3/18 Ducia +12 156, +13 161, PMPS@ +14 163 1U monitoring habitual diver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Hello,

:confused: Can someone please look Ducia's SS and help me to understand her reading this PM cycle?
Usually between +3 and 4 she begins to respond , sometimes by dropping, but today !
I don't know what to think or what to expect. I am not experienced at all.
It is Ducia's 8 cycle on the increased to 1U dose after a once skipped shot, delayed shots and early shots in the previous weeks.:oops:
I am sure that there was no "fur shot". The AM dose from the same vile worked fine.
:confused:
I hope some is online late on Friday.
Thank you.
 
Hi Tanya.

I am camping and not able to be online much, but I saw your post and looked at Ducia's SS. Here are my thoughts:

- It looks to me like Ducia is in a cycle where she dips low (not necessarily a "low number", but lower than she has been getting.
 
Hi Tanya--

I'm up very briefly (I hope!) and don't have much insight into what is going on with Ducia beyond what Tricia says-- Ducia seems in general to have a lot of "dip into blues, go back up to pinks" patterns recently. This is the kind of thing that sort of gets piled on top of whatever the insulin is doing directly on a particular day-- so it's not necessarily that the insulin you gave tonight isn't working, it's that maybe without the insulin she would have gone all the way up to reds.

There's really nothing to do but just wait it out-- eventually when she gets more used to the blue numbers she'll do less of these reactions (bouncing). And part of what we try to do to feed and slow down drops is to keep the bouncing to a minimum. But the reality is, if she's going to bounce, she's going to bounce, it's just one of those things.

Probably the best thing to do on a night like this would be to take advantage of the higher numbers by getting a little extra sleep. Think of it like a little gift!
 
Hello Na,
Thank you for the reply!
SHe was doing so good this AM.
I think I am going to cry myself to sleep.
Thank you for replying.
 
Hi,
If anyone is still online I have a quick question.
Ducia's next dose of AB is due by +5.5. She hasn't eaten nor drank since +2.
I still can put the AB with water thru the Etube.
Should I do it while she sleeps?
The AB was aggressive on her, she vomited, being nauseated, etc. But she needs it to fight the infection.
I'd rather postpone the dose till the morning.
But I wanted to hear what you say.
Thank you
 
There are not a lot of people on right now so I will throw in my 2 cents worth. Clavamox is hard on the stomach and would be better to take with food. Could you syringe some food through the tube first so there is something in her stomach and then give the AB? It is best to keep the times consistent when giving ABs, but you don't want her to vomit or become nauseous.
 
Hi,
I think we should hold on to the Ab until morning, The tube is reserved for water and meds. She eats her self.
But I will give her some water.
Thank you so much for reply.
I will take Nan advice and go t sleep for a few hours.
Frankly, I was getting an hour of sleep here, and there for some weeks now.
Better to maintain myself funcitional.
 
Sleep is very important. You can't push your body too far before you end up getting sick yourself. Do take care of yourself! :bighug: :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Tanya,
I hope you were able to sleep a little. This has been a long hard journey for you. :bighug: How is Ducia feeling overall? Do you have many more days of antibiotic? They are hard on the stomach.
 
Hi Tuxedo Mom,
I feel very different after only a few hours of uninterrupted sleep, much better now.
Ducia sleeps now too after her 1U and food, but sleeps somehow differently from what she was like at around PMPS +4 and +5, better looking sleep. :)
 
Hi Tanya,
I hope you were able to sleep a little. This has been a long hard journey for you. :bighug: How is Ducia feeling overall? Do you have many more days of antibiotic? They are hard on the stomach.
Hi Kris,
I looks as if I am going thru a crush course on FD. Hopefully I can adapt and learn quickly, sleep certainly helps.
Ducia was soo good at her Blue hours in the past cycles that her lifeless-like sleep last night looked terrifying. Her eating is good, Poo is good, pee was decreased but I managed to get Keton test last night Neg/or low Trace , and now with Cerenia + Famotidine we hope that her vomiting and nausea are left behind.
Looking forward to get good Blues and hoping that her nasty bouncing will ease up a little.
I shoot 1U after somewhat lowered (for her) AMPS. I heard it helps easing the bounce.
 
Hi Tanya--

So glad to hear that you were able to get some sleep! It really is so important while taking care of an FD kitty-- you have to remember to take care of yourself, too!

If I remember correctly, you have only a couple more days on the antibiotic, right? I'm hoping that once you are past that and Ducia no longer has the stomach upset that comes with it, her numbers might start to come down more-- the blues she is seeing are good, but we'd like to see more of them, and eventually some dark green, too. Normally, we'd be suggesting a dose increase to 1.25U soon, but I'm a little hesitant to do so just yet.

@Wendy&Neko , do you have any thoughts on this?
 
Hi Nan,
Thank you I slept some time, actually ate properly and I am going to be napping on and off thru the day.
Ducia has 3 more days on AB. I actually thought that whilst she is on it the numbers would go down if the AB takes care of the infection in her system.
We talked about the increase to 1.25 this morning. Looking at the SS the idea of an increase makes sense. Ducia gained weight, looks stronger and I am beginning to get an idea as to what she behaves like when the current number begging to slide down.
But many things we don't understand yet to be certain to increase as yet.
For instance, there were a lot of Blues on 1U lately. The later cycles Pinks, I thought , were temporary bouncing results which would go down if we consistent with the dose/food.
We would really appreciate your thoughts about it.
Today's Pinks and dark Yellow may also be explained by food - 2) she was vomiting yesterday so I didn't push her eating. I know post DKA kitties need their calories no matter how high the numbers might be and today to compensate I offered her food without waiting for her to ask for it; b) She has to take Famotidine, Cerenia and AB all of which go down with food. I give slightly more that 1 teaspoon but her total intake is still within her norm ratio.
Another thing is that she has been showing us lower BGs late in a cycles. I do not know why but it is true for the cycles were she had Blue numbers.
 
