Julie and Eleanor (GA)
Member Since 2012
Since I want to do SLGS, I was going to start posting on the Relaxed forum, but I need a bunch of eyes so here I am with you kind souls.
Eleanor's +5 this morning was 174, AMPS 333. She ate a couple bites and I shot, figuring I would feed her at +1 and +2. She threw up. I couldn't get anything else down her. Finally got some baby food but all I had was Gerber with cornstarch. I figured it would raise her some.
She would not eat on her own the past 24 hours, I'm just desparate.
I got together the money I had to get my cooler turned on for the summer (now I don't know what I'm going to do) and took her to the vet. The regular one is on vacation but I thought this one would be okay.
He said she could have IBS or Pancreatitis. He said the not eating is pain or nausea, could be low blood sugar, no said, I'm testing her. His answer was I'm not testing ALL the time so she could be dropping. He said to give 1 unit once a day because 1 unit twice a day is a high dose for some cats. He said she may not even really be diabetic.
Suggested Metronidizol, I think for nausea. Liquid with a sweetener in it. Cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulent 2mg every 12-24 hours. Bupronex for pain.
Sub Q fluids 100ml daily. He wants to make tests. I have no money and I left confused and almost in tears because I just don't know what to do. She was eating FINE until about two weeks after I started the Lantus. He said the Lantus can't be the cause. I'm not saying it is, but I want to know WHY this just started.
He said could be food allergy and the food makes her stomach hurt so she doesn't want it, said she has some redness in her ears (allergy), and her eyes were watery (I reminded him of her chronic URI thing). Wanted me to give her ZD (I think) food and Royal Canin Venison. Also suggested I give her DM because "she needs to be on low carb so she might be able to get off insulin". Silent scream.
Got home, Eleanor was hungry so I tested her and her bg was 475. Tested again 495. Okay, that was when I started crying. She ate 1/4 can FF Chicken Feast on her own.
Could she be that high from the stress of going to the vet, and maybe the baby food? She was at +5. She's guzzling water.
I've seen her sick and in pain, she had a recurring problem with blocked anal glands, they abscessed a couple times, her dental problems, her spinal injury, acid stomach - when she's ill - in pain, nauseated, she is immobile. She lies in one spot and doesn't move, doesn't respond. I've honestly thought she was dying.
That is NOT how she is now, she's up running around, playing, tormenting my other cat. She is NOT Eleanor in pain or nauseated.
I'm so confused because I think she IS nauseated...but I don't know. Maybe she is in pain.
Does any of this make sense to anyone? I'm so scared about that 475.
Does anyone have any suggestions?
Eleanor's +5 this morning was 174, AMPS 333. She ate a couple bites and I shot, figuring I would feed her at +1 and +2. She threw up. I couldn't get anything else down her. Finally got some baby food but all I had was Gerber with cornstarch. I figured it would raise her some.
She would not eat on her own the past 24 hours, I'm just desparate.
I got together the money I had to get my cooler turned on for the summer (now I don't know what I'm going to do) and took her to the vet. The regular one is on vacation but I thought this one would be okay.
He said she could have IBS or Pancreatitis. He said the not eating is pain or nausea, could be low blood sugar, no said, I'm testing her. His answer was I'm not testing ALL the time so she could be dropping. He said to give 1 unit once a day because 1 unit twice a day is a high dose for some cats. He said she may not even really be diabetic.
Suggested Metronidizol, I think for nausea. Liquid with a sweetener in it. Cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulent 2mg every 12-24 hours. Bupronex for pain.
Sub Q fluids 100ml daily. He wants to make tests. I have no money and I left confused and almost in tears because I just don't know what to do. She was eating FINE until about two weeks after I started the Lantus. He said the Lantus can't be the cause. I'm not saying it is, but I want to know WHY this just started.
He said could be food allergy and the food makes her stomach hurt so she doesn't want it, said she has some redness in her ears (allergy), and her eyes were watery (I reminded him of her chronic URI thing). Wanted me to give her ZD (I think) food and Royal Canin Venison. Also suggested I give her DM because "she needs to be on low carb so she might be able to get off insulin". Silent scream.
Got home, Eleanor was hungry so I tested her and her bg was 475. Tested again 495. Okay, that was when I started crying. She ate 1/4 can FF Chicken Feast on her own.
Could she be that high from the stress of going to the vet, and maybe the baby food? She was at +5. She's guzzling water.
I've seen her sick and in pain, she had a recurring problem with blocked anal glands, they abscessed a couple times, her dental problems, her spinal injury, acid stomach - when she's ill - in pain, nauseated, she is immobile. She lies in one spot and doesn't move, doesn't respond. I've honestly thought she was dying.
That is NOT how she is now, she's up running around, playing, tormenting my other cat. She is NOT Eleanor in pain or nauseated.
I'm so confused because I think she IS nauseated...but I don't know. Maybe she is in pain.
Does any of this make sense to anyone? I'm so scared about that 475.
Does anyone have any suggestions?