to make sure she's staying up; you could also feed a bit of LC if you wanted.

Just FYI....since that last HC sent her up over 40 points, and it's getting later in the cycle, that's why I suggested waiting an hour to test instead of 30 minutes.

If it was earlier in the cycle, I would have wanted another test in 30 minutes too
 
O
Just FYI....since that last HC sent her up over 40 points, and it's getting later in the cycle, that's why I suggested waiting an hour to test instead of 30 minutes.

If it was earlier in the cycle, I would have wanted another test in 30 minutes too

I think I understand. Ty, Chris!
 
Sounds good :bighug: I think you may be east coast? I am too - I shoot around 6:45 so on a similar schedule if you need anything (or I can help get help too :) if it's beyond my experience :)).

Yes. I’m in NY state. Yes, very close schedule. Ty, so very much for being there and offering to get help too!
 
To the person who messaged me that said they think I'm rushing Haley into remission and that they think others, on this board, are rushing me to get her into remission:

I'm hoping and praying that not only will Haley go into remission but that she'll actually be cured. In the meantime, though, I would NEVER, knowingly, do anything to, possibly, hurt my precious girl. I'm scared stiff that I might do something wrong. Even though we may be dealing with the same scenario, over and over, I admit I don't have the confidence yet to do this on my own or without the same advice I've already had. I'm NOT rushing her into remission. I don't know what makes you think so.... because her numbers when down so quickly and consistently, today? I was trying to prevent that from happening all day! I was shocked and scared that the numbers where getting that low. I did not do it on purpose nor did anyone here advise me to even try that. I deal with each and only that one moment that I'm dealing with at that particular time, hoping for the best reaction. I trust the people that are advising me.

Yes, I'm offended by your comment. DON'T speak to me like that again.
.
 
Last edited:
Well, it matters where in the cycle Haley is. +7.25 is very different than +3.25 and we may advise to feed differently. In any case, you fed HC, right? test in 30 minutes from that HC.

Thank you for explaining. I was panicking over the low number. She was never that low before.
 
To the person who messaged me that said they think I'm rushing Haley into remission and that they think others, on this board, are rushing me to get her into remission:

I'm hoping and praying that not only will Haley go into remission but that she'll actually be cured. In the meantime, though, I would NEVER, knowingly, do anything to, possibly, hurt my precious girl. I'm scared stiff that I might do something wrong. Even though we may be dealing with the same scenario, over and over, I admit I don't have the confidence yet to do this on my own or without the same advice I've already had. I'm NOT rushing her into remission. I don't know what makes you think so.... because her numbers when down so quickly and consistently, today? I was trying to prevent that from happening all day! I was shocked and scared that the numbers where getting that low. I did not do it on purpose nor did anyone here advise me to even try that. I deal with each and only that one moment that I'm dealing with at that particular time, hoping for the best reaction. I trust the people that are advising me.

Yes, I'm offended by your comment. DON'T speak to me like that again.
.
Did you get a PM?
I hope it's not my comment you're offended by. And I do not at any point think or see why you should be rushing remission along?
Haley is doing really amazingly and so are you!!
I know how it feels to be panicking about it, even when we've done it before, it's like the things we know just disappear.
I just wanted to make sure, weather you meant +3.25 or +7. Since as stated, the advice might be different.
Don't mind those people, Shirley. You're doing absolutely GREAT! :bighug:

And by the way, who the heck doesn't want their kitty to go into remission?:eek:
I waaaaaant it soooo bad!
 
Did you get a PM?
I hope it's not my comment you're offended by. And I do not at any point think or see why you should be rushing remission along?
Haley is doing really amazingly and so are you!!
I know how it feels to be panicking about it, even when we've done it before, it's like the things we know just disappear.
I just wanted to make sure, weather you meant +3.25 or +7. Since as stated, the advice might be different. Thank you so much. I meant 7.25.
Don't mind those people, Shirley. You're doing absolutely GREAT! :bighug:

And by the way, who the heck doesn't want their kitty to go into remission?:eek:
I waaaaaant it soooo bad!

Hi. I’m getting her p.m. in about a half an hour. The message in question was taken down like within a minute of my reading it. So I don’t even know who sent it. But no. It wasn’t from you. Not if you don’t think I’m rushing Haley into remission. Thank you so much for your kind words!
 
Is there anything I can do to help her have a good AMPS in the morning? I have an errand to run, with my son, at 9:30 in the morning and it concerns me that she might need me and I can’t be there. I’d be out of the house probably for about an hour.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
There are a lot of experienced people here helping you and making sure that Haley stays safe. It is Haley who has come around to wanting to stay in better numbers so quickly.

Safety is always everyone's number one priority on the board. You're not rushing anything. Only Haley will ultimately decide if she is going to go into remission, but we are all trying to help you to give her the best shot at it:cat:. I know this isn't easy. I remember the fear very well. But you are doing a fantastic job. :bighug:
 
Is there anything I can do to help her have a good AMPS in the morning? I have an errand to run, with my son, at 9:30 in the morning and it concerns me that she might need me and I can’t be there. I’d be out of the house probably for about an hour.
I'm sure others will respond with thoughts but I wouldn't worry about it tonight. You always have the option to give her some appropriate carb food based on her numbers and for how long you'll be out. Better to know what her numbers are in the morning. If you can get a +1 and a +2 before you go (if her numbers green/low blue), that will be a good way for us to help you decide what to feed her (LC, LC/HC mix, or HC) to keep her safe.
 
