3/18 Bert AMPS 84 +1 82 + 3 156 +7 315 + 9 291PMPS310 +3 210

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122***Should I shoot this AM??***

Yes...I just have to run out at about 9:30 for about an hour and a half.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122***Should I shoot this AM??***

Has it been 15 minutes since your last test...if so don't feed and retest to see if you have a rising number.
Do you have hc food and test strips.....not that you will need them but I just want to make sure you are prepared.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

I retested at the 1/2 hour mark and it is still dropping at 107.
:o

I have not fed him or given him any insulin.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122***Should I shoot this AM??***

Miriam and Putty said:
Has it been 15 minutes since your last test...if so don't feed and retest to see if you have a rising number.
Do you have hc food and test strips.....not that you will need them but I just want to make sure you are prepared.

Yes to both.

He has not eaten since last night at about 9:30PM
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

Since this is your first low number and he is dropping do you have time to stall longer? Would this mess up your schedule?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

I have time, but I do not understand why if his numbers are going lower I am not suppose to feed him.
In humans when the sugar is low you give them food.

I am not being flip, I just do not understand why I should wait to feed him.
Sorry if it is a stupid question ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

Not a stupid question a good one....
The reason we don't feed is because then you could be basing your shooting number on a food spike number. Some cats get a pretty big food spike and if you shoot based on that number there is a good chance it will drop again.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

So how long do I wait to feed my "starving" cat cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

Do you have a lc treat you can give him just to keep him happy for a little while. I would retest in 15 minutes again to see where the number is going. If it is staying the same or going up maybe you can shoot a reduced dose or if you are really comfortable shoot the full dose but let's see where the number is going first.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

Kathy you are doing great, I was in the same boat last night except Scrabble was @ 65!! Miriam is great and will help you through it, sorry can't offer advice but just wanted to let you know I am here for you!!!
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 107!!

just retested and he is 111 now.It has been a 1/2 hour since last test.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Can you stall for another 15 minutes. I want to make sure you are comfortable shooting a low number....what do you think?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

yes I can stall.

I will be out of the house from 9:30-11:00 AM.

I hope that is ok....
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Retest in 15 minutes again....I have to jump in the shower. I will check back in a few minutes.
I know this stalling thing is tough but I just want to make sure number will rise a bit.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

By then you should be fine. You are starting to see stable numbers now, another test will just confirm the rise. Remember that the PM shot needs to be 12 hours from when you actually give the AM shot, so everything gets moved back.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

OK this is driving me crazy!!!

I just tested again and it said it was 79.

What the heck is going on.
Bert is starving, DH is yelling at me to feed him :shock:
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

If he's still dropping you can't shoot till it stops and you can't feed or you won't know when it is safe to shoot. 79 is not a dangerous number and he can stand to wait a little. Miriam is more experienced, I'm just here to hold your hand. It will be fine, patience. Breathe!
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

OK I have a relion Ultima.

I just tested at 7:57-reading of 79
then
8:03-reading of 94
then
8:04-reading of 82

Is this meter a piece of junk?
 

Attachments

Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Hi Kathy
I know how hard this is to make a decision.
As Miriam said the 3 choices you have are.
1. stall and test in 15 minutes, no food - you have been doing this so far
2. BCS dose, which is a dose less then what you are giving Bert now
3. skip the shot.

Stalling and testing will have an impact on when you can shoot his PM shot, 12 hours from now so you need to take into that account when stalling.

Try and hold off the food for now, if you can continue to stall. What was your normal shot time and how far off mark are you now? Depending on how late a shot is given it sometimes has the
effect of acting like a decrease dose as you are past the 12 hour mark.
Test again, you are not alone.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I cannot tell you to shoot a dropping number especially since you do not have a lot of experience with low numbers.
You have a couple of options
You can shoot a reduced dose and monitor very carefully...although in this case too I would like to see it come up a bit.
You can skip the dose which is not always the best option.
I am pretty sure Bert is going to bounce from this.

How far away are you now from your actual shooting time?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Meters aren't 100% accurate, they say all of them can have a variance of up to 20%. Try to look at it as a range that his numbers are in . That's why we try to bring them up if below 50, lower is actually OK but we aren't sure if it is actually 50 or maybe 40 or even lower.