Last edited:
Normally, we'd be suggesting a dose increase to 1.25U soon, but I'm a little hesitant to do so just yet.
@Wendy&Neko , do you have any thoughts on this?
Rather than just tagging individuals for dosing suggestions, it's best to change the subject line to add a "?" prefix and add something like "dosing advice" to the title. That way you'll get more people looking in on you.

Ducia is bouncing from the blues, but having more greens is the goal. I think you could increase.
 
Rather than just tagging individuals for dosing suggestions, it's best to change the subject line to add a "?" prefix and add something like "dosing advice" to the title. That way you'll get more people looking in on you.

Sorry Wendy, the tag was from me, not Tanya. I wasn't sure if she was ready to start a full discussion on dose increases, I'm sure when she is she'll put a question tag on a post to solicit general advice.
 
I just updated the title to ? the increase.
My uncertainty about increasing include 1) .3/16 PMPS + 8 when BG was green 93 she clearly displayed discomfort by behaving nerviously, wag tail as if irritated strongly, sat with her back to me - a gesture she always does when unhappy, and overall looked upset at the time. As soon as a snack brought her up to 104 she relaxed. 2) I am almost sure that I was told in one of the previous discussions that Ducia better not go below 100. I do not remember the reason given. 3) lately , to learn her food response I stared to give her her food ratio in smaller increments - 1 teaspoon, a Tbs, etc., throughout the cycle. Not in one 1/4 can 3 times a cycle. It made think that that grazing keeps her BG up and the higher numbers I see are actually the food numbers.
I realize how confused I might sound to you. My apologies, I am confused. The FD/biochemistry, insulin and ECID is the most difficult thing I had to deal with so far in life.
That's why I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me on to increase or not to increase.
 
Normal (non-diabetic) cat BG numbers range from around 50-120. Not sure why she would have been acting irritated in the 90's, except that possibly being in that range might have felt "weird" to her after getting used to much higher numbers for a while-- hard to say, really. Eventually, you do want to get her spending more time in that normal "dark green" range-- it will help heal her pancreas to be in those normal numbers. I think, after the hypo, the advice to stay above 100 was given out of caution-- leaving an extra-large safety buffer while you were still learning her patterns. With the amount you test, though, you aren't going to be taken by surprise by a dangerous drop, and you should be able to expand the target range.
 
Sorry Wendy, the tag was from me, not Tanya. I wasn't sure if she was ready to start a full discussion on dose increases, I'm sure when she is she'll put a question tag on a post to solicit general advice.
:bighug:Thank you.
My husband supports the idea of the increase.
I myself am hesitant.
I really appreciate your tactfulness :bighug:.
 
"target" as in "where you'd like her to spend most of the day". Up until now, mid-high 100's has been a really good place for her to cruise along. Now that she's pretty stable in overall health and as you get more comfortable, you can start to ease that cruising range down to low 100's, and (eventually), the high (dark) greens.
 
"target" as in "where you'd like her to spend most of the day". Up until now, mid-high 100's has been a really good place for her to cruise along. Now that she's pretty stable in overall health and as you get more comfortable, you can start to ease that cruising range down to low 100's, and (eventually), the high (dark) greens.
Thank you Nan!
I am going to get some rest but will update the SS and will check if anyone replied to my post.
 
Hi,

Ducia had late nadir and came up to the +11 149 and +12 156. Usually these numbers are elevated.

It was below my level of confidence. The shot was delayed.

At +13 the BG is 161.

I understand that a shot must be given no later than 14 hours.

Do I feed her now and give 0.75U or is it better to retest in another 30-40 min and decide then?

Thank you
 
You've shot 161 before, this is almost the same number. I would feed her and give her the 1.0 units now. Remember, we've been talking increase, not decrease.
 
was very ironic to change the subject title from to increase ? to for how much to decrease?
I am taking another test in 10 min, hopefully she risen a little and I can keep 1U.
I shot 186 and 196 as her lowest PS. For me it is different than 161. For now at least.
When I did shot low (for us) I had help. No on Saturday night no one is online.
My inexperience is a factor here.
 
You right, I did.
I will get back and review my records from that day.
It must have been scary experience as I do not recall clearly the events of that day and as I said I 've been helped greatly, coached.
I fed Ducia and gave her 1 U. We'll be monitoring closely and steer up with food as needed.
If I understand it correctly I just added another dose of powerful medicine to the undiminished previous one to a cat who likes to dive.
If you staying late, would you please check her SS from time to time to see how we are doing here?
 
Hi Tanya--

Very glad you shot last night! Since it was later than usual, it may act as a (temporary) dose decrease. Hope you can take advantage of the yellows to get some more rest!
 
You're doing very well handling a difficult situation, Tanya. :bighug: When you give the next dose to a kitty who is unpredictable you count on the previous dose being almost finished before the next one kicks in, along with the BG raising effect of the food given with the new dose. Still scary, I know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top