3/18 Clovis PMPS 371

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweatergirrl

Member Since 2010
I think I finally got my profile for Clovis done and I was trying to get more numbers on Clovis but now that I've plugged everything in I can see I' still need to do more ear pricks. While I try to get more data I'd like to ask a fe questions please: 1. I'm using an alphatrak cat meter and I'm wondering if I shouldn't change to a human meter? I heard the freestyle lite meter also uses a small amount of blood which was the main reason I went with the alphatrak? 2. I think my vet is going to recommend I go on a different insulin, probably PZI, but I'm not sure if I should give up on the lantus yet?What do you all think?

Sandra
 
The choice of meters is entirely up to you. Quite a few people here use the Walmart Relion meter because the cost of strips is very reasonable and it uses a small amount of blood. Whatever meter you decide to use, stick with it. Jumping between meters will make you crazy.

I've never used PZI so I can't offer any words of wisdom based on personal experience. Why does your vet think you should switch insulin? Other than most vets being more familiar with PZI than Lantus, is there a compelling reason? The research has consistently found that more cats go into remission with Lantus than other insulin. In fact, there is a journal article that compares Lantus with PZI. In the article, the authors conclude:

Rand said:
In newly diagnosed diabetic cats, twice daily treatment with glargine (Lantus) provides better glycemic control and higher probability of remission compared to twice daily treatment with PZI or lente insulin. Good glycemic control soon after diagnosis is associated with increased probability of remission
and should be the goal of insulin therapy.
 
I took Clovis for a vet check last friday and while I was there my vet did a spot check of her sugar and she was at 52. He noted that her morning pre shot number was 338 and he didn't like the high and low she was taking. He thinks that maybe another insulin may create a better curve and we can stop all the highs and lows. But I think Ive created all the highs and lows by not knowing how to work with this insulin. I'm still learning and alot of mistakes were made in the beginning. I once had her on a sliding scale, recommened by the vet, and now I realize that sliding scales just don't work with lantus. But at the same time I'm getting anxious that Clovis is not yet regulated and she was diagnosed in late November ---that's already four months!! Plus, I'm worried that PZI is not readily availabe at a pharmacy and I'd be dependant on the vet for the insulin. I like the comfort of being able to go to to a 24 hour pharmacy in case of an emergency. But then again what if the new insulin works better for my cat. I've heard alot of good things about PZI too. I just dunno.

Clovis says a big hello to Moses too and gives big thanks for the kind welcome.

Sandra
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

actually Clovis's spreadsheet looks really good for this stage in the game. He's bouncing some when he gets low numbers, but that is normal and will go away once he is more used to the lower numbers. Lantus is a lot less bouncy than PZI, not that there aren't situations where PZI is a good choice, but I wouldn't give up on Lantus yet.

Clovis might be going lower than you realize, and that could be setting up some of these bounces. Will you be home this weekend to do some additional testing? If we can get a few more spot checks, especially during the day, we can take a look at Clovis's dose. It might need to be lowered a little, but if you can do a curve or two this weekend we can tell for sure.
 
I'll definitely be home this weekend and I'll get more numbers. Thanks for the post. It made me feel better. The high numbers were actually making me think that maybe she needed to be bumbed up instead of of going down. A possible decrease in dose makes me very happy. I'll get some more numbers tonight too. She's been asleep since she got her shot and when she curls into a ball and covers her face with her paws --- I just cant bring myself to disturb her sleep with an ear prick.

Hey Sienne! It's nice to have a chicago neighbor in the group!

Sandra
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top