3/18 Chi Chi amps154+1.75 114 2.5 88 +6 87 pmps 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=115568
low # amps today. I will be home all day to monitor. The last increase has begun to show! I think I'm gonna stall a bit before I shoot to be sure she's rising.

Update question: she was lower at+ 1.75, so should I feed now instead of her normal +3 or just wait and retest in .5
Retest is 88 at+2.5..what do I do? feed?
 
Re: 3/18 Chi Chi ambg=132+.5 amps=154+1.75=114 +2.5=88

I am getting confused reading your post this morning. Normally, we test our cats, feed them, and then give insulin, all basically at about the same time. This is the reasoning:

Test first : then you are getting a clear idea if it is safe to give insulin, without the influence of food
Feed next: You want to make sure that kitty has food on board so that when the insulin works, they dont get too low
Shoot soon after : You want to give insulin every 12 hours, or as close to that as possible, due to its depot (carry over) effect and normal duration.

So yes, feed Chi Chi. How many hours ago did she get insulin?
 
Re: 3/18 Chi Chi ambg=132+.5 amps=154+1.75=114 +2.5=88

I'm as confused as Linda. You want to test, feed, and shoot in that order all within about 15 minutes. The only time you stall feeding and shooting is if you have a lower than normal preshot and are watching to see if they're rising or still dropping. Most of us shoot while our cats are face first in their food.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/18 Chi Chi ambg=132+.5 amps=154+1.75=114 +2.5=88

Ok, so last night at 7:30 gave 2.5u as usual(since dose increase on Sat.) This am bg was 132 at 7:15 when I tested, so I waited 30. min and retested and she was 154. I fed her and then gave 2.5 as she was eating. At +1.75 she was 114. Then at +2.5 she was 88 and +3 76. I fed her her normal time then her reg lc ff food. Then retest at 3.5 she was 49. Gave 2 tsp hc gravy and then retest at +4 she was 60. Going to test again now. I am updating on tight reg forum and Angela has been great with helping me over there. Thank all of you for your replies!
 
Re: 3/18 Chi Chi ambg=132+.5 amps=154+1.75=114 +2.5=88

Wow! I guess he liked that dose increase a little too much? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Chi Chi ambg=132+.5 amps=154+1.75=114 +2.5=88

Yep Kpassa! She hit 49 today.. and she was feelin fine while mommy was stressed, and said she loves the grassy slopes :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top