3/18 Brownie +12 84 +12.5 107 skipped shot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Neither Brownie nor I slept much last night - he probably sensed my fear! I lowered his dose a bit last night to a 0.5f and gave him a little mc. His bg was 160 this am, so I gave him 0.3units (1/2 of his usual 0.75). He is at the vet now and I haven't heard anything yet. Please keep both Brownie and Simpkin in your thoughts and/or prayers today. nailbite_smile I'll update when I hear anything...
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Prayers and good dental vibes to Brownie today!! Please update so we know all is well!!-HUGS~!
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Thinking of you, Brownie and Simpkin today for good dental visit (((hugs)))
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Good luck and shiny clean teeth for Brownie and Simpkin. They will be tired and a little hungry when they get home. Don't be alarmed if they have a raspy purr or cough a little. The tube down their throat may make them a bit hoarse for a day or two.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Bushels and bushels of good dental vines being sent to you sweeties! Don't worry to much, they will be ok, really!!
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 +4 198

Brownie and Simpkin are back home from their dentals - Halleluyah!!! Simpkin's teeth were totally fine, but Brownie had 1 extraction. :sad: The vet said that when they began to scrape the tartar off one of the upper back molars, it was loose and needed to come out. I hope he hasn't been in pain from it, but how could he not have been? I'm SOOOO glad that I did this for them because that kind of pain is exactly what I wanted to alleviate and/or prevent. The vet gave Brownie a dose of bupe, but didn't think he'd need any more. He's actually looking really good, not wobbly or anything. They are both alert and hungry and thirsty (although the vet gave them 200cc subq fluids on top of the 200cc fluids that I gave them last night). Simpkin spent an unusual amount of time in the box - he sure must feel better now! I'm going to get a bg on Brownie right now and then continue testing him throughout the day and night (looking for that nom-nom syndrome...). Thanks, everyone, for all the healing vines and hugs and advice - you guys are awesome and I couldn't have gotten through it without you all! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

I am so glad to hear everything went well! One extraction isn't that bad, and now he is better off without it! I hope the next day or two fly by and before you know it, your babies are back to themselves!
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

So glad they are home, and you've gotten through it! I hope everyone sleeps better tonight. :-D
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

I am glad that everything went well and they are back home. You can all get a good night's sleep. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

I'm glad to hear the dentals went well. You must be so relieved.

If you can get a poke or two in before PMPS, that will help you decide if you should shoot tonight or not, or a partial dose.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Oh NO!!!!!!! @-) @-) @-)

I just read that Brownie is nekked again! How'd that happen?! :o :o :o :o :o :o :o

Poor Brownie - all naked and flapping in the wind! :roll:
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie +11 82 - dosing help pls

BG's for today:
AMPS 160
+4 198 (at vet before dental)
+7 164 (at home)
+11 82
Yikes! Brownie ate a little bit around +6, but he's been pretty spaced out from the bupe. He hasn't even peed yet, but the vet said that he might have done it while he was still there... I guess I'll just see what his value is at PMPS (7:30est), see what he wants to eat and then wing it from there. Unless he wolfs down food, I'll probably either skip the PM shot (kinda afraid of the nom nom effect) or give a 1/2 dose... BTW, what the heck does "nom nom" mean? And yes, Hillary, Brownie is nekked and he likes it that way! :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

I think nom nom means that the anesthesia eats the sugars in the blood. Technical term, ya know. ;-)

It's looking like a skipped shot, to me. And lots of yummy fudz.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

I'm glad both dentals went well. Hopefully, both kitties are settling back in. If Brownie is having any trouble chewing, consider baby food for a treat.

Nom nom is a Jojoism for the effect of anesthesia eating BG and lowering levels.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental +11 82 - dosing help

Glad the dentals went so well, and that your babies are back home with you. I'm sure they're happy to be home, too.
Sleep well, tonight.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nom nom is a Jojoism for the effect of anesthesia eating BG and lowering levels.

Well, the fact that it's a Jojoism explains why my vet looked at me like I was absurd when I asked her about the nom nom effect. Well, she probably just thinks I'm brilliant... haha_smiley
Back in a few minutes with a PMPS value. I don't think I've ever had to skip a shot - it feels so completely unnatural. However, I gotta keep him safe. And a little sleep wouldn't hurt either one of us tonight.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie AMPS 160 DENTAL DAY

Patricia&Brownie said:
[

Well, the fact that it's a Jojoism explains why my vet looked at me like I was absurd when I asked her about the nom nom effect.

ROTFLMAO! You actually asked the vet?
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental PMPS 84 - dosing help

Brownie's PMPS is 84, but he just licked his plate clean. Perhaps I shouldn't have gone right for the hc gravy. :roll: He ate about 1.5 T of mostly gravy and some chunks. His normal dose is 0.75. Should I skip, check him in 1/2 hour and then decide, give him 0.5 or give him 0.3? Any advice is appreciated!
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental +11 82 - dosing help

I would probably go with safety and skip. That's much lower than his usual PS number. Half dose might be ok but no dose will definitely be ok.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental +11 82 - dosing help

Libby, if you look at his ss, you'll see where he has been about 85 several times for a PMPS. He eats alot, I give him 0.75 and he's fine. Of course, tonight is different because of the dental and the "nom nom" effect. What about 0.3u, which is a half dose? Or do you still vote for no shot? Thanks.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental +11 82 - dosing help

Patricia, I''m so glad the dentals went well. I bet Brownie feels better with that nasty tooth gone.
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie post dental +11 82 - dosing help

Thanks for the dosing help everyone. I really wanted to give him 0.3u, but I feel I should defer to the experts here and skip his shot tonight. I'll stick with LC from here on... My concern is that a high bg for the next few days could be hard on his kidneys which have already taken a hit today with the dentals (his BUN is 47 and his CREA is 2.8). But, that is probably less of a concern than a hypo event! I'll change my post title now... Thanks again for all the care and concern. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/18 Brownie +12.5 107 +14.5 148 +15.5 157

Well, I think the nom nom effect may not be showing up tonight, but the numbers could have been so much worse considering I fed him 2T HC w/gravy at +12! However, he hasn't eaten much since then (granted I only offered LC once I decided to skip the shot) and he still hasn't peed. Simpkin, on the other hand, has peed about 6 times (2 times on the bedroom floor - ugggh!). I'm taking Brownie back to the vet in the am if he hasn't made any trips to the litterbox... I'll set my alarm tonight and test him again in about 2 hours. NiNi LL - hope everyone has a good night. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top