You'll be leaving in about an hour?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Has it been 15 minutes yet? I do not want you to go much longer and poor Bert is starving.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Miriam, if they have to leave in an hour how does that effect the decision?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Ann.....it may. Not the best answer I know but I have no idea where Burt is going with this and the lower numbers are pretty new to him. He will bounce.....but I just want him to be safe.
May have to just put something in the shed and leave food for when they are out.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I am going to test again now.
Our shot time is usually 6:30AM
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

We have to make a decision with this number because it is getting late and the shed is emptying so it will be like shooting a reduced dose anyway.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I think I am going to shoot a reduced dose and feed him.

So he just had a reduce as of yesterday by .25.

He gor 2.25 last night. I believe I should shoot 1.25?
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Since you stalled quite a bit I think you can shoot full dose IF you are comfortable. I know you have to go out so can you leave lots of food. If you are not comfortable you can shoot 2.0 u which is a little reduced. I do not want you to stall any longer and poor Bert needs to eat.
You may be able to make up some time with the pm shot.

Make sure you test again before you go out even if it is only a half hour.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

OK I shot 1.25
I was too scared to shoot 2.0 nailbite_smile

I will retest him before I leave and leave out some food.
I will hurry right home after our appt.
The good thing is it is with the vet, so I can ask him some questions too :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Good job. I know you will test throughout the day. Shooting late is like reducing the dose also so the numbers will probably go up. If you test at +10 it will give you an indication of whether or not you can shoot early. Depending on the number you may be able to shoot at +11 but worry about that later. You can post the number then for help.

I have to run but others will check in with you....have a good day. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

Great shooting! Isn't it so scary? I am really new to these low numbers too and they scare the crap out of me. You did what was best for your baby! Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I'm a little late to the party. You did good!!

I'm a little confused about the numbers though. What number did you shoot? Whatever this number is, that's your AMPS and your PMPS should be 12 hrs from this shot time.

Was the number you first got this AM a 122?
The 107 and 111 are not +1 and +2 unless they are one and two hours, respectively, after you shot.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I shot 1.25.

This is the run down:

AMPS at 6:30 AM
122
1/2 hour later:
107
1/2 hour later:
111
20 minutes later(7:57AM)
:
79
Tested to see if the meter was accurate:
8:02AM- 94
8:04AM-82

1/2 hour later:
84
This is when I gave him a dose of 1.25 and fed him a can of FF.

I will retest in about 15 minutes

I will update my SS later :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 122 ***Should I shoot this AM??***now 111!!

I do not know on my SS how to list the 1/2 hour and 15 minutes spot checks,
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 84 +1 82

OK just tested at +1 and he is 82.

I left a can of FF out for him and will hurry back home after the dog's appt.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 84 +1 82

When you get back, look at Gabby's SS. I mark the times in 1/4 hours (i.e., +1.25, +1.5, etc.) If you are using 20 min. increments, you can use +1.3, etc.

What you've got listed at your AMPS and +1 is different than what's on your SS.

Bert's surfing in a good place.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 84 +1 82 + 3 156

hey Kathy,

when you get back, please clarify what you shot, up above you mentioned you shot 1.50u then you said 1.25u.

will be looking for your update in your spreadsheet.

when you get in, hopefully grab an "in the door test" to see where Bert is at.
 
Re: 3/18 Bert AMPS 84 +1 82 + 3 156

Looks like Bert was just fine while you were gone. The +3~156 was your in the door shot? Glad he is looking good. Bumping this up so you get advice on the next shot. You may want to put something in the subject line about your next dosing.
 
what dose did you shoot tonight? Spreadsheet says 1.25 again, is that right? Usually when we do a BCS dose, it's just for that one shot, then you go back to the regular dose the next shot.
 
What a day, but you three made it through with flying colors. We all panic when it first happens and it will happen again.
Sometimes the sugardance seems like getting caught in with a stampede.

You're probably going to see some higher number. A whole unit is a big decrease, you might want to check about going back up a little. Put a question in the subject line.

Enjoy your cuddles with Bert.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top