I’ll be able to do a +1 for sure. I have to leave right when her +2 would be due. Unless I can do the second one a little bit early but I may not be able to act on it.
 
You can definitely test a little before the +2 in the morning. An hour won’t be too long to be gone. Please don’t worry. You are doing a great job with her and so is she! If someone wrote an inappropriate comment to you, please report it to the moderators so that person can be cautioned against doing so.
 
Last edited:
You can definitely test a little before the +2 in the morning. An hour won’t be too long to be gone. Please don’t worry. You are don’t a great job with her and so is she! If someone wrote an inappropriate comment to you, please report it to the moderators so that person can be cautioned against doing so.

Thanks, Elise!
 
To the person who messaged me that said they think I'm rushing Haley into remission and that they think others, on this board, are rushing me to get her into remission:
I am disappointed to hear that you are getting PM's like this. On FDMB, we strictly forbid dosing advice via PM's. Plus I'm sure it's upsetting for someone who is still fairly new to get this sort of message.:bighug::bighug:

For what it's worth, I think you are doing an AWESOME job with Haley. :bighug: Kitties have that special ability to heal their pancreas and go into remission. The quicker you can get a cat regulated after diagnosis, the greater the chance of doing so. Haley is doing great. :D With the amount of testing you are doing, and feeding as appropriate, you are using the tools needed to keep her safe. The experienced people here who are helping you are also doing a great job. As said above, safety is our primary concern, and we will tell you if we think a situation is dangerous. And you are the person with the syringe, food, and test kit with Haley. If you ever feel uncomfortable about a situation, you can choose to skip or reduce a dose, or feed higher carb food, or whatever you need to keep her safe.
 
I am disappointed to hear that you are getting PM's like this. On FDMB, we strictly forbid dosing advice via PM's. Plus I'm sure it's upsetting for someone who is still fairly new to get this sort of message.:bighug::bighug:

For what it's worth, I think you are doing an AWESOME job with Haley. :bighug: Kitties have that special ability to heal their pancreas and go into remission. The quicker you can get a cat regulated after diagnosis, the greater the chance of doing so. Haley is doing great. :D With the amount of testing you are doing, and feeding as appropriate, you are using the tools needed to keep her safe. The experienced people here who are helping you are also doing a great job. As said above, safety is our primary concern, and we will tell you if we think a situation is dangerous. And you are the person with the syringe, food, and test kit with Haley. If you ever feel uncomfortable about a situation, you can choose to skip or reduce a dose, or feed higher carb food, or whatever you need to keep her safe.

Hi, Wendy! Ty for understanding. Her message did upset me. She was so off-base on a few things. I would appreciate it if you would address it with her. She might do it with someone else, who is new, and they might take her advice and end up hurting the cat in the long run.

Thank you for your vote of confidence! I’m trying. I love this little girl sooo much! This journey is showing me just how amazing she is! She’s always lays down, like such a good girl while I give her her test. Lately though, I got the idea to pretend we’re at a spa. Instead of hot rocks she has a warm rice bag. It makes her purr. I run it over her face and her head and under her chin and her back and paws and I make sure I get her ears. I’m trying to have her think that this is a pleasurable experience and it’s only that one second where she gets a prick that is not. So I hope it makes a difference. I’m still not confident but I’m learning some. I do appreciate all the women that are helping me, very much! I don’t know where we would be without them! I’m hoping this little girl is healing her pancreas. I just want to get her regulated, at this point.

Thank you, again, Wendy!
Shirley
 
I went to bed and set my alarm for 2 hours later. I tested her and I got 22, then told myself not to panic. This happened before. I tested again and I got 96 and tested one more time and got 102.

I hope she's not too low in the morning. I have to run an errand, with my son, at 9:30. I'll only be about an hour. If her numbers are low, I can't tend to her for that hour :(
 
Just feed before you go and leave out food. If low at amps feed some mc and leave mc for when you are gone. That was a big drop at +4 so it’s possible she will be low in the morning.
 
I tested her and I got 22, then told myself not to panic. This happened before. I tested again and I got 96 and tested one more time and got 102.

Good for you!! It proves you're learning! (which is what we hope for!)

Get some sleep now. Tomorrow will be what it will be and it does no good trying to predict what's going to happen. If you have to skip in the morning so you can get out and have some time for yourself, that's what you should do. Haley has shown that she can get right back on track if you do need to skip.
 
Good for you!! It proves you're learning! (which is what we hope for!)

Get some sleep now. Tomorrow will be what it will be and it does no good trying to predict what's going to happen. If you have to skip in the morning so you can get out and have some time for yourself, that's what you should do. Haley has shown that she can get right back on track if you do need to skip.

Lol. Ty, Chris! I’m trying! Going back to bed. Well, it’s nothing fun. I have to meet my son at an auto shop so I can let him borrow my car while his is getting fixed and then he’ll drive me back home. But it is still a treat because I get to see my son❤️ Ty, Bhooma and Chris!
 
Back
Top